We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, nice people, and adorable dog. We'll be back.”
Review of Straw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Straw Lodge
Ranked #2 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Straw Lodge is amazing. I highly recommend it. Nettie, Bill, Jane (and Texas) are wonderful hosts and really make you feel like you are at home. I highly recommend the platter that Jane prepares - it was delicious. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights as we toured the wineries of the Marlborough region. Without doubt it was one of the highylights of our holiday in NZ - Nettie, Bill, Jane (and Texas) are wonderful hosts and cannot do enought to help you (recommendations on restaurants, wineries etc). One night Jane prepared a platter for us to enjoy on our verandah as we watched the sunset and enjoyed a bottle of their vineyeards wines (Words End Sauvignon Blanc - do your self a favour and get some!). The breakfasts are fantastic and a wonderful start to the day as you embark on the hard task of wine tatstings! Worth every cent!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We had booked 2 nights at Straw Lodge, as a base to discover the wineries in Marlborough. It is more expensive than what we are used to pay (350 NZ$), but it is well worth it.

First, because you actually are ON a vineyard. You will even be invited to taste the wine on the night of your arrival.

Second, because Nettie, Bill and Jane are wonderful hosts and they help you choose your visits according to your preferences. For us, they booked a tour at Te Whare Ra (a nearby boutique winery – great visit with the owner) as well as a table at Herzog, where it was fully booked. They also recommended wineries that they thought we would like, and we did.

Third, because you will have free use of bicycles, which is great to do as much wine tasting as you want without risk.

The room is like a little villa with great views on the vineyard. Also, the breakfast they offer at Straw Lodge is yummy – really. If you feel like staying in, the dinner platter (75 NZ$) is also a great choice.

We loved our stay at Straw Lodge. The only thing that we could say we didn’t love is that the bathroom is rather small. But it’s nothing, really.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

My wife and I spent several nights at the Strawlodge in January of this year and it was one of the true highlights of our 10 days on the South Island of New Zealand. The hosts, Nettie and Jane, are so unbelievable and make you feel completely at home. The home and rooms are fantastic and they make your stay so incredibly relaxing. Nothing beats sitting outside your room looking at beautiful vineyards while sipping on great wine and playing with Texas, the lodge's amazing black lab. The night sky is also completely lit up by millions of stars which makes for a great time spent in the outdoor hot tub. My wife and I also biked to many nearby vineyards (the lodge provides the bikes and helmets for free) and also spent quite a bit of time chatting with the wonderful hosts who were just generally amazing people and also had a wealth of knowledge regarding the nearby activities. They convinced us to do an all day hike along Queen Charlotte Sound which we were so happy for because it was one of the highlights of our trip. The lodge also has an outdoor bbq which we enjoyed one evening when we didn't feel like going out to dinner. We truly can't recommend Strawlodge enough and are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed at the Straw Lodge for a couple of days in the beginning of November. It was the most memorable and fantastic experience of our trip to NZ. The hosts Nettie and Jane very very gracious and friendly. We would highly recommend a stay at the Straw Lodge if you plan to visit Blenheim and the wine producers.

Make sure you have breakfast at the lodge. I won't say much and let the pictures do the talking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhijeethivarekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Straw Lodge was the perfect place for us to start our honeymoon. Our room looked out on the Straw Lodge vineyards and mountains - a beautiful and peaceful setting. We were treated like family by Nettie, Jane, and their black lab Tex - they couldn't have been nicer! Jane is also a fabulous cook. We loved our breakfasts! Nettie and Jane were so willing to share with us their knowledge about growing grapes, the area, sustainable farming...even though I'm sure they end up saying the same things to many guests, they treated us so well we really felt like we were being welcomed like long lost family. You won't regret staying here. It's a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We were greeted by an adorable black lab with a toy in his mouth, tail wagging and innkeepers who pay attention to every detail! Rooms were comfortable and had a great view of the vineyard. The food was wonderful! And we were treated to a stroll through the vineyard with the owners who taught us about growing grapes!! We want to go back again. Nice, casual atmosphere!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfriedery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
10.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
655 reviews
5.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
8.5 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
10.8 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 43 in Blenheim
90 reviews
9 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#3 of 43 in Blenheim
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straw Lodge

Address: 17 Fareham Lane, Blenheim 7271, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range: £180 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Straw Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast in a unique vineyard setting Far from the madding crowds, in the heart of Marlborough's wine district, you will find Straw Lodge Vineyard, and our very different straw-bale constructed homestead and Vineyard Suites - a very special place where rest, relaxation and rejuvenation awaits the discerning traveller. Nestled amongst organic Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir vines Visible from each suite are glorious mountain ranges, behind which the sun sets in beautiful displays of rich colours. Before you retire to your cosy king size bed, bathe in our warm spa pool at night, and gaze up at the clear skies filled with a galaxy of stars. Each private suite has a lounge and en-suite bathroom. Full sumptuous breakfast created from local produce Rise at your leisure to a treat of a continental and/or cooked breakfast, created from home grown or locally produced foods of your choice. Then set out on our pedal bikes, take your own vehicle, or book a tour through the surrounding wineries. Internet use is free of charge, as are our golf clubs, DVDs, and a bottle of wine from our vineyard! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Straw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straw Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing