We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Marlborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night, and used their function room facilities.

We had a very friendly welcome, and comfortable large rooms. Bathroom was probably twice the size of my bathroom at home! Restaurant food was very tasty, and despite our rather late arrival, the restaurant staff didn't try to rush us through our meal (which happens really often, obviously these guys are well trained).

The function room was large and cool, which was a must for a December day in Blenheim. Everything worked well as it should.

Would not hesitate to stay here again, it seems like a really friendly and well run family operation. Should I need function rooms in Blenheim again, similarly, I would be happy to return.

They also have a very cute wee dog, Lilly, who makes the place her own!

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mcfaddendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    49
    33
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
70
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Booked at this hotel and got a confimation email with the correct details. 3 days before we were due to stay there, I got another email with totally incorrect details. Rang to check and should have listened to the warning signals. Got there and the rooms were fine but oh, the service. Asked for brochures about the wineries in the area - apparently they have NO brochures but the man at the counter has all the information in his head! Not much use for spreading out on the bed and sorting thru though. And I noticed they had 32 (yes, I counted) books on Quality Hotels. Could I suggest a few less of them and some more on what the area is famous for? And FlyBuys are mentioned on their sign but we had to ask for them - they weren't offered. We were actively discouraged from using the dining room to the extent that we were given a toaster to take to our room. The people running this hotel need to decide if they are actually suited to hotel work. Our rubbish bins had no plastic bags in them and they weren't emptied. When we asked about this we were told, I only do beds, I don't do bins. Obviously, but not much help.
They seem to be operating on minimal staffing levels and it shows. I very much doubt I would stay here again - there are just so many better options.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel.I am very sorry that your stay was not up to standard.First of all we are very happy to offer Fly buys with all stays,we have now placed a message at reception asking our guests to please present their flybuys,so hopefully that will fix that.We do stock maps of the wineries here but unfortunately we ran out of these the day before your arrival and got them the next Monday.There seems to be a communication issue regarding the toaster, Your traveling companions on arrival asked us if we could provide a toaster for their room as they had special dietary requirements and could not eat in our restaurant.I am sorry you had the impression that we discourage guests eating in our restaurant as we actively encourage guests to dine in as this is a major income stream for the hotel.
Lastly I have sent you a private email saying how we intend to make things right,this is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

A clean, tidy and quite up to date hotel. Room was comfortable and large. Bathroom a little dated though completely adequate. Restaurant meals were above average quality. Staff kind and courteous. May be a little warm in summer as the room did not have air conditioning though completely adequate for cooler months. I would stay at my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getmoosed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I was stopping overnight before catching the ferry, as so many Blenheim visitors do, and found this on the internet - hotel luxury at a very reasonable price, much better value than the motel I stayed at last time. Comfortable, well furnished room, convenient off street parking, helpful staff, good dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, friendly helpful staff - what more can you want?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We drove into the carpark tired and walked inside to a warm welcome, and instantly relaxed. the room was excellent.........large, well presented with quality toiletries provided. Quiet and very handy to a very good river walk, and close to the Pollard park gardens/golf areas. The Continental breakfast IS definitely worthwhile...we loved it, and it looks out to a lovelly pool area, which although we did not partakeof, we feel sure it would be most comfortable and in a quite romantic setting.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the road would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevanjP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Knew we had some down time while in Blenheim and knew we would be exhausted on arrival so were all so excited about the heated pool - had imagined the children having a lot of fun while we relaxed poolside - only to find on arrival that the pool was empty of water for maintenance, made the more frustrating by the unbelievably beautiful hot day! Were also looking forward to some adult privacy so was disappointed on arrival to see that the two beds upstairs are on a mezzanine floor, not a separate room. Other than that, we loved our stay. Buffet breakfast was great for hungry boys, room was very clean with lovely linen and towels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review,it is these that help us improve our service.
I must apologize for the pool being empty as we had just had it painted and needed to wait several days before we could fill it,unfortunately the tradesmen also had to wait for the weather to improve as we had had a wet few weeks before this.You have a good point about the family room we gave you,we do have two others with separate sleeping but both these were also full during your stay but we may have been able to swap you into one of these depending on arrivals and demands.As always we appreciate hearing our guests views on the hotel as this improves both our service and operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were charged 150 dollars after we checked out. The hotel said that we were smoking in their rooms and our room stunk of smoke. Firstly we did not smoke in the rooms, more importantly we don't even smoke. They have refused to take this charge back. So a very nice stay was ruined after the holiday. I will not be visiting this hotel again. Beware of extra charges!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Fisrt off we hate applying charges to our guests after they have left and over the last six years have only had to do this 4 times.
As our hotel has only smoke free rooms our guests know that on arrival the rooms will smell fresh and clean.
We have had occasions when guests have smoked in rooms and have not charged as we consider the smell will dissipate before the next check in.
Unfortunatly on this occasion it was not this guests room that had the smoke damage but their traveling companions,and it had very bad smoke odor with buts still in a cup beside the bed.As both rooms were secured with a single credit card we had no option but to take payment from this guests card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Marlborough

Property: Quality Hotel Marlborough
Address: 20 Nelson St, Blenheim 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Marlborough)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Blenheim
Quality Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing