We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
207
172
30
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
172
30
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel top floor buffet breakfast free wifi seymour square the air conditioning new zealand nice pool attending a conference fudge modern rooms hotel room close to shops excellent accommodation great room south island happily stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

We had a nice couple of days at the Scenic on our Northward tour of New Zealand. The room was very nice with good facilities and a nice big walk-in shower. A reasonably good buffet breakfast but a little more choice in the fresh fruit would have been appropriated.
The staff on reception were very friendly offering a great concierge type service, even managing to get us onto a wine tour for the following day despite the company website suggesting nothing available. A good location near the town centre but as other reviewers have mention don’t go looking for night life as things close up pretty early.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alanjamesg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hello. Thanks for your feedback. We are so pleased that we could help to make your journey through NZ enjoyable, and we hope you can make it back for a visit another time.
Warm wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We chose this hotel because they have 24 hour reception. (We were arriving late off the interislander ferry). When we arrived at midnight after a long journey it was so nice to be met by a polite, well groomed and wide awake receptionist and directed to our room without any fuss.
The bed was very comfortable, the best of our entire trip around New Zealand. It was like sleeping on a cloud. The hotel is in a quiet area of Blenheim but is still close to the shops.
We left early the next morning and the check out process was smooth. I had accidentally paid twice for the room (once on booking and once on arrival - this was my own fault as I offered to pay when we arrived). When we checked out this had already been picked up and the receptionist (a different one) was ready to reimburse me before I asked.
I would happily stay here again. The building itself is a little dated but this is more than made up for by the excellent staff and clean, comfortable room. It is good value for money.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 22KiwiTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Greetings: thanks ever so much for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that the team were friendly and welcoming - and got you to bed nice and quickly after your journey. The "Scenic" bed with feather topper is a favourite for many of our guests. We hope to welcome you another time - and trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the South Island. Best wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Type
Large hotel

Location
We decided to stay here because it's centrally located, but we didn't know that the town is dead at 5pm. Stay somewhere else truly scenic like closer to the vineyards for more of an experience.

Room
Good wifi. Air conditioning. Our room had views of the parking lot.

Service
We didn't think the service was very good. We tried to get help to make a dinner reservation, and we were greeted by annoyance and got hung up on. Housekeeping was also not up to par, our carpet was not vacuumed after the room was cleaned; and when asked about it, again the response was annoyance and then cleaned up.

Food/Breakfast
The breakfast is not included.

Stay again
No

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bagwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is appreciated. I shall pass your comments regarding restaurant bookings and housekeeping on, as we do use any feedback given constructively - and I apologise that our team did not have a more positive response. Our cental location is generally appreciated, and while shops and businesses in Blenheim do close at 5pm, restaurants and bars in town are still open.
Kind regards
Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

At this hotel we had a large comfortable room which was very clean and a large bed with pristine sheets and duvet. The bathroom toiletries are lovely and you get a bag to carry off what's left after your stay. We have found the Scenic chain excellent in our travels in New Zealand with excellent staff and attention to detail. It has been refurbished but you could hear people in the bathrooms occasionally.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borjeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello. Thanks for your feedback: we really appreciate hearing from you. We are equally pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are glad you took away your partly used toiletries in the complimentary bag to enjoy later on your journey.
Warm wishes, Carmel Horsely, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

This is a good hotel with good amenities in a small town in the wine region. There us not much to do in the town and the hotel is probably .5 miles from the center of the town but the restaurant and service was good.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jimmM6478KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi Jim - thanks for your feedback. I am pleased our team could help to make your visit to Blenheim an enjoyable stay and we hope you have enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Best wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews