We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Dining, Excellent Service, Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel d'Urville
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent Dining, Excellent Service, Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

My fiance took my to Hotel d'Urville as a birthday weekend surprise - I had never been there before!
We stayed in the very comfortable and luxurious d'Urville Suite which was full of NZ history and very interesting!

Dining in the restaurant was awesome, probably the best Steak menu I have ever seen, and the Rolled Pork Loin dish was to die for! Will definitely be trying to cook those at home! For entree we had lovely fresh Bluff Oysters in the half shells with lime juice and tobasco sauce, and for dessert the most beautiful Honey cheesecake with bee pollen ice cream.

The bar made us some beautiful version of my favorite cocktails, A coffee liqueur martini, and an apple and fejoa one too!
Team that up with some bubbly and local pinot noir with dinner and we were set for the night!

I loved staying here, just a had a really nice time and definitely recommend!

If you love food, love wine and love relaxing then Hotel d'Urville is a must visit!

Room Tip: Definately stay in the d'urville suite If available, it had just had a re-vamp when we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    64
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
18
118
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Great stay overall with no major complaints. We stayed in the Raja room (room 1). Beautiful room. While the bathroom looked great, there was no counter space to set your toiletries; the top of door frame is low and easy to bump your head for tall people; and the door is hard to lock. The wifi is cheap so get it if you need it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our first stop in New Zealand for our honeymoon, and we were very happy with everything. We stayed in Room 1 ("The Raja Room") which was beautifully decorated with a nice view of Queen Street. The room was extremely comfortable and the hotel day manager was extremely nice. I highly recommend the restaurant downstairs for dinner (the lamb was delicious) and the continental breakfast is more than enough to satisfy (if you want something cooked, you can order from a small breakfast menu). Just a 15 minute drive from the outstanding Marlborough wine region.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptheodore81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was our second stay at the Durville and the experience was every bit as good as we had remembered. This time we stayed in the beautiful "Angel" themed room. Plenty of room, very comfortable and all the amenities needed to ensure a comfortable and warm stay.

Downstairs to the bar and greeted by friendly staff and a few locals enjoying the hospitality, service with a smile and a great chat. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and were surprised at the variety on the menu, needless to say we managed to sample plenty of local cuisine.

We have had two differently themed room at the Durville now and I can not wait to go back to explore the others. This is a great stay..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cudainnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in the d'Urville on Saturday night, over in Blenheim for just a weekend escape. We had stayed there years ago, and we were both delighted to find it is as good as we remembered, and very good value in the winter.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, and well-maintained. Returning after so many years (at least eight years), I wondered if it would be a bit run down, but it was immaculate. We had the corner d'Urville room, with a colonial theme, and lovely light windows. The bathroom is small, but works well, and - my only complaint - the floor creaks a bit.

We had dinner at the restaurant - book ahead - on Saturday evening, and enjoyed a lovely meal. The wine list is good quality and reasonably priced, and the food was excellent. The smoked eel starter was wonderful, and the golden steamed pudding was a gourmet twist on what was a childhood favourite of mine. My husband's eye fillet steak with cafe de paris butter was delicious, and his chocolate fondant disappeared completely. A wonderful meal and a real gem in a provincial town. Service was friendly, attentive and professional.

I highly recommend both the hotel and its restaurant.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oztraylya
Level Contributor
263 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

The Hotel d’Urville in Blenheim is the new lease on life for the old Public Trust Building. The Hotel was named after Dumont d’ Urville, a French explorer.
Turning the old Public Trust building into what it is now, must have been a labour of love for the owners. This eleven room boutique hotel, is not only a wonderful hotel, but a one of a kind exhibition of fine old furniture and objet d’art, from the past and present, oh and a great place to eat in the wonderful restaurant.
My wife and I first stayed here some time ago and loved the place. Now we are here again sampling the delights of the area. The rooms in this five star stand out, are so unusual. All different, each with its own personality, each a quirky, unique and eclectic collection. Hotel d’Urville is run by the people who own and are passionate about the business and I think that if you do a few checks first, you will always get good service from owner run operations. Hotel d’Urville is no exception to this rule. Chris and his staff are doing a great job with high standards and this hotel is a must stay, if you only stayed for the hotel rooms and the five star service. But, as they say in the advertisments, there’s more.
The restaurant here is a special surprise. Hotel d’Urville’s award winning restaurant is headed by a true maestro, Chef Maree Connolly. We ate here both nights of our stay on this trip to Blenheim. For comparison we have done a lot of eating out on our trip down from Auckland over the past few weeks. The table service here was great and the food wonderful. The menu isn’t large and maybe leans to beef a little but is perfectly acceptable. On the first night my wife had fillet mignon and I had the grass fed Angus. My Angus was a huge steak and a hard ask to complete. Both steaks were cooked to perfection as requested and the menu has a good selection of sauces to accompany, and personalise your meal. Second night, my wife had the salmon and I had the pork. My wife likes her fish a little more done than some, it was not a problem and it was served s requested. My pork on kumara mash was good and again the meals were so large that we didn’t get to the desert. Make sure you get the side of roasted vegetables! During our full day trip out to the wineries, My wife was given a bottle of sparkling wine and the staff kindly cooled the bottle and served it for us with the meal. Little touches like that go so far into making a pleasant experience. Thanks Chris, Maree, Jessica and all at d’Urville. This is a place we will return to, Stephen & Beatrix.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuckerFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Great Hotel, friendly staff, wonderful Restaurant.

We have stayed in Blenheim many times and always stay at the d'Urville.

Rooms good size, clean and tidy.

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterU02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
6.4 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Property: Hotel d'Urville
Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#14 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing