We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Comfortable, modern rooms”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The rooms are modern, comfortable and well appointed with a no-fuss style. There is a good working station for laptops. As will all Scenic Suites chains, the beds are comfortable and there are wonderful toiletries provided. I was on the top floor and had attic style windows that opened to allow fresh air in that are nice. The restaurant menu for both dinner and breakfast had good ranges of options, including room service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the near future - either on business or to explore the wonderful local vineyards or the Marlborough Sounds.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    140
    23
    7
    0
See reviews for
27
178
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

After travelling for over 39 hours from the middle east to NZ we were looking forward to a long sleep. Check-in was pleasant and straightforward. Recently renovated, the hotel is modern and clean. Free wifi allowed catching up with family and friends after travelling. The room was spotless and the bathroom well laid out with a great shower. The hotel was quiet overnight. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we have had in many years. So after just one night, the jet lag was almost gone. We have stayed at other hotels on arriving in NZ, but none have been as comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a comfortable time recovering from your travels. The 1 hours Free Wifi is something that Scenic Hotels has introduced in to all of it's properties and it has proved extremely popular.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Quiet location near a church and park area. Comfortable and clean room, and good place to stay after getting off the ferry from Wellington, before our drive to Kaikoura. It was really hot when we arrived and the outdoor pool was very refreshing and much needed. Nice quiet bar area to have a drink before going out to dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moosh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing your review and for staying with us earlier in the year.
The outside pool is a wonderful asset for those hot Blenheim days and we also have air conditioning throughout the hotel ensuring a comfortable stay no matter what the weather.
Mondrians Restaurant, within the Hotel, provides great food at reasonable prices for those that would not rather venture out but the centre of town is only a short walk away for those who would prefer to explore.
I hope you had an enjoyable trip to New Zealand and hope to be able to welcome you back to Blenheim one day.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The refurbishment of the hotel is great. Thebed rooms are first class. Very big, well designed, great bathroom and fabulous bed. Seemed soft but it was just the mattress topper. Only downer was the resturant. The meal we had was superb but the decor is non existent. Just a big room with too many tables and mismatched chairs. Staff were very nice and effecient. Would recommend and would stay again

Room Tip: Our room was on 1st floor. - all windows are double glazed so couldn't hear the clock in the nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about the Scenic Hotel Marlborough. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to be able to welcome you back sometime soon.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My girlfriend and I spent two nights in Blenheim at the Scenic Hotel Marlborough, and we have nothing but good things to say about our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we were pleased to see they were all locals.

Our room, which was located on the top floor, was very impressive. We were constantly impressed by small things in our room...Real coffee and a plunger, A dock on the desk for USB/HDMI connectivity to the TV, Electric blinds on the windows and plethora of extra little touches in the bathroom.

When we return to see Marlborough again one day, we won't be risking a stay somewhere else now we know how wonderful Scenic is, and we will be advising our friends who visit the region to do the same...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braeden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review. Our recent multi million dollar refurbishment has certainly given us a wonderful hotel but it is especially pleasing to hear how great our staff were in making your stay an excellent and enjoyable one.
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for spreading the news! Don't forget that there are Scenic and Heartland Hotels throughout New Zealand and they all offer the same fantastic service and wonderfully comfortable beds.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Used to stay here a while back and first time back since refurb.
They've done a great job and the rooms were top notch. Beds extremely comfortable, room was super clean and water pressure great.
Bit disappointed they didn't have a TV in the bar area as a number of people were keen to watch the rugby but had to head offsite so opportunity for some good F&B spend was lost.
Staff were great right down to getting my shirt ironed for me as my room wasn't ready (arrived late morning)
With its handy location to the centre of town I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZPOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and thank you for writing your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and it is always very enjoyable to hear how our team has gone that extra mile in delivering great service. I will ensure whoever ironed your shirt gets a special thank you.
The hotel is certainly looking fantastic after our refurbishment - your point about a television in the bar though is a valid one and I will see what I can do to rectify this.
Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked on WOTIF and this really was a great find. Just been refurbished so everything was immaculate. We got the SuperKing Bedroom on the 3rd Floor, which had everything we needed. Very quiet, clean and bed was amazing. Hotel very tastefully furnished. We will definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the super king executive rooms on the 3rd floor. A very good level of room with everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyJetMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future. In the meantime look out for our other Scenic and Heartland Hotels throughout the country - including our new Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport - which offer the same high standard of service as us.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
617 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Property: Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Address: 65 Alfred Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand (Formerly Heartland Hotel Marlborough)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Marlborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Marlborough is a contemporary and stylish property located in the heart of sunny Marlborough. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade of the former Heartland Hotel Marlborough, Scenic Hotel Marlborough offers guests the ultimate in modern comfort and service. Located in the heart of Marlborough, the hotel is just minutes' walk from the centre of Blenheim, and puts some of New Zealand's finest food and wine virtually on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Blenheim
Scenic Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing