We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Relaxing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marlborough Lodge
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Reviewed 24 May 2013

What a gem! We were welcomed by Hannah to this beautiful Inn which was in fact a convent in its previous life. Her father Denham is more than happy to share a glass of port-or anything else you may want from the bar! -and engage in lively conversation by the fireplace in the evening. The rooms are very comfortably furnished and very clean. Hannah was more than happy to make dinner reservations for us and also provided detailed driving instructions to get there! We can't forget to mention Maria - her breakfasts were outstanding! It is apparent that everyone enjoys taking care of the guests. If we ever get back to Marlborough, we will definitely stay at Old St. Mary's!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdybry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

It was a pleasure having you to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

When I stayed the first time in this beautiful place I said to myself, I need to bring my wife here for a romantic escape. I can say it's one of the best accommodation I ever been in New Zealand. The accommodation is nested in the middle of a beautiful park. It is beautifully decorated and service is perfect. I particularly liked the breakfast; I would come back just for that. It's also a very nice place for weddings and all sorts of venues. I'll certainly come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you back with your wife, and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Our experience staying at the Old St Marys Convent Retreat was faultless! Hannah and Maria where both welcoming and efficient but still had time for a good informed conversation just when we seemed to be ready for it.
Out stroling around the expansive grounds on days or enjoying happy hour with friends by the fire at night,we could not have been happier.
P.S. and two other things,the Old St Marys Chardonnay is outstanding and the breakfast was delicious!
Gordon & Diane

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordonwilson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us to celebrate your wife's birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We recently stayed at this wonderful old convent, located in beautifully landscaped grounds with the last of the lavender and roses competing with the changing colours of the autumnal trees. Nothing is too much trouble and Denham the owner, is warm and generous in his hospitality. Maria looked after us wonderfully - the breakfasts were absolutely delicious and generous. We loved the care and thought which has gone into furnishing this lovely old building, inside and out. The full verandahs, the antique furnishings, the decor, the gardens - it is all perfect! It is a place for rejuvenation and relaxation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandymGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back again with friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Wooden structure transported en bloc from town where it was a working convent. We stayed in the Sister Ancilla room with lovely views over the gardens, croquet lawn and pool.

Charming hostess who could no have been more helpful, great breakfasts.

No evening restaurants but plenty of choice in town.

Take a cycle tour of the vineyards, but avoid getting too drunk!

Room Tip: Chose you room by name from the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Marlborough is a lovely and picturesque region to visit, and without question Old Saint Mary's Convent is a wonderful place to stop over. I can attest to all preceding positive comments describing just how delightful the Convent really is.

You will begin to feel relaxed even before setting foot in the place, as you enter the substantial grounds passing by a stream and pond that would seem familiar to anyone who've visited Monet's garden. The road then leads on through manicured grounds surrounded by vineyards and sculptured lavender gardens.

Once inside you will be amazed at the extensive recreational areas including library, full size billiard room, guest lounge and sunroom, all elaborately furnished including antique carved bookcases etc circa 1600. The Chapel suite was extremely spacious, luxuriously comfortable and beautifully appointed, with complimentary bar fridge and chocolates.

Breakfast was served in the delightful dining room overlooking the garden, with the very special Maria providing a wonderful cooked breakfast. The bar in the lounge is always open, and In the evenings one might enjoy the company and conversation of the owner Keith, Maria or other guests.

The Old Saint Mary's Convent is just as much an unforgettable experience as as it is a luxurious property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us, We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here 3 years ago and returned because of the great B&B, wonderful setting in the heart of Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc region. The building has been restored beautifully and each room is carefully furnished with fabulous antiques. The open areas of the inn create a comfortable setting of relaxing,conversing and having a glass of wine. Owner, Denham, provides a congenial tone to evening wine (and cocktails) from his vineyard and appetizers perfected by Maria. And Hannah provides wonderful hospitality and tour arrangements. The porch surrounding the inn on two floors is a great setting to relax and enjoy the setting and a glass of wine overlooking the perfectly landscaped grounds and vineyard. The setting includes formal gardens, lavender growings, parklike open spaces, ducks, pergolas, birdbaths and a lovely pool. There is a little chapel on the property and the property is often used for weddings. You may also see some of Maria's chickens. Hannah arranged for some great day trips and drivers for evening dinners. Breakfasts are included and one must never underestimate Maria's breakfasts--homemade, delicious and made to order. The facility offers many extras--great chocolates in your room, abundance of house wine, dinner platters upon request, fresh fruit. Denham, Hannah and Maria provide excellent hospitality, great service, attention to special requests and the best Inn experience in Marlborough.

Room Tip: The Inn has air conditioning. All rooms have nice views of the property and porches. The Chapel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

It was a real pleasure to have you to stay with us again, and for such a long time. It feels like you are part of the Convent family now! Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
3.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
3.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
23 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
374 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
211 reviews
15.5 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Lodge

Address: 776 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand (Formerly Old Saint Mary's Convent)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £627 - £972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marlborough Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Lodge, a luxury boutique hotel (formerly Old St Mary's Convent), has been fully renovated and refurbished and is now offers 10 luxury suites over two floors each with private ensuite. Also offered is a full time concierge, inhouse dining and 16 acres of beautiful grounds. The Lodge is a private haven located in the world-famous Marlborough wine region but is conveniently within 10 minutes of Marlborough Airport and Blenheim township. Children 10+ are welcome at the lodge, or children of all ages if the lodge is booked exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Marlborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Lodge Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing