We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give the Peking Duck a pass”
Review of Fan's Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Fan's Chinese Restaurant
Price range: US$11 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are group of Real Chinese people who want to provide Real Chinese food to our customers. If you like traditional Chinese food, then try us. Unfortunately we still have to ask our customers to pay the bills, however the only thing we could make sure that you will pay with smiles.
Timaru
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Give the Peking Duck a pass”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We went here on the recommendation of a friend specifically to try the Peking Duck, which we had ordered days in advance. Big mistake.

It started well with a warm and friendly greeting at the door. The decor is pretty basic but clean and tidy. After a few nibbles (with the smallest springs rolls I have ever seen), it was on to the duck. We had ordered a whole duck for the 2 of us and expected it to be carved at the table. What came from the kitchen was 2 plates of greasy duck meat with no sign of the lovely crisp skin that makes Peking Duck special. And if the 2 plates of duck meet were all that was left of a whole duck, it must have been one of the smallest ducks I have ever seen. It was certainly not worth the significant premium charged.

The other tables had the good sense to order off the standard chinese menu and they seemed happy enough. I only wish we had done the same.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank golerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a great place, fantastic food and attentive service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great little place. The manager is amazing, such a friendly guy. The food was awesome and very reasonably priced. Would recommend to anyone who loves authentic Chinese food. Well done guys. 10/10

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best service, best food in Blenheim”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Best service, best food in Blenheim. Always have enjoyable time here, the lovely owner always has a smile,best service ever.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Knightsbridgecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Really well priced and great food. Only ever got takeaway but each time it's been great. Quick waiting time too which is a bonus

Helpful?
2 Thank Regan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lei Z, Manager at Fan's Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
thanks for enjoy our service and meal here and it is always our honer to provide you with our best service and food. your enjoyment is always a bonus for us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a fab meal @ Fans on Sat eve, 25 of us for Mums 90th B/day we choose the set menu as it was easier for all would recommend this the Peking Duck was a great treat, great food & service yum we'll be back for sure .... thanks Lei for your attention to detail, see you again soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank purplelilac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lei Z, Manager at Fan's Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
it is great honor for us that holding the such special event for you and more important is your enjoyment in our restaurant. thanks you and looking forward to provide service to you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fan's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing