We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but tiny and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, but tiny and tired”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Our tiny room looked into the central courtyard. Although the room was adequate (ie it had everything you needed), it was tiny.

The horizontal blinds let in far too much light and made sleeping difficult, as there are lights on in the courtyard. Also, kids were up at 7am playing in the courtyard, making lots of noise.

The shower didn't drain properly, and after 4 minutes the water was up over my feet. Not great when trying to get ready for a special occasion, like a wedding.

Staff were friendly enough. However, when we got back from breakfast they were about to make up our room, and we had to get ready for a wedding. Instead of offering to come back and make up our room later, they just gave us some extra towels and said they wouldn't service it that day. I had to ask reception if they could make up the room when we departed for ceremony.

I thought the hotel was in a great location, close to town, but for the price, there are better value for money accommodation providers in Blenheim.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    50
    34
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
70
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Just returned to Scotland, UK after 3 weeks travelling the North and South Islands, and although I don't usually write reviews I have to let fellow travellers know that our best stay was at the Copthorne Hotel, Marlborough. We checked in rather later than expected and met by our hosts, Lee and Kerry, who personally showed us to our delightful ground floor room, modern, spacious and a immaculately clean bathroom. The lounge area with comfy sofa and large screen TV was appreciated after the long drive from Christchurch (actually only 4 hours but we had taken all days stopping to admire the East Coast breathtaking views)
We had decided we should dine in this evening, but had not booked, so we just wandered down towards the Nikau restaurant past the pleasant hotel bar, we could hear the buzz of a busy dinning room, but we were instantly greeted with a friendly smile, and taken to a table overlooking the floodlit pool area. We both choose the fresh local scallops followed by the lamb on kumara fritter and my husband, the fillet steak with blue cheese sauce, perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and simply delicious, all washed down with one of Marlborough finest sauvignons. I only wished I had left room for the desserts as the cheesecake on the next table looked divine. How refreshing it was to see the Chef talking to the guests and checking they had enjoyed their dinning experience, nothing was too much trouble for the staff they clearly wanted you to enjoy the evening.

A comfy bed was calling and I was not disappointed, quality linen and fabrics made a perfect night.

We checked out after a delicious freshly cooked breakfast, travelling to Picton to catch the ferry north.

What a mistake , We should have stayed longer !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandseddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Hotel was somewhat tired and required some updating. Room was rather tiny and lacked adequate air flow even though the temperature was only in the mid 20's C. Staff were very helpful but the outside appearance certainly required some care and attention.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

This hotel is situated a fair walk out of town on a busy road. The hotel looked OK & the rooms were big. There was lots of road noise, even with the windows shut, & as they were the only ventilation on a hot night we didn't get much sleep.
We paid for wireless internet. Unfortunately it didn't work at all in our room (11) but was fine if you walked a few steps down the corridor. We were given our money back & told that this was the first they knew.We didn't believe them.
The bathroom looked fine, large mirror down one side with shelf underneath. However with lack of ventilation even with the window open the condensation ran down the mirror & soaked everything on the shelf. We cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

The rooms are nice but quite small. The bathroom is tidy. The staff was very nice and helpful. I had a good deal on Wotif so the price was really OK.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airflore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern UK
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2009

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas and it was an excellent choice. The room was large & comfortable and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful even when compared with the usual friendly New Zealand standard.
The hotel is family owned and run and it shows with the attention to detail. The chef is very good and we had a wonderful christmas lunch.
The only minor niggle is that they do not have a guest laundry, a feature we have found very useful in the rest of New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadScientist51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

In reading the other reviews of this hotel I have to admit I had a few concerns prior to booking. However, I was traveling to Marlborough during a somewhat busy weekend and did not have the full range of lodging options available to me.

I have to admit I was very pleased with the hotel. The owners are ten present, but all staff were friendly and helpful. The location is superb. I had been worried it was too far from cthe center of town but it is in fact a short a beautiful walk.

On the heating issue...my room also became quite cold my first evening in the hotel. The wall heater unit did not work, so I was forced to utilize the small space heater provided. It worked like a champ. It did not overheat the room and had different levels so I easily found the perfect setting.

I went on aquite a fewgroup wine tours and had the opportunity to see the lodgings of several other travelers...none that beat the Copthorne. Make no mistake, this is not a 4 star upscale or luxury hotel, but it is a solid product in the midmarket that for me provided an excellent location and excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huntheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
615 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Middle Park Motel
Middle Park Motel
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Marlborough

Property: Quality Hotel Marlborough
Address: 20 Nelson St, Blenheim 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Marlborough)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Blenheim
Quality Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing