We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was visiting Blenheim for a friends wedding & came across this hotel. the food & wine festival was also on so many hotels were fully booked. I stayed for 8 days in total.
The hotel was a bit pricey, saying that it had a bar, pool & restaurant which is always a bonus.
My room was comfortable & clean, king size bed was also comfortable, room serviced daily when card left on door handle. Corridors could get a bit nosiey with other customers & cleaners.
The hotel owners & staff were very friendly & on hand to assist in any way possible. The pool was a plus on the few hot days i had in Blenheim, Bar was great & owners on hand to chat, i was travelling alone so they kept me company during a beer. Menu for Restaurant & Bistro had good choices on it, maybe more vegetarian options, chef was very flexible when i ordered food.
I had been travelling for 2 weeks, the only recommendation i would have is an onsite laundry for customers staying more than a few days, as finding a laundromat is Blenheim was difficult.
I would definately return.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back which was great, corridors got a bit noisy at times with people checking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursemandy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, General Manager at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Myself and a friend just stayed for a weekend at the Quality Hotel in Blenheim for the Marlborough Wine and Food Festival. It was great! Really good value for money, incredibly friendly and helpful night manager (it was close to 9:30pm when we checked in), clean and comfortable rooms, and way more space than we expected! Bathroom was excellent, really modern and clean, with a great bathtub. I absolutely recommend this hotel - great value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, General Manager at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your review,and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over what is the busiest weekend in Blenheim,hope to see you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

When we arrived nearly dinner time and restaurant was shut so no access to food or drink. No air conditioning made a very hot night ..there was a pedastal fan that didn't work but the lady found us another. That woman was very pleasant and eent out of her way to help us and make us comfortable. The room was very uncomfortable and hot. The booking stated cooked breakfast but only continental was included. The booking was misleading because it said exec room with 2 person spa..but it was a small bath and I was told the spa was broken yet the booking led me to believe it was in the room. No mini bar services either.. a very disappointing stay

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantabrian384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here and there seems to be some communication problems that we need to address.
As we had very low occupancy on that night we decided to shut our kitchen, although we have a restaurant just over the road that we provide a voucher for and for some reason our reception staff failed to let you know.
We do have air con rooms but we chose to only advertise our lead in rooms on Booking.com with the air con rooms only bookable at hotel level or on our own site.
We do offer free breakfast with Booking.com rooms but because they are completly free with discounted rooms we are only able to offer continental breakfasts but do have an upgrade option for $10 which we believe is very good value for a full cooked breakfast complete with all we offer with the continental.
Unfortunatly we also do not advertise any of our spa rooms on Booking.com ,Jenny our night manager would have upgraded you for free but the only Spa we had available had a problem with the spa jets.
Over the past 2 years we have found that the mini bars were not being used and consequently used by dates became a problem so we removed them from the room however a mini bar is available by ringing reception (this is in the compedium)and we are only to happy to bring it to your room.Again we thank you for writing your reveiw and would also like to tell you that because you work for another hotel you are eligible for industry rates and we look forward to showing you our full hospitality should you wish to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Very close walk across a small river to town.
Good restaurant onsite with small bar avail for evening drinks.
Rooms are a little dated but comfortable and well equipped.
Grounds are attractive with pool and nice gardens.
Friendly staff, good service.
Lovely walk up the river just accross the road.
Recommend for short stays

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank lbw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, General Manager at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review,its always great to see that we did all we can so our guests enjoy their stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Arrived after a long journey and found that we had been upgraded to a better room. It was a huge room, well equipped and quiet. The reception staff were so helpful and knowledgeable about the local and other areas, they gave us great tips of places to visit that were not in guide books. The breakfast was fine and we ate a very nice dinner at the hotel. Very customer focused. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, General Manager at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us,when we can we are only to happy to upgrade our guests,every one of us likes to be treated once in a while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This place was average in decor etc but we had to kill 2 white tale spiders in the bathroom which have a nasty sting if bitten and we had to endue using the harshest sandpaper like cheap as toilet tissue either of us have ever found anywhere in the world -Cheap as! and then we nearly fell over when we found out that the eggs benidict for breakfast was a whopping (brace yourself) $26.00 WOW. The most we have EVER paid again - anywhere in the world is $22.50 which was also too much. The average price in New Zealand - no matter where you order it is around $18.00 then just to top it off we couldn't even order a real coffee to go with our breakfast - Yep thats right - we were told "sorry the coffee machine is only available when the bar is open! so we had to settle for a filter coffee - Yuck! Would we stay there again ? No, Not unless they paid for reasonable toilet tissue, killed their white tale spiders, dropped the price of eggs beni to no more than $21.50 and are willing to sell us a real cup of coffee for breakfast

Room Tip: Call first to ask if they have sorted the issues we mentioned before you bother booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review out hotel.
First off I sincerely apologise for finding any spiders in our rooms,we spend a considerable amount of money trying to eliminate such things.We have a company policy of when informed of such things we will change your room and offer you compensation,unfortunatly we did not hear about this during your stay with us.But should you decide to stay with us again we will gladly offer you a greatly reduced rate (including breakfast).
We have tried many ways to reduce the price of our breakfasts over the years but have always come back to charging a set rate of $26.50,however this includes not only anything cooked that you should require but our full range of continental and fruits,muffins,pastries and coffee.We realise that our prices will always be a bit more than a dedicated restaurant down town but we offer the convienience of breakfast with out moving.We are also looking at purchasing a automatic coffee machine for the breakfast restaurant so we can offer our guests who require a proper coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean and the bathroom was big. It was a warm day and there was no air con or fan in the room and it was uncomfortable to sleep in there. The restaurant was also closed which was annoying. The hotel is walking distance to the main street. We were happy enough with our stay but it was nothing special.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi.
We do thank you for your review.I am sorry it was a bit hot over the days you stayed and will get hotter as summer rolls in,while all of our hotel does not have aircon most of our Superior rooms do and these are available for as little as $5 per night extra.Our restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast but closed on sunday evenings for dinner,we are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.However to help compensate we do suppy a 20% discount card for a restaurant that is nearby for use on sundays,these are available at the reception.We are even happy to drop you off and pick you up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
649 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Marlborough

Address: 20 Nelson St, Blenheim 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Marlborough)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £67 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Blenheim
Quality Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing