We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic property set amongst beautiful gardens and vines.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marlborough Lodge
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Perth, Australia
1 review
“An idyllic property set amongst beautiful gardens and vines.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Beautiful is the only way to describe the drive down the tree lined driveway to a gorgeous homestead. Maria was there to greet us. What a gem this lady is - she can't do enough to make your stay perfect and her breakfasts were excellent. We had complete access to the wine in the bar area and were joined by the owner Denham who is as interesting as his property. The St Mary wine was amazingly good and such interesting stories shared by Denham at " wine o'clock " certainly added a personal touch. Maria and Denham were excellent hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. They recommended the best restaurants and wineries. Denham even organised bringing Lucy the Lamb on a leash to see us after we said we would love to see the 8 week old lamb. Our 3 nights there were lovely and the accommodation is of a very high quality - towels, sheets, cleanliness (actually spotless), just everything right down to maintenance. The photos on the website are very true - in fact more picturesque. I will add one photo showing the beautiful Lucy!!
We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and Denham and Maria I know enjoyed your company as well. Lucy sheep is doing well and is now busy keeping the grass up at Denham's cottage nice and short! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We got married at Old Saint Mary's on 16th February 2013 and, without doubt, couldn't have asked for anything more!

First of all, the venue: the photos on the website honestly don't do it justice! It is simply beautiful (try and hunt down our wedding photos on their facebook site for an idea!). The grounds are lovely, surrounded by vineyards. The accommodation is luxury at its highest. The breakfasts are to die for. Absolutely no negatives, it's worth every penny!

Secondly, Hannah! Hannah was a lifesaver and for anyone considering a wedding, we definitely recommend taking up Hannah as your wedding planner! We are a Kiwi and a Brit living in Edinburgh, with a wee mischief to contend with, and without her help we would have got nowhere. Very on the ball, very helpful, and incredibly friendly!

Finally, other worthy mentions for those thinking of a wedding at Old St Mary's: 1) St Clair Wines - do the best vino and great deals for weddings; 2) Pampering - we highly recommend Sustain Hair & Beauty and don't touch Marlborough Day Spa with a barge pole (this is for a different review); 3) Friends & family accommodation - Brydan without hesitation (Jane and Don are wonderful!).

I think that sums up our first ever Tripadvisor review, but it is certainly worth shouting about! Thanks again Hannah.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to be part of your wedding and to ensure that the day was special for you. We wish you all the best for the future, and hopefully you will come and visit us again when you are over this side of the world. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 at the end of our tour of south island, unfortunately only for one night. What an amazing place. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. The convent has been beautifully preserved and is set in lovely gardens. We were amazed to find a pool and sun beds.
We were well looked after by Keith, Hannah and Maria. After our dinner at a local restaurant we enjoyed the convent's excellent wine all served complimentary in the bar. Keith was a great host, the following morning we watched a UK football game at his house!! Maria prepared a lovely breakfast and Hannah helped with restaurant booking etc. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely come back if we return to New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back if you ever cross the world again to visit New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

What a gem! We were welcomed by Hannah to this beautiful Inn which was in fact a convent in its previous life. Her father Denham is more than happy to share a glass of port-or anything else you may want from the bar! -and engage in lively conversation by the fireplace in the evening. The rooms are very comfortably furnished and very clean. Hannah was more than happy to make dinner reservations for us and also provided detailed driving instructions to get there! We can't forget to mention Maria - her breakfasts were outstanding! It is apparent that everyone enjoys taking care of the guests. If we ever get back to Marlborough, we will definitely stay at Old St. Mary's!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdybry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
It was a pleasure having you to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

When I stayed the first time in this beautiful place I said to myself, I need to bring my wife here for a romantic escape. I can say it's one of the best accommodation I ever been in New Zealand. The accommodation is nested in the middle of a beautiful park. It is beautifully decorated and service is perfect. I particularly liked the breakfast; I would come back just for that. It's also a very nice place for weddings and all sorts of venues. I'll certainly come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you back with your wife, and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Our experience staying at the Old St Marys Convent Retreat was faultless! Hannah and Maria where both welcoming and efficient but still had time for a good informed conversation just when we seemed to be ready for it.
Out stroling around the expansive grounds on days or enjoying happy hour with friends by the fire at night,we could not have been happier.
P.S. and two other things,the Old St Marys Chardonnay is outstanding and the breakfast was delicious!
Gordon & Diane

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonwilson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us to celebrate your wife's birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We recently stayed at this wonderful old convent, located in beautifully landscaped grounds with the last of the lavender and roses competing with the changing colours of the autumnal trees. Nothing is too much trouble and Denham the owner, is warm and generous in his hospitality. Maria looked after us wonderfully - the breakfasts were absolutely delicious and generous. We loved the care and thought which has gone into furnishing this lovely old building, inside and out. The full verandahs, the antique furnishings, the decor, the gardens - it is all perfect! It is a place for rejuvenation and relaxation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandymGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back again with friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
3.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
3.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
624 reviews
2.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
350 reviews
23.0 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
314 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Lodge

Property: The Marlborough Lodge
Address: 776 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand (Formerly Old Saint Mary's Convent)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marlborough Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Lodge, a luxury boutique hotel (formerly Old St Mary's Convent), has been fully renovated and refurbished and is now offers 10 luxury suites over two floors each with private ensuite. Also offered is a full time concierge, inhouse dining and 16 acres of beautiful grounds. The Lodge is a private haven located in the world-famous Marlborough wine region but is conveniently within 10 minutes of Marlborough Airport and Blenheim township. Children 10+ are welcome at the lodge, or children of all ages if the lodge is booked exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Marlborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Lodge Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing