We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine'ing in Style!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marlborough Lodge
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wine'ing in Style!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

There was no 'whining' here....absolute luxury with a casual atmosphere. Maria is an excellent hostess and catered to all our needs. Great amenities include wine, spirits and finger-food platter in the evening~ .....all without the add-on costs. Wonderful cooked breakfast in the spacious, tranquil, light-filled dining room with lovely views of the gardens. The location couldn't be better; right in the middle of Marlborough wine country. The Mother Superior Suite was GREAT~ I'll be back~

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sermars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future the next time you are in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We arrived here tired at lunchtime and were treated to Maria's generous hospitality - a platter freshly prepared and served on our balcony with house (produced by the owner) wine at no charge. Once we had caught our breath we took a stroll in the gardens - full of seasonal fruits and flowers that Maria harvests for breakfast. The following day we had eggs cooked to perfection (Maria's chickens) while we were looking out over the vineyards. Evenings were always enhanced by drinks with Denham, the owner, from the extensive free bar or a copious amount of his own excellent wine.We will return. Maria is an angel!

Room Tip: Choose mother superior or chapel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us and that Maria looked after you so well. Yes her platters are very yummy!
Denham always enjoys spending time with the guests and getting peoples feedback on his wines.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed in the Chapel Suite and were amazed at the size, beauty, and uniqueness of this B&B. We were treated like royalty and spent our time in the pool, walking among the vineyard, and relaxing on the porch. The housekeeper/chef extraordinaire - Maria - made us a platter for dinner, and while we were enjoying, we spied her picking fruit in the orchard for the next day (a true Martha Stuart type). There is a billiard room, library, and full bar for guests to enjoy. If we are lucky enough to return to New Zealand, another stay at Old St. Mary's is definitely on our list.

Room Tip: All 5 of the rooms look lovely, but the Chapel Suite is truly the diamond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
It was a pleasure to have you here to stay and glad you enjoyed the evening platter that Maria put together for you. Yes Maria loves to go out into the garden and collect fruit for our guests, she is a true gem. We hope to se you again if you return to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The convent has been lovingly restored with no expense spared. The grounds are like a botanic garden. White embroidered sheets and tablecloths blew gently on the clothesline. The pool is an added luxury with large royal blue towels and chaise lounges to rest in. The Inn sits in the middle of acres of vineyards with exquisite restaurants a short distance away. There is something spiritual about the place, which has nothing to do with its origins as a convent, or maybe it does, who knows? It is like stepping into the Garden of Eden. Maria, master gardener and innkeeper, provided us with a scrumptious breakfast with eggs right from her beloved chickens.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to Maria who I know will be pleased that you also enjoyed your time here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Love this place. We stayed here five years ago and have returned for a longer stay this time.The gardens are beautiful and the lavender is so calming.
We arrived at midnight and the host was charming even at that late hour.
Beautiful breakfast this morning and a walk in the vineyards was lovely. Staying in the Mother Superior room is the best part.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are so pleased that you have returned to stay with us and that your stay was enjoyable. I will pass on your comments about the glorious gardens to Maria, and we hope that you will return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Old St Mary's is the best place to stay in the upper South Island thats for sure. The settings, the rooms the hosts are all excellent. We stayed with our two children aged 9 and 13 and they had so much fun biking on the bikes supplied, swimming , exploring the many farm animals and the acres that surround the convent. We cannot wait to return, this time for a few days not just the one night. The hosts looked after our children whiel my wife and I relaxed and enjoyed all that is on offer for grown ups. First class!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review of our property. I know that Maria and Denham enjoyed your company and we hope that you will come back and see us again in the future. Thank you as well for sending through the link of a possible tour company for us to work with, greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Beautiful is the only way to describe the drive down the tree lined driveway to a gorgeous homestead. Maria was there to greet us. What a gem this lady is - she can't do enough to make your stay perfect and her breakfasts were excellent. We had complete access to the wine in the bar area and were joined by the owner Denham who is as interesting as his property. The St Mary wine was amazingly good and such interesting stories shared by Denham at " wine o'clock " certainly added a personal touch. Maria and Denham were excellent hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. They recommended the best restaurants and wineries. Denham even organised bringing Lucy the Lamb on a leash to see us after we said we would love to see the 8 week old lamb. Our 3 nights there were lovely and the accommodation is of a very high quality - towels, sheets, cleanliness (actually spotless), just everything right down to maintenance. The photos on the website are very true - in fact more picturesque. I will add one photo showing the beautiful Lucy!!
We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and Denham and Maria I know enjoyed your company as well. Lucy sheep is doing well and is now busy keeping the grass up at Denham's cottage nice and short! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
3.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
3.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
354 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
268 reviews
23.0 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Lodge

Property: The Marlborough Lodge
Address: 776 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand (Formerly Old Saint Mary's Convent)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marlborough Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Lodge, a luxury boutique hotel (formerly Old St Mary's Convent), has been fully renovated and refurbished and is now offers 10 luxury suites over two floors each with private ensuite. Also offered is a full time concierge, inhouse dining and 16 acres of beautiful grounds. The Lodge is a private haven located in the world-famous Marlborough wine region but is conveniently within 10 minutes of Marlborough Airport and Blenheim township. Children 10+ are welcome at the lodge, or children of all ages if the lodge is booked exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Marlborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Lodge Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing