We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, NZ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have stayed at the Chateau Marlborough three times over the last few years. It is ideal for our needs - very comfortable bed, good sized room, lovely toiletries, free wifi, good kitchen facilities. We have also stayed in a suite which was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough, we always appreciate receiving guest feedback and it is great to know you enjoy staying with us as the Chateau meets all your needs. we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    214
    94
    18
    12
See reviews for
59
360
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here overnight to visit the wineries and catch the ferry back to Wellington. It is a motel, my room had been renovated and was nice with a small kitchen with everything you could need in it and a nice bathroom. My friend's room was unrenovated and she said was pretty basic. We asked for rooms next to each other when booking and when checking in was told we had interconnecting doors. Great we thought, except when we got into the rooms there was furniture covering the door in my friends room! It is on a main road but very quiet. Weird musak coming through the ceiling but could be turned off (or down). Free wi-fi but only on one thing at a time (either ipad or phone but not both) and then very weak. Staff were awesome, helpful and very very welcoming, it is the staff that make this hotel! I would stay again if in Blenheim.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackjenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. As you are aware, we are in the process of upgrading bathrooms in our Deluxe Studio Suites. Apologies for the fact that the interconnecting door was not opened for you on arrival. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

reasonable sized room at back of complex but a bit dark and tired looking. It was clean, th bed was comfortable and amenities fine. The piped 'musak' into every room could be turned down but even at 'minimum' volume was still audible and was very irritating. Wi fi access temperamental but staff helpful - even if unable to sort.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the ground floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnett-the-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of upgrading Deluxe Studio Suites so I do hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Your comments are appreciated as this does help us improve our service to all out guests.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Of the ten hotels we stayed in during our two week trip to New Zealand (both north and south islands), this was the best. The room was clean and well designed, the beds were good, breakfast was excellent --- just a great place to spend an evening and recover from traveling. And, unlike most New Zealand hotels, Chateau Marlborough provided free wi-fi to its guests, so it was possible to catch up on email, review the news and plug back into the wider world.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate our guest comments and to hear that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I'm not sure how this place got a 5-star rating. It is simply a slightly fading 3.5 star business hotel/large motor inn, with a few of the more noticeable but actually minor accoutrements of "luxury" sprinkled around to gloss over the fact it's actually quite dated, and some very cheesy add-on architecture to make it a "Chateau".

Our room wasn't ready at 11am - surprising, but perhaps understandable on a long weekend. The staff member was genuinely polite and helpful in giving us directions to a local attraction. It's a shame he was wrong and we were lucky enough to spot signs on the side of the road to direct us. Why he didn't know I'm not sure - it's probably the largest tourist attraction in what is a fairly small town - definitely the only non-vineyard attraction.

The room also wasn't as advertised. "One-bedroom" in the name implies a suite, not studio. What we got was something that looked like a standard hotel room, perhaps slightly larger, with a very bleak and dated kitchenette. The furnishings, bedding and bathroom were all very dated. This was their third of five room categories, so who knows what the lower categories are like. This particular room was facing the road on the ground floor, so we asked to be moved. The staff were helpful, and another ground floor room facing the courtyard and pool was found. This room had equally dated decor, and seemed to be of a lesser category (smaller, and an even more bleak and tiny kitchenette), though we were assured it was the same category. But, it wasn't facing the road, so we took it. Still not much privacy - the way the curtains were arranged meant you could have privacy or daylight, but not both. No thin or translucent curtains, only thick heavy ones that let everyone see in when open much more than a crack, and darken the room almost completely when closed.

Anyway, reading this probably makes me sounds like a moaner, or the hotel the worst place in the world. Neither is true, and would be an exaggeration. But I couldn't recommend someone to stay here. They either need to make their prices more realistic, or renovate their rooms to be in keeping with their pretensions of boutique/luxury. The staff are friendly enough, and helpful in a hopeless, slightly bumbling way.

The hotel also briefly lost our bags. We left them in the care of the hotel when we were advised we were too early for check in. When we returned to take our room late in the afternoon, the hotel couldn't find our bags. They hadn't been placed in the room, and weren't in the first two places the staff looked. The staff assured us they were definitely on-site (no kidding pal, we know that, we're the ones that left them here). They were actually found fairly quickly, but it was hardly reassuring - it's not a big busy hotel.

Room Tip: The one bedroom luxury suites (we saw rooms 6 and 12) were poor value. Perhaps the cheaper or more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60JamesG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate this as it assists us in improving our guests experience here at the Chateau Marlborough. It is disappointing to hear that your expectations were not met on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have stayed at Marlborough Chateau twice now, most recently last week. We booked a one-bedroom suite, which was extremely spacious. The kitchen is well equipped with microwave, dishwasher etc. There was a lovely decanter of port and 2 glasses each night on the kitchen benchtop. The walk in robe was fantastic and allowed us to unpack everything and store the suitcases in there too. The bathroom was large and the spa bath was very welcome after a hard day's wine tasting! Breakfast was very good, and the restaurant is ambient and well served. The entire hotel goes over and above in every area. Very modern and clean and perfectly located to the lovely little town of Blenheim. We would stay there on every visit to Blenheim.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more on a one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at Chateau Marlborough. We really value our guest feedback and are delighted that you find the hotel to consistently meet your needs and be your hotel of choice. We do look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Kind rgards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed two nights at this boutique hotel in Blenheim, in order to do a wine tour in the Marlborough area. The hotel is very nice, modern with good sized rooms, swimming pool and good restaurant (where we ate both nights we stayed there). There is also a guest laundry room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Chateau Marlboorugh. We do appreicate receiving guest comments and are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay both with us and in the region.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#19 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Property: Chateau Marlborough
Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing