We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Marlborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Straw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straw Lodge
Ranked #1 of 42 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Marlborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Straw Lodge while we were visiting the Marlborough region. This is a special B & B, built by the owners as part of their small winery.
They have obviosly put a lot of effort into creating a very comfortable, visually appealing place to stay.
Make sure you make use of the hot tub and barbecue area while you are there.
The room we were in was a very spacious suite that entered into a shaded patio and beyond that lawn ad vines.
The qwners go out of their way to be hospitable, with great info on the area, etc. When we were there you had the choice of contnental breakfast or cooked breakfast. Very good food. They know what they are doing.
Let me add that the wine they make is very drinkable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
103
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Straw Lodge is amazing. I highly recommend it. Nettie, Bill, Jane (and Texas) are wonderful hosts and really make you feel like you are at home. I highly recommend the platter that Jane prepares - it was delicious. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights as we toured the wineries of the Marlborough region. Without doubt it was one of the highylights of our holiday in NZ - Nettie, Bill, Jane (and Texas) are wonderful hosts and cannot do enought to help you (recommendations on restaurants, wineries etc). One night Jane prepared a platter for us to enjoy on our verandah as we watched the sunset and enjoyed a bottle of their vineyeards wines (Words End Sauvignon Blanc - do your self a favour and get some!). The breakfasts are fantastic and a wonderful start to the day as you embark on the hard task of wine tatstings! Worth every cent!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We had booked 2 nights at Straw Lodge, as a base to discover the wineries in Marlborough. It is more expensive than what we are used to pay (350 NZ$), but it is well worth it.

First, because you actually are ON a vineyard. You will even be invited to taste the wine on the night of your arrival.

Second, because Nettie, Bill and Jane are wonderful hosts and they help you choose your visits according to your preferences. For us, they booked a tour at Te Whare Ra (a nearby boutique winery – great visit with the owner) as well as a table at Herzog, where it was fully booked. They also recommended wineries that they thought we would like, and we did.

Third, because you will have free use of bicycles, which is great to do as much wine tasting as you want without risk.

The room is like a little villa with great views on the vineyard. Also, the breakfast they offer at Straw Lodge is yummy – really. If you feel like staying in, the dinner platter (75 NZ$) is also a great choice.

We loved our stay at Straw Lodge. The only thing that we could say we didn’t love is that the bathroom is rather small. But it’s nothing, really.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

My wife and I spent several nights at the Strawlodge in January of this year and it was one of the true highlights of our 10 days on the South Island of New Zealand. The hosts, Nettie and Jane, are so unbelievable and make you feel completely at home. The home and rooms are fantastic and they make your stay so incredibly relaxing. Nothing beats sitting outside your room looking at beautiful vineyards while sipping on great wine and playing with Texas, the lodge's amazing black lab. The night sky is also completely lit up by millions of stars which makes for a great time spent in the outdoor hot tub. My wife and I also biked to many nearby vineyards (the lodge provides the bikes and helmets for free) and also spent quite a bit of time chatting with the wonderful hosts who were just generally amazing people and also had a wealth of knowledge regarding the nearby activities. They convinced us to do an all day hike along Queen Charlotte Sound which we were so happy for because it was one of the highlights of our trip. The lodge also has an outdoor bbq which we enjoyed one evening when we didn't feel like going out to dinner. We truly can't recommend Strawlodge enough and are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed at the Straw Lodge for a couple of days in the beginning of November. It was the most memorable and fantastic experience of our trip to NZ. The hosts Nettie and Jane very very gracious and friendly. We would highly recommend a stay at the Straw Lodge if you plan to visit Blenheim and the wine producers.

Make sure you have breakfast at the lodge. I won't say much and let the pictures do the talking.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhijeethivarekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Straw Lodge was the perfect place for us to start our honeymoon. Our room looked out on the Straw Lodge vineyards and mountains - a beautiful and peaceful setting. We were treated like family by Nettie, Jane, and their black lab Tex - they couldn't have been nicer! Jane is also a fabulous cook. We loved our breakfasts! Nettie and Jane were so willing to share with us their knowledge about growing grapes, the area, sustainable farming...even though I'm sure they end up saying the same things to many guests, they treated us so well we really felt like we were being welcomed like long lost family. You won't regret staying here. It's a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
5.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
10.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
8.5 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#3 of 42 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
10.8 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 42 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straw Lodge

Property: Straw Lodge
Address: 17 Fareham Lane, Blenheim 7271, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Straw Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast in a unique vineyard setting Far from the madding crowds, in the heart of Marlborough's wine district, you will find Straw Lodge Vineyard, and our very different straw-bale constructed homestead and Vineyard Suites - a very special place where rest, relaxation and rejuvenation awaits the discerning traveller. Nestled amongst organic Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir vines Visible from each suite are glorious mountain ranges, behind which the sun sets in beautiful displays of rich colours. Before you retire to your cosy king size bed, bathe in our warm spa pool at night, and gaze up at the clear skies filled with a galaxy of stars. Each private suite has a lounge and en-suite bathroom. Full sumptuous breakfast created from local produce Rise at your leisure to a treat of a continental and/or cooked breakfast, created from home grown or locally produced foods of your choice. Then set out on our pedal bikes, take your own vehicle, or book a tour through the surrounding wineries. Internet use is free of charge, as are our golf clubs, DVDs, and a bottle of wine from our vineyard! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Straw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straw Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing