We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food in town!!”

Mango Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #21 of 115 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food in town!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Mango is by far the best Indian food i have had, the staff was very friendly and welcoming, the restaurant was very well presented with bright colours. We ordered the butter chicken and the mango saffron chicken, both the meals were awesome! and was affordable. i really recommened Mango!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    76
    23
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful Food”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The food at the Mango Restaurant was amazing! Fresh and flavorful food cooked to perfection. Best and most authentic Indian food I have had in New Zealand. The service was well above and beyond. We did not wait long for our food. The staff was extremely friendly and polite. The restaurant supports local wineries and fresh local produce. Local food and wine producers benefit as do patrons. It has a relaxing atmosphere where one can enjoy a quiet beautiful dinner even when fully booked. Pricing is reasonable and a good value for an authentic delicious meal. I highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelin2nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
249 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Best Indian”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I've had a few curries in my time, from all sorts of places, but this really rates especially for the price

The flavours were exceptional, and the meal was beautifully presented, lots of colours. Portion size was good, especially if you take the plunge and get both rice and naan bread. We'd really recommend the Hariyali chicken, yummy.

The location is great; in the centre of Blenheim, the decor has been done well, and the people at big tables in the back room seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Service was great, and the waitress Sarah was really helpful. All in all a great meal and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andye10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We rolled into Blenheim at about 8pm on a weeknight, having flown into Christchurch, got our hire car, and headed straight up the highway. It was just on dark, raining a little and we needed a quick meal before heading out to the cottage we'd booked. We pulled over to get our bearings and found ourselves right outside Mango, so thought we'd give it a try. The owner served us and couldn't have been more hospitable. Our Aussie mobile phones weren't working over here yet, so I asked about a public phone so I could ring ahead to our accommodation about our expected arrival time. The owner gladly offered up his phone for our use, which was just lovely of him. It was just a little thing, but so very willingly done; it was genuinely appreciated and meant I could relax over my meal. We had samosas and onion bhaji for entrees, followed by a superb, authentic beef rendang and palak paneer. The Wither Hills Sauvignon Blanc matched the dishes beautifully. We're only here for a week but will absolutely be going back before we leave!

Helpful?
Thank Ellyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mango B, Manager at Mango Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks for your time you spent to reviewing us.
We at Mango always try to give our best to make your stay most enjoyable.
Thanks and we welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Decent food, frustrating service ”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We booked out the back room on a Saturday night. The back room is a nice atmosphere for a large group.

The problems started with the waiter. We all sat for an hour before our orders were taken. His approach to taking our orders was to shout out "who wants buttered chicken?". So we all had to awkwardly put our hands up if we wanted it as opposed to just taking each order separately. This caused confusion over who wants mild, hot etc. He made the same approach with taking orders for rice and other meals. Many of us didn't order entrees that we wanted as we were to shy to call out while the waiter was shouting "who wants chicken korma?".

The food is decent, just a poor, frustrating way of taking orders that left us all annoyed.

We all arrived at 7pm and didn't receive our food until 8:45pm

If the service was better this would be an awesome place. Has a great look and feel.

Helpful?
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Mango Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing