We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely experience”
Review of Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial Motel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely experience”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our 2 night stay in Blenheim was made more enjoyable because we had chosen this great motel. Owners Peter and Shona were incredibly friendly and informative, as well as really approachable. Our motel room was at the back of the block, away from the main road, and we had a car-port right outside our room. The room was really clean and condiments were restocked daily. I had numerous chats to Peter who showed a genuine interest in our stay and gave our toddler attention, being a grandfather himself. We had a 2 bedroom unit and there was a terrific open-plan kitchen, lounge and dining area. Bathroom was small but very clean. Within the complex was a BBQ, a cubby house and an outdoor swimming pool (the swimming pool we did not use as it wasn't the right weather). We were also offered the complimentary loan of DVDs for our son. Motel was on same road as New World supermarket, and was only a short walk to town centre. Overall a really lovely experience and a great accommodation choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you Louise for your lovely remarks about your stay at our motel.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to host you and the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
33
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South east
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at the Colonial for two separate nights as we travelled south, then back north on the South Island. We booked the second night following our first experience.

We found the accomodation to be spacious, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The kitchenette areas were very well equipped and the bathroom areas ideal.

The Manager was extremely helpful and we greatly benefited from his local knowledge and information on the area.

The motel is close to the highway, but so are most of the other motels in the area, and there isn't much traffic later in the evening anyway.

Having stayed in about 15 motels in New Zealand during February and March I have no hesitation in saying this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Phone the motel and discuss your needs with the Manger. He is a very friendly, helpful guy, and appr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueboySoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
We would just like to express our appreciation for your very kind comments regarding our motel and hospitality.
It was a pleasure to have you stay on the 2 occasions and hope that we may see you here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Comfortable room with shared balcony, well equiped kitchen but the room not as spacious as some. The management were very friendly and helpful. Being on the main road to Picton meant a fair amount of passing trucks, although the traffic noise was not too bad. A short walk to the town centre (about 6 minutes). A pleasant stay.

Room Tip: An upstairs room seemed to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your comments about your pleasant stay in our motel. It is good to have the feedback and it would be nice to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Motel is very good, you get what you pay for. Very comfortable and the management is very friendly and helpful. Recommended accomodation. They even helped me with local knowledge regarding the surrounding attractions in the region.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yearsandmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about our hospitality and the comfortable units.
Your review has been really helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The owners are helpful, the room was tidy and clean and has the facilities you would expect at this level of motel. There was a pool and outside seating areas. Recommended for a night or two stay. The beds are a little uncomfortable, but i guess this is expected

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azzawebbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your positive comments on your stay on New Year' Eve as we do find the reviews helpful. Glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westport
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2011

the motel was in a very good spot was close to everything. was very tidy and comfortable. our hosts were very nice and i would recommend this motel .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carashinlgeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The motel is situated on a main road in the middle of an area of small industries. The motel was good however and provided all the amenities that were necssary including the use of a secluded swimming pool.

Bedroom was separate from sitting room/kitchen area.

Motel provides a good base for visiting vineyards. Try hiring a bike for the day - no worries about drink/drive laws.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmSWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
617 reviews
3.1 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
346 reviews
1.7 mi away
Middle Park Motel
Middle Park Motel
#11 of 32 in Blenheim
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Property: Colonial Motel
Address: 66 Main Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonial Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Motel is a 10 unit accommodation provider with a 4 star Qualmark rating. We have 3 Studios, 4 Two bedroom units, 2 One bedroom units and a Three bedroom unit, all of which are fully self contained with full kitchens. Guests can enjoy free WiFi,free DVD library,Sky TV,a swimming pool as well as a playhouse for the children. A portable BBQ can be placed outside your unit. A laundry is available for guest use. Continental and cooked breakfasts can be ordered and delivered to your room along with a complimentary newspaper. Within a short walking distance you will find a Restaurant,Dairy,Fish & Chip Shop,New World Supermarket,Stadium and CBD. We supply you with maps and information to help you with your exploration of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Blenheim
Colonial Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing