We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost heaven in Blenheim” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonehaven Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonehaven Homestay
Ranked #6 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost heaven in Blenheim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

My wife & I have recently returned from a self planned world trip.
We stayed in ALL types of accommodation from 5 star resorts to
BB's in 80 nights in & 8 countries. Without a shadow of a doubt the best welcome and the best of everything was had in Stonehaven
Homestay. I am surprised that anyone can get a reservation at any time because there are only 3 beautifully appointed suites. It really is a place that every discerning traveller should visit. We met some very interesting fellow guests at their fabulous breakfast. Anyone seriously thinking of getting involved in this type of business must visit this place and found out " how it should be done ". To John & Paulette my sincere thanks for two outstanding nights.
We live in Bermuda where it is stated " bermudians are the friendliest people " Stonehaven is as friendly as any Bermuda welcome!

  • Liked — Everything 1st class
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stradey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
132
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

We stayed with John and Paulette for two nights in February and would like to reassure anyone researching accommodation in Blenheim that they will not be disappointed if they chose Stonehaven. I knew by the letters and advice I received from Paulette before our stay that we were going to love it and we were not disappointed. We agree with all of the wonderful things that have been said about John and Paulette, the warm reception, the conversation, the beautiful rooms and the fantastic breakfasts. Paulette even sent us on our hike on the Queen Charlotte Track with some of her home baked muffins. We left Blenheim knowing that we had made some new friends and we hope that some day we will have the opportunity to stay with them again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SueandBlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Waltham Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

From Pat and Roy Terry, Bishops Waltham Hampshire.

We stayed at Stonehaven on February 22nd/23rd 2008 and
we had a great welcome from Paulette and John and were delighted with the accommodation set in the midst of Blenheim Vineyards.

Our room was extremely comfortable with wonderfull views across the Vineyard.

Breakfast was sumptious with a wide choice of dishes from continental to hearty cooked meals set in a wonderfull breakfast room overlooking the pool.

The initial welcome was matched by the caring and warm hospitality we enjoyed during our stay.

In the 7 weeks we were travelling this was our favourite.

Paulette and John are wonderfull hosts and our 2 nights went by
far too quickly.

In a word , Historic!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Northbrook35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

As soon as we arrived at Stonehaven and received a very warm welcome from John and Paulette we knew we had found a little gem. We were invited to make full use of their beautiful home of which included a secluded swimming pool surrounded by wonderful gardens. The accommodation was first class with very comfortable beds and beautiful bedding. Paulette's breakfast were the best all cooked to order, and how we miss her freshly made muffins every morning. Dinner was wonderful, again cooked by the amazing Paulette and John provided the wine from his excellant cellar, it was a real treat after being out for the day. Stonehaven is ideally situated amongst the vineyards and is perfectly located for excursions to the Marlborough sounds, Nelson, Havelock, whale watching at Kaikora and of course winetasting. So don't stay for one night, we stayed for seven and would have loved to have stayed longer - we will return! B & P

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pauly_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2008

I’d like to preface our review by noting that, during our 17-day trip to NZ, my husband and I stayed at 9 different accommodations throughout the South Island. That being said, my husband and I were quick to agree: Stonehaven was by far our favorite accommodation of the trip- whether B&B, Boutique, or Cottage.
Hosts John and Paulette (and black lab Bessie) have a wonderful home- both comfortable and warm- which is only rivaled by the genuine warmth they show to all of their guests. Due to our itinerary, we regrettably could only spend 2 nights at Stonehaven. When we had to leave- as if leaving close family- we truly hoped we would return soon!
Stonehaven is very conveniently located a short bike ride or drive to many local wineries including fantastic lunch spots and dinner options. Our advice; however, is to bypass the overpriced Herzog degustation meal in exchange for dining-in at Stonehaven
1) Bigger portions.
2) Better conversation
3) Absolutely wonderful meal by the marvelous Paulette who is an incredible cook!
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal of NZ green lipped mussels and lamb, made perfect by the great wine pairings.
The room in which we stayed had a comfortable bed, large ensuite bathroom; was smartly decorated and very clean. The view across the vineyard towards the mountains was spectacular. Breakfast at Stonehaven was another treat beyond our expectations - one of the many highlights of our stay (kudos again to Paulette’s talent in the kitchen!) All in all- we can only give highest recommendations to this fantastic stay.

An extra note: being a younger couple in our 20s, my husband and I both agree that at a few other accommodations, we sometimes sensed a little less “warmth” from some of the hosts with which we came in contact. Perhaps we imagined the inauthentic feelings we felt, or perhaps these were exhibited equally towards all patrons by the particular host, but NOT SO at Stonehaven. We experienced the most genuine of friendliness and graciousness to each guest, a quality that would bring us back again to stay at Stonehaven in a flash!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer (but this was due to our own scheduling issues)
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lyandoli24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2008

Situated in the middle of a vineyard in the heart of New Zealand's Marlborough wine district, Stonehaven VIneyard Homestay is a surprisingly affordable (considering the quality of the homestay experience) accommodation. The hosts, John and Paulette, are perfectly wonderful folks who treat each guest as if he or she is the only person in the house. Conversation, local information and a glass of some of the wonderful and largely undiscovered or unavailable wines are offered to the weary traveler by John as well as information about the local wineries to tour. And the breakfasts! They are glorious in presentation, nutrition and taste. Paulette is a gifted cook and the table groans with copious amounts of tasty morsels. In a month of tramping around both islands this was the high point in luxury and comfort without giving away the farm and selling the kids into slavery. We give this house our highest possible and unqualified recommendation.

  • Liked — Our hosts
  • Disliked — Had to leave!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tempelritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2008

Be prepared for a relaxing, wonderful New Zealand experience at Stonehaven, which was by far our favorite lodging in NZ. We unfortunately were only there for one night. John and Paulette are incredible hosts. They anticipate your every need, and make you feel more than at home. In addition to the included fabulous breakfast, we highly recommend having dinner as well. Paulette is an incredible cook! You will be impressed by the beauty of Stonehaven, especially John's garden. Also the cleanliness - the windows are Spotless!!! (If you're lucky, Paulette may share her secret). You can also rent bikes for the day from John to explore the nearby wineries. If you don't taste anything you like at the wineries, John also has a lovely cellar from which you can select a bottle to go with dinner.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wild07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
3.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
4.3 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 24 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
4.1 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehaven Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Homestay

Property: Stonehaven Homestay
Address: 414 Rapaura Road | Fairhall, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonehaven Homestay 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property on which Stonehaven was located sold recently. Stonehaven is relocating to new, purpose-built premises at Fairhall, Blenheim, Marlborough and will be reopening on September 1st 2017. Come an experience the same generous Kiwi hospitality with the same hosts, Paulette and John, at a new loctaion with the same stunning vineyard and mountain views and close proximity to the region's most outstanding wineries. Stonehaven will be offering a 2 room guest suite catering for one or two couples. We look forward to welcoming you to our new home in the summer of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Stonehaven Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehaven Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing