We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel d'Urville
Nearby Hotels
Marlborough Vintners Hotel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lugano Motor Lodge(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
171 on High Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellena Court Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blenheim Palms Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashleigh Court Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherylea Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
100
71
24
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
71
24
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsraja roomunique hotelbank buildingthemed roomscomplimentary portday bedretro roomwonderful restaurantno liftwine listvenisonbooked this hoteltwo nightsnew zealandour honeymoonnight's sleepplace to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed in the Venus room, very quirky and a very comfortable bed. Chris the manager was extremely helpful - carried our suitcases upstairs as if they were weightless! Loved the old vault doors and the fact that it is an old building with many features retained.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CAWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights and we just loved it. The staff was friendly and attentive and "knew" who we were almost immediately. One kind lady even helped us call our wine tour after we'd returned because we had accidentally lost a bottle of olive oil on our tour bus. It was later dropped off by the company (they get a great review too - see Sounds Connection wine tours) and the staff brought it up to our room- wow!

The room was lovely. We felt it had a lot of charm with the high ceilings and big windows. The bathroom didn't look like much but the shower was truly senational! Also, they provided you with a "real" hair dryer that actually dries your hair as opposed to those cheap ones you usually find in hotels (seriously, this detail must almost exclusively be handled by men who do not know better). We also liked the in room fridge and coffee press. Because the hotel is older, we expected it to be louder, but we never heard anyone else when we were in our room. Here's my one tiny complaint.....the throw pillows in our room were all stained up- gross! For a hotel this nice, why not just replace the throw pillows. I found this odd. Throw pillows aside, we got two wonderful nights of sleep. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our motelier and it certainly lived up to her rave review. From the great idea of 'tasting' or entree to start up to and including the puddings I couldn't fault the food. Best I've tasted for a long time. Our entrees took a while to appear, but the 'amusee bouche' brought out to keep us going was superb. Salmon mousse to die for. As mentioned in another review the scallops were amazing - cauliflower puree and pickled lime, (I think) on the side complemented but didn't overpower. Mains just as good (I'd love to know what the side was with the fillet mignon). Overall worth every penny.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the Hotel but only dined there.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We booked this hotel at quite short notice and because we got sent an internet special offer... We checked it out on Trip Advisor (as you do) and it rated very highly so we thought why not... Now, clearly because we'd got it cheap we got the bargain room which was the only room on the ground floor, between the bar and the kitchen prep room... which was a bit noisy. (Not one for a light sleeper) However, the room was beautiful, well appointed, incredible high ceilings, very comfy bed, lovely decor, tea and coffee making stuff and a nice little bathroom with a wet room shower.... I think if we'd paid full price we would have been a bit upset with the position of the room but as it was we were paying the same as a motel I still think it was a bargain. All the staff were lovely, polite, helpful and friendly... We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant, not cheap but excellent food and wines. I would defiantly go back but perhaps pay the extra and get a better room... NOTE - This is not a hotel for business as the internet service is non existent and if you are planning on staying in and watching TV don't be surprised if you only have 1-3 channels BUT lets face it, there are much better things to do in Marlborough than watch TV.

2  Thank loubylou_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Hotel d'Urville is in the heart of the quirky town of Blenheim in the Marleborough area of South Island New Zealand.
The hotel is in a converted bank building and is somewhat minimalist in design but tastefully done. Rooms are themed and offer large beds and adequate bathrooms.
It's great selling point is it's restaurant. My wife reckoned that the lamb she chose for dinner was the best she had ever tasted (and she's eaten a lot of lamb!!).
We chose a two day special package which included dinner on one night,continental breakfast on two mornings and a morning wine tasting in the many vineyards in the area.
Staff were efficient and helpful-the somelier was knowledgable although the wine was expensive-in line with the price of wine in NZ-but the Sauvignon was brilliant.

Room Tip: All rooms were good. Since the "town" dies at 5pm there's no trouble with noise anywhere!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francophile6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews