We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dining Experience in NZ”
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Urville
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Wow, just wow. Dining experience fantastic. Food, and service equal to Logan Browns in Wellington, better than Euro in Auckland's Princes Wharf. The scallops were perfect, still delicate as they should be. The wild bore was gamey and well dress with nuts and a fantastic jus. I generally avoid hotel restaurants always finding the food average at best. Thank you d'Urville you have restored my faith in hotel dining. Great staff, wonderful ambience, overall a must do dining experience (food delivery extremely fast which was fine as I was dining alone).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Urville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Perfectly central in Blenheim with good continental breakfast and limited but convenient small car park. We stayed in the Colours room which was quiet at night despite fronting onto a road. After our exertions of the past fortnight we had a great rest undisturbed by the nevertheless very friendly staff. The bathroom was cramped and in need of redecoration.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gof F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our ferry was very delayed and we didn't arrive in the hotel until 1:15 AM (having called to warn them) and the front desk attendant was very pleasant. We got a beautiful room with a high ceiling and lovely furnishings and the following morning enjoyed their breakfast and lots of helpful suggestions from the front desk staff. We took their suggestion for dinner and loved that too. They could not have been more helpful and overall would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Blenheim.

Room Tip: I loved our room but can't recall the name. It had a very high ceiling and beautiful furnishing...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Enjoyed our 3 nights at Hotel D'urville. Dined in the restaurant twice and really recommend the whitebait fritters - stuffed with whitebait! Continental breakfast was not your average continental breakfast, good variety of food. Stayed in the Venus room, lovely views across to the hills surrounding Blenheim. Staff always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We recommend the Venus Room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zambrosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This old converted bank was a fantastic place to explore Blenheim and te surrounding area. Room was spacious and comfortable. Staff friendly and a good continental breakfast to boot. We tried to get into the restaurant one night but is was fully booked so make sure you make reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Cool hotel well located in cbd Blenheim. The fitout of this old building is quirky - all the rooms are themed differently. Comfortable beds, room was small totally adequate. We ate in the restaurant and loved the wine selection and Great Food. breakfast was included - continential and yum -really good museli. I would stay again and I would eat here too.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

There are a few parking places each side and we managed to find one each time. No lift, and long stairs to the hotel section of the building (but staff offered to carry our bags). Wifi free but only just worked in our room at the far end of the main corridor as signal was very weak. The room was large and we had a good view of city streets from the windows. We had dinner in the restaurant one night - which was very good. Breakfasts were excellent, and the staff were also all very good and helpful. Provided you don't mind slightly awkward access to rooms, this was a good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
635 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#14 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £78 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing