We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of Straw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straw Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

With pleasure we're looking back at our stay at the Straw Lodge.
Great hospitality, unique lodge, very tasty breakfast and a stunning view, made it one of our best memories of our New Zealand holiday.
We really recommend this accommodation, but stay at least 2 nights because 1 night is definitely too short.
Some day we hope to come back again.

Regards,

Dennis, Eugenie and Julian

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
106
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were visiting Marlborough for the vineyards and wineries. Straw Lodge is a small, intimate property located in the middle of a beautiful vineyard. Location is a close 5-10 minute drive to all major wineries. Our room was cozy yet efficiently designed. The host, Trudy, is wonderful and very charming.

Room Tip: Suite 1 is at the end of the lodge and provides a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MoreFamilyTravel4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Straw Lodge is perfectly situated in the heart of the Marlborough wine region. We enjoyed a beautifully furnished, private and comfortable suite in the middle of a working vineyard. The vines were just a few paces from our patio. Trudy and Barry are charming and knowledgeable hosts, and they made our all-too-short stay a total pleasure.

Many thanks! We wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our suite, furthest from the main house, was private and gorgeous, with a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 476MikeC258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have spent 2 nights at the Straw Lodge, a wonderful vineyard in the surrounding areas of Blenheim. As of Christmas 2013 Trudy and Barry are the new owners. They are both excellent hosts.

On the evening of our arrival we had a dinner platter (75 NZD), which consisted of cheeses, salami, salmon, bread and vegetables and of course a bottle of their own Sauvignon Blanc. There is more than enough for 2 persons! This was a nice way to spent the evening on the terrace.

Trudy booked us onto a wine tour, which we would very much recommend (a 3h tour is 55 NZD).

The suite is really big and separated from the main house. Privacy is an important asset here. However, rooms are not serviced, as the host feel this is an intrusion on privacy but you can request this service without any problem. (we were unaware at first)

Highly recommendable as well to use the mountain bikes and explore the surrounding area.

Breakfast is served in the main building and is really delicious, both continental and hot offerings.

If I were to find a negative, I would say the price is a little to high compared to other b&B's: 375NZD a night, personally I would find 275-300 NZD a fair price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fly_ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had two nights at Straw Lodge after completing the Queen Charlotte Track. Trudy made us feel so welcome and had got in food for us to BBQ on our first evening as she guessed we would not want to go out to find a place to eat. On the second night she drove us to a local restaurant. The lodge is set in a vineyard with stunning views, comfortable rooms and Trudy provided a wonderful breakfast. We would love to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenstansfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

By far the nicest place we stayed in New Zealand. Trudy and Barry were exceptional hosts in every way, and first rate cooks to boot. Straw lodge is a couple of big and super comfortable rooms on a working, organic vineyard in the heart of the Marlborough region. The vines are right outside the front door and you're free to wander around and ask lots of geeky questions about how the wine is made.

It's all about the personal touch here. From the handwritten welcome blackboard to the cake Trudy baked to help us celebrate my girlfriend's 30th birthday, we felt incredibly looked after here. They even gave us a parting gift of some home-baked fudge!

I honestly can't praise this place highly enough. So, fair denizens of Tripadvisor, give boring Blenheim (with its dubiously titled "vineyard accommodation" which is nothing of the sort) a miss and rest your weary heads here among the vines instead.

We only stayed one night. I wish it could have been ten!

Room Tip: Try some of the vineyard's organic Sauvignon Blanc!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteeeeeveLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

What a pleasure it was to stay at the Straw Lodge! It was by far our favorite hotel in New Zealand. The lodge is small with only a couple of rooms so the feel of the entire experience is extremely intimate and personalized. The owners, Trudy and Barry, are unbelievably welcoming and hospitable.

Every morning begins with a custom breakfast, in our case a very American eggs, bacon, toast and juice. Afterward you can walk around the vineyard, talk with the winemaker or even use their bicycles and helmets free of charge to bike around the vineyards. Trudy and Barry even gave us a ride to Hertzog for dinner one night (that is also a treat). On clear nights, don’t forget to walk out in the backyard and look at the magnificent starry sky. It’s truly a unique experience.

The setting in the middle of the vineyard is serene and peaceful. The rooms themselves are comfortable, spacious and tasteful – and the fact that they are built out of bales of hay is so cool! All in all, staying at the Straw Lodge is a unique and special experience. We highly recommend it for anyone who is visiting Marlborough.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdbcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
5.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
10.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
8.5 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
10.8 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straw Lodge

Property: Straw Lodge
Address: 17 Fareham Lane, Blenheim 7271, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Straw Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast in a unique vineyard setting Far from the madding crowds, in the heart of Marlborough's wine district, you will find Straw Lodge Vineyard, and our very different straw-bale constructed homestead and Vineyard Suites - a very special place where rest, relaxation and rejuvenation awaits the discerning traveller. Nestled amongst organic Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir vines Visible from each suite are glorious mountain ranges, behind which the sun sets in beautiful displays of rich colours. Before you retire to your cosy king size bed, bathe in our warm spa pool at night, and gaze up at the clear skies filled with a galaxy of stars. Each private suite has a lounge and en-suite bathroom. Full sumptuous breakfast created from local produce Rise at your leisure to a treat of a continental and/or cooked breakfast, created from home grown or locally produced foods of your choice. Then set out on our pedal bikes, take your own vehicle, or book a tour through the surrounding wineries. Internet use is free of charge, as are our golf clubs, DVDs, and a bottle of wine from our vineyard! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Straw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straw Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing