We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Urville
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel D’Urville is a charming boutique hotel in Blenheim. The building was formerly a bank and the hotel rooms now have the benefit of the high ceilings and thick walls. It’s quirky but fun to access one’s room through a vault door! Our king suite was cool, comfortable and bright. The four-poster bed was very comfortable and featured high quality linens. Chris was an affable host, helping with luggage and offering thoughtful suggestions for wine tastings and winery lunches. The continental breakfast included in the room rate was generous and our dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. Hotel D’Urville is an easy drive to the wineries and within walking distance of many restaurants and services in Blenheim. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2BBandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed in the lovely boutique hotel for two nights and we're very impressed. Beautiful rooms, very comfy beds, great service where nothing was too much trouble (we asked for a bread knife and a butter knife so we could have home brought antipasto in our room which was promptly supplied and then cleaned and re-left in our room the next day when they saw we still had some left). Breakfast was also a great selection and included in the room price.

Overall great value for money and well worth the visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The rooms here are all themed. I loved mine (from the Far East). It was very clean (very!), large and comfortable. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The restaurant lived up to its' reputation with excellent food, wines and service. I would definitely go back again! Highly recommended for anyone wanting something a little bit different to the norm. If touring the wine region, I would suggest a car to get around rather than relying on public transport and taxis.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I recently had a delightful stay in the lovely Hotel d'Urville and would recommend it to anyone wanting a hotel a little different to the norm. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. The room spacious with everything you might need for a few nights away, although I would have loved a bath to soak in after a long day sightseeing. Blenheim is a great central spot in beautiful Marlborough wine country. A meal at the restaurant is a MUST !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is in a great location in the centre of Blenheim for touring the Marlborough wine country. All the rooms are decorated in a different style - we were initially booked in to 'Colours' but we had trouble with the door lock so were moved to another room whose decor was very retro 1960/70 in style. It was split level and we really liked it.

Restaurant is great - food, drinks and service. In fact, service throughout was excellent.

We were given complimentary wi-fi but the reception in the room was a bit patchy as the building is a former bank with thick concrete walls.

There is off street parking (a few spaces).

Overall a very pleasant stay and would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JellyBean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Wow, just wow. Dining experience fantastic. Food, and service equal to Logan Browns in Wellington, better than Euro in Auckland's Princes Wharf. The scallops were perfect, still delicate as they should be. The wild bore was gamey and well dress with nuts and a fantastic jus. I generally avoid hotel restaurants always finding the food average at best. Thank you d'Urville you have restored my faith in hotel dining. Great staff, wonderful ambience, overall a must do dining experience (food delivery extremely fast which was fine as I was dining alone).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Perfectly central in Blenheim with good continental breakfast and limited but convenient small car park. We stayed in the Colours room which was quiet at night despite fronting onto a road. After our exertions of the past fortnight we had a great rest undisturbed by the nevertheless very friendly staff. The bathroom was cramped and in need of redecoration.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gof F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
375 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
167 reviews
17.5 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#14 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £122 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing