We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this just as a stopover. After a long drive from Greymouth, we got a very friendly reception greeting then headed to the bar for a quick drink. Bar staff were lovely, helpful re dinner menu and genuinely made you feel at home. Dinner was superb, mussels, lamb, chicken all beautifully cooked and presented. House red was reasonably priced and very good. Room was spacious and comfortable. We could see the hotel had been refurbished well, the only criticism is bath needs regrouping as there were signs of mould. Small point but I wouldn't have that in my bathroom at home. Otherwise this would have been a 5. Recommend, yes.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank stevesmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor. Was great to read that you found the Chateau Marlborough met your expectations with friendly and welcoming staff and our accommodation facilities. Quench Restaurant comments were wonderful and have passed this onto the team. We are in the process of upgrading our bathrooms in our Classic suites and appreciate your comments re this, however mould should not be present and I have addressed this. In general the bathrooms are dated but are kept to a very good standard. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

After viewing a number of hotels online, I finally decided to book the Chateau Marlborough for 2 nights. My husband and I were on holiday from Australia and after a long day of driving, we arrived and checked in (we weren't taken to our room and had to carry our own bags upstairs as there is no lift) but..... Once we got to the room I was pleasantly surprised. It was very spacious and we had a lovely view over the pool. Not only did we have a king size bed, we had a couch, arm chair, desk and kitchenette with everything we needed. The room was very cosy and I immediately felt at home and relaxed. We were given free wifi in the room as well, which was a bonus, as well as free car parking. The hotel is located right near the main shopping district and a easy walk to everything. I would highly recommend this place if staying in Blenheim.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Melvum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you very much for placing your feedback on trip advisor. So pleased to read that the accommodation and facilities met your expectations. Was sorry to read your weren't offered help with your bags, our staff are required to do this , however on this occasion this didn't happen. I have addressed this. Unfortunately we were without our lift for a couple of days due to a part not being available immediately. I do apologise for this. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back here when you next visit Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

After a very long series of flights from NYC, I landed in Blenheim and crashed at Chateau Marlborough. Here are my thoughts:
- The restaurant downstairs does excellent coffee (well, it's NZ, so you'd expect that) and really good food.
- The room was functional and well designed. I was there in June and it was a bit chilly so getting the heat to work was somewhat tricky. It seemed a bit drafty.
- The bed was fine. Kind of a standard bed that reminds of ones I'd find in France or England.
- Great location downtown and an easy walk to the stores and restaurants.
- Staff was super friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback after your stay at the Chateau Marlborough Hotel. Yes June can be very chilly in Marlborough but also very pretty. Great you found the staff friendly and the coffee good. We look forward to seeing you back at the Chateau on your next visit to Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We used Chateau Marlborough as the base to explore local area, which is famous for its wine. We booked a standard double room with no unrealistic expectation, just praying that it would be clean and tidy. At the time of our check-in, the front desk staff informed us that the room was renovated however the bathroom has not. To compensate for the inconvenience, we were given two breakfast vouchers to use at the hotel restaurant. I have stayed at plenty of hotels where renovation was half baked but have never been compensated for it until Chateau Marlborough. I think it was a very sweet and thoughtful gesture from the hotel and it was certainly greatly appreciated by us.
The room was on the first floor with window facing the pool area and the restaurant. I don’t quite remember whether it was a queen or king bed, but I remember there was also a full size single bed in the room (not one of those roll out beds), so it was ideal to accommodate up to 3 people comfortably. Even though the bathroom didn’t quite match the plush theme in the rest of the room, since I was fully informed by the receptionist up front and compensated for, I was fine with it. Just for the record, the bathroom was very clean, tidy, and functional. Just look dated that's all.
Due to the window facing to the pool area and the restaurant, it got quite noisy during the night (closing the window didn’t manage to block any noise). That said, once the restaurant closed and crowd was gone, it was very quiet.
The restaurant served continental breakfast with a very limited selection. We opted for cooked breakfast from the kitchen and it did not disappoint. The restaurant itself was elegant and the staff friendly and professional.
This is a hotel that I would definitely consider when revisiting Marlborough next time.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask the hotel to assign a room away from the main street and the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolyAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and Quench restaurant met your expecations. Thank you for your comment re the voucher for breakfast , we are in the process of the upgrade and we acknowledge the bathrooms that arent yet refurbished and offer this to guests that stay in these suites. Great you enjoyed the surprise. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Marlborough.
KInd Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The receptionist here made us feel at home as soon as we entered. Our room was very clean and had everything you need. The only potential negative was we faced the park and the clock starts striking at 7AM - not a problem for us but if you wanted a lie in it might be an issue?

Breakfast was a choice of serve yourself continental or a good range of food made to order. We tried both options and both were good.

We dined one evening in the hotel restaurant - the menu was perhaps a little limited but the quality was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent visit to The Chatau Marlborough. Excellent that you found the staff and facilities met your expecations, the clock can be disturbing to some guests and I do apologise for this. We welcome you back next time you are in Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very attractive looking hotel, outside very tidy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy. But in need of a makeover.
Xtractor Fan in bathroom, not working. Get out of shower was like entering a Sauna.
Old fittings in shower, obviously original. Shower was over bath. No handrail at all when exiting bath after having shower. For elderly people this would be quite dangerous.
Little cards all over the place, six in all. Giving instructions of what one can have or do.
Little card in bathroom indicating that if one wishes to have a non slip mat in the bath when having a shower, one has to go reception to get one. Little use if one has slipped over. Should be a non slip mate in the bathroom cupboard for optional use. Leave another little card with information. Holes in the shower over bath wall, looks real scruffy.
All these points were left on an evaluation sheet left in room. This was handed to reception with my name and E-Mail address. I have not had the courtesy of a reply, after seven days.

Room Tip: Check the room out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hi Thank you for placing your feedback. Lovely to read that you found the staff were friendly and helpful. With reference to the bathroom we are in the process of upgrading the classic suites which we hope to have finished within the next 12 months. This advice can be found on our website. I totally appreciate all your comments re the bathrooms . We have reflected this in the reduced room rate. We still definately meet the 5 star Criteria with the accommodation services and facilites we offer. If guests require a non slip mat reception/housekeeping would bring this to your room. The lack of promptness in responding to your in house guest survey was a result of myself being on sick leave, I do apologise for this delay Once again thank you for taking the time to place feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Blenheim.
Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Average hotel in Blenheim, stayed overnight excellent staff very friendly and helpful. Room was average and very noisy as this was a conjoined room. Was staying alone but could hear the next rooms TV for the whole night. Not very good value for money given was a similar room rate to mid class Auckland hotels, without the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in a conjoined room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for the feedback. I was so pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful, I will pass that on. Sorry that you experienced noise from the room next door. It would of been good if you had contacted our night staff so that they could of rectified this at the time. If you wish to discuss further please contact me on 0800 75 22 75 Thanks again.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
212 reviews
17.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £96 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town center. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing