We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel with lovely rooms and good restaurant”
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel d'Urville
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2010

If looking to visit the wine region of Marlborough this is a superb Hotel to choose. First impressions on entering are good, the rooms are individual and to a very high standard. The hotel organized a wine tour where we visited and tasted at at least 6 vineyards. There was also free port provided on the landing where you could meet fellow guests. Dinner was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2010

Arrived in Blenheim as part of a two island NZ tour. We drove 300 km's to stay for a night at the hotel as we had read such good things about it. The room was fine except for a noisy aircon unit. The meal in the restaurant was good except for our table being out of the main restaurant area and in an alcove where the staff worked and guests waited to be seated. This even though we had booked dinner six months previously. The wine that my partner was served had a large amount of sediment in the bottom making it taste very bitter. When the wine chap eventually turned up (20 minutes after asking to see him) to talk about it, he said this was normal and everyone else drank the sediment! He wasn't at all interested and didn't even apologise. This was mentioned to the wild eyed manager the following morning when we checked out - he wouldnt discuss it nor the noisy aircon which had to be swirtched off at 3 in the morning as it was too noisy to sleep. He talked over me, said we were just looking for faults and that no-one had complained about anything at the hotel for 3 years! Shocking service at this hotel, rude staff and a general feeling of not caring about the guests. I would advise caution when considering this hotel and look at alternatives.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Despite only passing through Blenheim, we really enjoyed staying at Hotel d'Urville. The building and rooms are unique and well appointed. Our room had a nautical theme with very nice, old furniture and high ceilings.

The restaurant was really excellent - definitely one of the best we ate at on our trip. The breakfast selection was also very good. Overall the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdwatcher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

My husband and I where lucky enough to stay at this Unique hotel within a historic building as part of a prize we recently won. Our room was the Angel room. It was beautifully decorated with subtle pastel hues, very relaxing. Then there was the restaurant with its fabulous menu and professional, attentive staff. This was a wonderful Hotel to stay in and we would highly recomment it to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlover093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Thankfully, we had managed to park in one of the few spaces at the side of the hotel with no intention of moving the car again during our short stay (but limited parking could be a problem). Our room was the eponymous D'Urville room, decorated in a colonial style with a lovely big four poster bed and comfortable armchairs and a quirky little bathroom with copper fittings. Apparently all the rooms have a subtle theme to make them a bit more interesting than standard hotel decor and we certainly appreciated the finishing touches such as maps on the wall and relevant books. The building is an old Public Trust building and has a fabulous vault in which guests can relax with a glass of port, away from the main hotel bar.

The restaurant served us perhaps one of the best meals we've eaten in New Zealand with helpful recommendations for appropriate wines to match each course. Breakfast was a reasonable continental selection (included in our basic rate) or a cooked option which we didn't sample. Service throughout was with a smile!

The town of Blenheim itself hasn't much to offer but the many vineyards in its periphery make it a desirable place to stop for a night or two. We plan to head back up in a couple of months and will be staying at Hotel D'Urville again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likesaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Great service and lovely room - The Angel Room - with four poster bed, real luxury. Would recommend dining in the restaurant - was one of the best meals I had on my whole trip around New Zealand. It was a real shame I wasn't stopping longer. If ever revisit Blenheim would certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbots_Langley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Quiet, charming boutique hotel. Friendly staff who go out of their way to help but are not intrusive. Upscale dining experience for dinner. Good location within walking distance of other restaurants, shops and sights.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassandleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
649 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
164 reviews
2.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
1.0 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#14 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £85 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing