We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel great hospitality”
Review of Hotel d'Urville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel d'Urville
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We Loved our stay in this quiet charming boutique hotel. The striking manager was very friendly and went out of his way to help us - carrying our luggage up the stairs, organising wine tours and entertaining us in the fabulous bar. Our room was unique, beautifully furnished and very quiet. We enjoyed and exquisite meal in the restaurant. We were seated in an intimate alcove of the restraunt whiched added a romantic touch. Great wine list and excellent service from the waiters. No problems with parking as every room has an allocated parking spot. The central location of this hotel makes it ideal for exploring the town on foot for those who are without a vehicle. We wished we could have stayed on longer. Definately will return to enjoy this awesome hotel and the great hospitalily.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2010

I just had two nights stay in The Hotel d'Urville - a birthday treat for myself and a friend. Had a lovely stay in a beautiful room. The meal in the restaurant was fantastic - we had a lovely table in a smaller area of the restaurant - and I have to say the Lamb Rack was out of this world. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nzdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This Hotel is a cut above the rest. Converted from an historic Government building in the center of the Town, the presentation, service and comfort factors were great. This was the second time we had stayed at the d'Urville.

Our first visit was with friends, and this time with our teenage Children, the hotel was able to cater wonderfully in both circumstance.

The friendly bar atmosphere was a greta pre cursor to the full menu packed with fresh local produce. This Hotel is a must stay when in Marlborough.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cudainnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

If looking to visit the wine region of Marlborough this is a superb Hotel to choose. First impressions on entering are good, the rooms are individual and to a very high standard. The hotel organized a wine tour where we visited and tasted at at least 6 vineyards. There was also free port provided on the landing where you could meet fellow guests. Dinner was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Arrived in Blenheim as part of a two island NZ tour. We drove 300 km's to stay for a night at the hotel as we had read such good things about it. The room was fine except for a noisy aircon unit. The meal in the restaurant was good except for our table being out of the main restaurant area and in an alcove where the staff worked and guests waited to be seated. This even though we had booked dinner six months previously. The wine that my partner was served had a large amount of sediment in the bottom making it taste very bitter. When the wine chap eventually turned up (20 minutes after asking to see him) to talk about it, he said this was normal and everyone else drank the sediment! He wasn't at all interested and didn't even apologise. This was mentioned to the wild eyed manager the following morning when we checked out - he wouldnt discuss it nor the noisy aircon which had to be swirtched off at 3 in the morning as it was too noisy to sleep. He talked over me, said we were just looking for faults and that no-one had complained about anything at the hotel for 3 years! Shocking service at this hotel, rude staff and a general feeling of not caring about the guests. I would advise caution when considering this hotel and look at alternatives.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Despite only passing through Blenheim, we really enjoyed staying at Hotel d'Urville. The building and rooms are unique and well appointed. Our room had a nautical theme with very nice, old furniture and high ceilings.

The restaurant was really excellent - definitely one of the best we ate at on our trip. The breakfast selection was also very good. Overall the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdwatcher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

My husband and I where lucky enough to stay at this Unique hotel within a historic building as part of a prize we recently won. Our room was the Angel room. It was beautifully decorated with subtle pastel hues, very relaxing. Then there was the restaurant with its fabulous menu and professional, attentive staff. This was a wonderful Hotel to stay in and we would highly recomment it to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlover093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
374 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
167 reviews
17.5 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Urville

Address: 52 Queen Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#14 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £123 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Urville 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's finest landmarks, the historic Public Trust Building, is now transformed into a luxury 11-room hotel for the discerning traveller. Each of our 11 suites has been designed and decorated to create an individual and distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Urville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Urville Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
d Urville Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing