We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accomidation! Plus dinner was amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stonehaven Homestay
Ranked #6 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful accomidation! Plus dinner was amazing!”
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My parents, partner and I stayed with Paulette and John this past week and I must say that I created an account on trip advisor just to be able to write this review. It was a highlight to our trip! Paulette and John are both very modest... they run the homestay because they enjoy it and it really shows. The house is in the most beautiful location nestled between wine vines. It is beautifully kept and the grounds are just amazing. They offer a range of services that they do not heavily advertise becuase they dont want guests to feel pressured, such as bike rentals, they can organize wine tours and you can even have a home cooked meal for dinner! When we arrived Paulette welcomed us with tea and home made cookies. The cookies were so amazing that we asked to have dinner with her and John. She made the most wonderful Tomato soup, rack of lamb and pavlova for desert. I can honestly say it has been one of the best meals in NZ! John helped us pick out a few bottles of wine from his wine collection. In between cooking and us having dinner, Paullette even managed to sneak up stairs and turn down our beds, adorning each with a chocolate! Breakfast was lovely with a home cooked hot meal included with the price of our stay. Great value for money! I cannot say enough wonderful things about Stonehaven, Paulette and John. If you are ever going to be in that area do go without staying at Stonehaven!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KADOtravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
132
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

This review is much overdue, but we feel compelled to post the most favorable review as Paulette and John provided us with the best B&B experience we have ever had. The locfation is sublime - surrounded by vineyards which are easily reached via car or bicycle (which can be rented from P&J). We did have a suburb home-cooked meal per our request for Green-Lipped Mussels and Rack of NZ Lamb plus a stupendous selection of wines from their cellar. We strongly suggest that anyone looking for a Marlborough location with the most welcoming hosts that we have ever come across in our travels. I would put Paulette's concierge-type service up against any 5-star hotel - she was able to find unique experiences for our journey (example: finding us an artist who specializes in NZ bone-carving, providing a memorable souvenir gift to bring home).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontneufparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middx London
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

On arrival here we were warmly welcomed by our hosts Paulette and John who showed us to our room with a view then made us welcome with tea and homemade cookies (to die for!) Our room had a balcony looking out over the mountains and vineyards and was one of the very best places we stayed whilst in NZ. Everything you could need was in our room including decanters of port and sherry along with tea,coffee and the cookies. The grounds were beautiful there was a pool but too early in season to use it!
Breakfast was served in a separate breakfast room and everyone ate together. Cooked breakfast was individually prepared according to your tastes. Freshly squeezed orange juice (from their own orange trees) and freshly baked muffins added to this delicious breakfast. John has an enormous store of stories to tell and once he starts it's difficult to stop him and get away for the day! Do have one meal whilst there which you choose 24 hrs in advance cooked to perfection by Paulette. We had venison and it was just amazing. You go down into their cellar and choose your wine with his guidance. Then you have a wonderful evening with them eating and drinking. To finish he wanted us to try his "chocolate" port !! Be ware !!! They are great hosts and really enjoy having people to stay nothing is too much trouble for them Internet access is there for guests to use for free as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Thank you - we were very impressed. John and Paulette both made us feel very welcome and gave us excellent advice. The room was clean and comfortable (with an attention for detail); breakfast was great. It's a pity we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CutePossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon and it was my husband's favourite place of the trip. Paulette and John 's hospitality was outstanding and John was very knowledgeable about wine, which vineyards to visit, etc. They both had so many great recommendations for the rest of our trip also. The house is quite large, so you don't feel that you are in the way of the hosts in the slightest. The room is very comfortable with a great view over the vineyards. Also, the breakfast was amazing!! Homemade jams, muffins, juices, plus a hot breakfast. Paulette is an excellent cook.

There are several excellent restaurants located at wineries nearby.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed at Paulette and John's after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we couldn't agree more that this was a fantastic place to stay. Set in the middle of a vineyard in the heart of Marlborough - the perfect place to go wine tasting from. Paulette and John were so welcoming and knowledgable about the area - definately go to the avaition museum!
We stayed in for dinner one night which was amazing - Paulette is a brilliant cook. And John chose the wine from his cellar - excellent choices.
Would definately recommend to anyone going to Marlborough!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank english123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I absolutely loved, loved, loved staying with Paulette and John. They are magnificent hosts and Paulette is a FABULOUS cook. This was truly a highlight of my excursion in NZ. The property is set in a vineyard amongst the grapes and piece and quiet. I stayed in the room with the queen bed which had a beautiful and spacious en suite bathroom. There isn’t one thing that I can think of that wasn’t remarkable. Also, for what you get the price is VERY reasonable. They are extremely knowledgeable about NZ and were able to provide me with some very good advice! Also, if you bring your own computer they have free wi-fi for guest and if you didn't they have a computer for guests to use.

I will go back on my next trip to NZ!! I wish I would have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenladyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
3.8 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
350 reviews
3.0 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
87 reviews
6.9 mi away
Straw Lodge
Straw Lodge
#1 of 43 in Blenheim
145 reviews
4.1 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Blenheim
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehaven Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Homestay

Property: Stonehaven Homestay
Address: 414 Rapaura Road | Fairhall, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonehaven Homestay 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property on which Stonehaven was located sold recently. Stonehaven is relocating to new, purpose-built premises at Fairhall, Blenheim, Marlborough and will be reopening on September 1st 2017. Come an experience the same generous Kiwi hospitality with the same hosts, Paulette and John, at a new loctaion with the same stunning vineyard and mountain views and close proximity to the region's most outstanding wineries. Stonehaven will be offering a 2 room guest suite catering for one or two couples. We look forward to welcoming you to our new home in the summer of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stonehaven Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehaven Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing