We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonehaven Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonehaven Homestay
Ranked #6 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We were only in town a short time and Paulette and John were amazing hosts and made sure we had a fantastic time in Blenheim. The house is gorgeous and in such a gorgeous setting. Paulette and John make you feel very comfortable in their home and it was a pleasure to stay.

Breakfast was certainly the highlight of our days and we even managed to take some amazing home cooked muffins for our onward drive.

Rooms were great, each with a small fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and at the end of the night, a nice glass of sherry on the house. The perfect way to end a day of sightseeing!

We would not hesitate recommending Stonehaven to friends travelling in the area, it was brilliant!
Mel and Margot

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e_e_mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
132
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Stonehaven. We stayed two nights in March for our honeymoon in New Zealand. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trips. The hosts were phenomenal. They were kind, accommodating and excellent company! Our room was stunning. Beautiful, clean, quiet, and with a view that was memorable. We opted to do dinner one night at Stonehaven, based on the reviews. My husband and I are food connoisseurs; we are definitely willing to pay top dollar for phenomenal food. I can honestly say that we both agreed that the dinner was one of the bests we have ever had...we feasted on tomato soup, venison, and Pavlova. Paulette is an incredible cook. She even gave us the recipes for a few of the items! The wine pairings were perfect as well. Breakfast was also incredible. It was nice to have the hosts dine with us, which you don't normally get elsewhere. It really made us feel welcome in their home. We could not have stayed anywhere better. We will definitely be returning when we come back to New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faulknernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

LOOKING for the perfect location, perfect accommodation and the perfect hosts in one of the most beautiful parts of the world, let alone New Zealand, then the Sonehaven Homestay is just.... well, perfect. John and Paulette will ensure that your visit to their lovely home wants for nothing.
It is rare to stay somewhere and not be able to think of how it could be improved but Stonehaven ticks all the boxes from the luxurious bedrooms and bathrooms to the sumptuous dinners provided if required... and you would be a fool to miss them.
PHILIP RISING

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILIPRISING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

All four of us agreed that even TV's Hotel Inspector couldn't find anything to fault at this magnificent home in the heart of the Marlborough wine country.
Paulette's food was as magnificent as the wines from John's cellar, which we helped to choose at dinner times, and the produce from his garden.
The decor of the rooms was the ultimate in good taste. You almost couldn't wait to go to bed at night - or to get up in the morning, look out at the vineyards and mountains and watch the rabbits on the lawn.
It was so sociable to have Paulette and John join us for meals and they really made us feel at home. We stayed for three days - a week would have been better.
You can also hire a bike or scooter to explore the area.

Room Tip: Only half an hour from the Picton ferry north
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frosty054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

Paulette and John really want you to feel at home and ensure that you are made welcome and free to use the house not just your room. We were the only guests for our two night stay and our room was superb, Breakfast in the room by the pool was lovely, we were happy with continental style but Paulette would have cooked anything we wanted. Fresh grapefruit from the tree and strawberries from the garden with home made preserves.
Plenty of help planning our day and advice for the route for our onward journey.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian190817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenilworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed two nights with John and Paulette and wished it had been more. They have a fabulous home that they share and are lovely people. Paullette cooked for us both nights - a great cook and John looked after the wine side of things - also excellent! Their advise and friendship during our stay was most appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed three nights at Stonehaven and on arrival were made immediately at home. The owners share their home making you very welcome and are a mind of information on the area. The house is immaculate with bedrooms equiped with a first class en suite bathroom, television and tea and coffee making facilities.
We were offered dinner on two of the nights and John then owner asked if we would like to purchase a bottle of wine. His wine cellar would make many supermarkets envious. Again he offered first class advice on a choice to complement the meal. And what a meal was available. I only wished his wife was available to cook all my meals.
The location is ideal for visits to the vineyards and bikes are available for hire from the homestay, we however decided to be taken on a tour and this was organised by the owners.
I feel you would be hard pressed to find better accommodation in New Zealand and would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
3.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
4.3 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 24 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.1 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehaven Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Homestay

Property: Stonehaven Homestay
Address: 414 Rapaura Road | Fairhall, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonehaven Homestay 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property on which Stonehaven was located sold recently. Stonehaven is relocating to new, purpose-built premises at Fairhall, Blenheim, Marlborough and will be reopening on September 1st 2017. Come an experience the same generous Kiwi hospitality with the same hosts, Paulette and John, at a new loctaion with the same stunning vineyard and mountain views and close proximity to the region's most outstanding wineries. Stonehaven will be offering a 2 room guest suite catering for one or two couples. We look forward to welcoming you to our new home in the summer of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Stonehaven Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehaven Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing