We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and comfortable, lovely homely atmosphere, 10 minutes by bike to Cloudy Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marlborough Lodge
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Intimate and comfortable, lovely homely atmosphere, 10 minutes by bike to Cloudy Bay”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Wooden structure transported en bloc from town where it was a working convent. We stayed in the Sister Ancilla room with lovely views over the gardens, croquet lawn and pool.

Charming hostess who could no have been more helpful, great breakfasts.

No evening restaurants but plenty of choice in town.

Take a cycle tour of the vineyards, but avoid getting too drunk!

Room Tip: Chose you room by name from the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Marlborough is a lovely and picturesque region to visit, and without question Old Saint Mary's Convent is a wonderful place to stop over. I can attest to all preceding positive comments describing just how delightful the Convent really is.

You will begin to feel relaxed even before setting foot in the place, as you enter the substantial grounds passing by a stream and pond that would seem familiar to anyone who've visited Monet's garden. The road then leads on through manicured grounds surrounded by vineyards and sculptured lavender gardens.

Once inside you will be amazed at the extensive recreational areas including library, full size billiard room, guest lounge and sunroom, all elaborately furnished including antique carved bookcases etc circa 1600. The Chapel suite was extremely spacious, luxuriously comfortable and beautifully appointed, with complimentary bar fridge and chocolates.

Breakfast was served in the delightful dining room overlooking the garden, with the very special Maria providing a wonderful cooked breakfast. The bar in the lounge is always open, and In the evenings one might enjoy the company and conversation of the owner Keith, Maria or other guests.

The Old Saint Mary's Convent is just as much an unforgettable experience as as it is a luxurious property.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us, We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here 3 years ago and returned because of the great B&B, wonderful setting in the heart of Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc region. The building has been restored beautifully and each room is carefully furnished with fabulous antiques. The open areas of the inn create a comfortable setting of relaxing,conversing and having a glass of wine. Owner, Denham, provides a congenial tone to evening wine (and cocktails) from his vineyard and appetizers perfected by Maria. And Hannah provides wonderful hospitality and tour arrangements. The porch surrounding the inn on two floors is a great setting to relax and enjoy the setting and a glass of wine overlooking the perfectly landscaped grounds and vineyard. The setting includes formal gardens, lavender growings, parklike open spaces, ducks, pergolas, birdbaths and a lovely pool. There is a little chapel on the property and the property is often used for weddings. You may also see some of Maria's chickens. Hannah arranged for some great day trips and drivers for evening dinners. Breakfasts are included and one must never underestimate Maria's breakfasts--homemade, delicious and made to order. The facility offers many extras--great chocolates in your room, abundance of house wine, dinner platters upon request, fresh fruit. Denham, Hannah and Maria provide excellent hospitality, great service, attention to special requests and the best Inn experience in Marlborough.

Room Tip: The Inn has air conditioning. All rooms have nice views of the property and porches. The Chapel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you to stay with us again, and for such a long time. It feels like you are part of the Convent family now! Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this accommodation. Every thing about the place is excellent. The hosts look after you very well and the rooms are first class with top quality furnishings. There are some very nice extras too. Complementary chocolates are provided in your room on arrival and complimentary drinks are available in the main lounge whenever you wish to indulge. The wine that is available comes from the owners vineyard and includes several varieties. We doubt there is a better lodge type B&B in Blenheim

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevvynuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback, and it was great to see you return to stay with us again. Maybe you will make a third trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Old St. Mary's Convent is owned and operated by Keith Denham in the middle of his extensive vineyards and beautifully landscaped grounds. This inn is located in the midst of the Marlborough (Blenheim, NZ) wine region where one can taste Seresin, Cloudy Bay, Dog Point, Framingham, Nautilus, Herzog, Brancott, and Gibson among others. A convent has been converted (no pun intended) into a six-bedroom inn with terraces and a number of comfortable common area rooms downstairs. A terrific breakfast in a lovely setting is provided and the antique decorated rooms are air conditioned. This is special place with special people. Maria and Hannah will make certain you have an excellent stay and will also direct you to special sites, gardens, wineries, art galleries and museums. They will also make dinner reservations and make any tour bookings, including boat trips out of Picton, helicopter tours, garden and wine tours, and fishing trips. There are two sitting rooms with a fireplace and a fully stocked bar with a number of Keith's excellent wines. In addition to spacious grounds surrounding the inn there is a heated outdoor pool.

Room Tip: If the Chapel Suite is available, book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Guest Relations Manager at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you tostay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mae Chan, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My wife and I were looking for a few days of calm, fresh air, beautiful mountains and good food and wine. We got exactly that. Old Saint Mary's Convent is a very unique and beautiful place. Maria keeps the organic garden looking incredible. The estate vineyards produces real nice wines of which we had plenty. Hannah keeps all the guests happy at all times, no problem I think I heard her say at least 10 times every day. We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time. If you ever go to Marlborough this is the place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joakim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you both staying with us, and we hope that you will come back again in the future. Good luck with your new venture in Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had our wedding at Old Saint Mary's and stayed with our bridal party for 2 nights.
What can I say? This place is a dream. Our friends and family cannot stop talking about how perfect the venue was. Our experience here has been amazing - we are still buzzing! Hannah was fantastic throughout all our planning right until when we left. Nothing was ever too much of an ask and we are so grateful for the wonderful hospitality that was shown. The day after the wedding we had a BBQ and I remember looking around at everyone. Some were playing cricket, others were sitting by the pool, some riding bikes and even people in the row boat. It was like a scene out of movie and one memory I will never forget. The breakfasts were great too! Thank you so much guys, you truly helped make our wedding weekend the best we could ever hope for. Maybe one day we'll get to come back one day for an anniversary ;)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
It was such a pleasure to have your wedding here, and I am so pleased that you and your guests all had a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
3.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
3.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
354 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
268 reviews
23.0 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Lodge

Property: The Marlborough Lodge
Address: 776 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand (Formerly Old Saint Mary's Convent)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marlborough Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Lodge, a luxury boutique hotel (formerly Old St Mary's Convent), has been fully renovated and refurbished and is now offers 10 luxury suites over two floors each with private ensuite. Also offered is a full time concierge, inhouse dining and 16 acres of beautiful grounds. The Lodge is a private haven located in the world-famous Marlborough wine region but is conveniently within 10 minutes of Marlborough Airport and Blenheim township. Children 10+ are welcome at the lodge, or children of all ages if the lodge is booked exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Marlborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Lodge Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing