We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Urville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Urville
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

This hotel was recommended by a friend so without much thought we had a quick look on the internet and booked.
We arrived quit late on the evening so just threw our bags into our room and ate dinner in their restaurant which was absolutely lovely, the menu, food and service was excellent and we went on to regret not eating there on our second night.
The room we were given was a duplex which made a nice change and it was an art deco theme which i personally really liked, it was warm and cosy.
Overall we loved this place and would definately return, the location is perfect for all the winery's.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    64
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
118
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

We were only in Blenheim for one night and found the Durville perfect. This unique hotel comprises the top floors of the grand old Public Trust Building (looks like a marbled columned bank) with a fantastic restaurant on the ground floor. Each room is thematic - ours was in deep reds and greens with an Indian theme. Great location right downtown - they were having the annual wine festival there the next day so the downtown was filled with a street fair. Chris, the owner, was delightful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margotkenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Chef is brilliant & we are alreadfy enjoying her cookbook that she produced for charity.
Chris the owner & his team could not do enough to make a stay enjoyable and always with a smile on their faces. They deserve a pat on the back & would we go back again, you bet!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NFSBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We had dinner there tonight. The staff were harassed and service was very slow. They seemed to spend ages at a computer. They charged NZD 20 for a bowl of clam soup.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Stayed here just for one night on our honeymoon, would have liked to stay for longer. The staff were really helpful and let us check in early, as well as booking a wine tour for us. Our room was bright and fresh with a lovely four poster bed and lots of quilts and cushions. It had a nice shower and was lovely and quiet. The only downside was that it was a little warm at night, but a few minutes blast of the air con soon sorted it and I slept like a log.

Breakfast was wonderful, I had some of the best french toast I've ever had. I still remember it now!

Would definitely recommend it. It's a little pricey but it's individuality, helpful staff and lovely food make it a great treat.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calcifer_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Beautiful room, helpful staff. Delicious dinner in the restaurant. Would definitely recommend this hotel, it was the best we stayed in in New Zealand for that price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

The room looked beautiful, however there was a persistent smell (management said it was bleech) and water dropped from the ceiling. Both can happen, however management did not really apologize for the inconvenience and still charged full rate.
The restaurnat has great food and is worth spending the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#19 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Property: Hotel d'Urville
Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#14 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing