We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but...........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our first impression was great! Brayden, at the front desk was so kind and incredibly helpful. It went down from there. We gladly used the $20 voucher in their Quench restaurant, (the voucher was intended to offset the fact that our bathroom was in need of a much needed facelift) which was a huge disappointment. Our server wasn't too sure of anything, even what came on one's plate with the main. We ended up with unexpected veggies , which were not anything like was described, and sadly disliked by my travel partner. The fresh catch was very fishy, and the chicken not tender. Initially, we were told we could bring our own wine, then abruptly informed that "not tonight"! Bummer! So under the table went our lovely Marlborough Sauvignon blanc,and we ordered 2 glasses of same, only to get undrinkable Oakey Chardonnay! Sent it back, and eventually got served the Sauvignon blanc, but by this time we were pretty disappointed. The last straw was when we asked for replacements for the dusty, used refillable containers of shampoo, etc, and were told we had to be in a "boutique " room to qualify for such an amenity. After 3 tries, our request for new tiny little bottles of shampoo, lotion etc, we grumpily were given one of the tiny bottles. Not great customer service.

Room Tip: Try to avoid street view rooms! We had to keep the curtains closed or look into the eyes of passers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaGirl5419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for feedback on your recent stay at the Chateau Marlborough. It was very disappointing to read your comments without having been given the opportunity to discuss your concerns whilst you were here, particularly as it was myself ( General Manager) who spent time providing you with information on wineries etc. on check in . After discussion with staff it is noted;
You received personal attention as and when required Ie: Massages booked , ringing ahead to your Christchurch accommodation to enquire re taxi charges. It appeared you dined on a Wednesday night when BYO is not available, however you were taking the opportunity to fill your wine glasses in your room and bring back to the restaurant. A genuine error by a new staff member was made when pouring Chardonnay instead of Sauvignon . I am sorry you didn't enjoy your meals, as you can see by other comments on Trip Advisor Quench Restaurant has had some wonderful feedback. With regard to the bathroom amenities we offer French Connection bathroom amenities in our Grande Suites and are in the process of putting these amenities throughout the hotel. I do apologise that there was some confusion on this it is unlike our staff to not be pleasant when guests have special request, but accept on this occasion you felt they weren't.. We pride ourselves on our great customer service and friendly staff as noted on other trip advisor feedback. Ladies, as earlier said, I would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss this with you on check out, or prior, however it was not given.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

They are Ll being upgraded. Because ours had not yet been done we received a $20 voucher to spend in the restaurant/bar, so we did.

We ate and drank and were served by pleasant staff who were chatty and helpful with lots of Kiwi/Aussie banter back and forth. Delicious seafood chowder and I thoroughly enjoyed my local cider.

Our room was more than adequate and the reception staff were helpful and pleasant. A nice touch was the call to make sure everything was in order. Thank you Fay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay here at the Chateau Marlborough. I will be sure to pass on to the Team your lovely comments re Reception and Quench. We hope to have our bathroom upgrade finished as soon as possible, however over the summer period it does slow down. I hope the Food and Beverage voucher did go some way to make up for this. Once again thank you .
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We just stayed here as part of a business trip for my husband and I tagged along. The room was beautiful and we are aware of the bathroom renovations that are happening so werent so worried about this as they were pefectly functunal. The day we arrived it was 27degrees so the room was stifling and it did take some time for the air con to kick in. Staff were incredibly friendly and well presented. We had the eggs benedict for breakfast in Quench and the presentation was beautiful. I have stayed 5 star many a time and cant really compare it to that as I feel its more an extremely beautiful motorlodge than when i have stayed in a big named hotel with the whole porter, consierge and marble bathrooms, valet parking etc but this place is nice and i love what they have done with the rooms with the bedding, curtains and the decor. It appears to be one of the nicer places in Blenheim and a handy walk to the city centre. They have a swimming pool which is fantastic so bring your swimming gear :-) For the price which was discounted with a voucher for the restaurant I felt was a bit steep and expected more for $159.00 In saying that if you want a nice clean room which is a really good size, large tv and beautiful decor then this is the place for you. Ask for a room away from the stairway and lifts so you dont get disturbed by other travellers departing so early as that was quite noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellsbytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. Was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and that your experience in Quench restaurant met your expectations . Your kind words re our décor etc are much appreciated. We have put alot of effort into the design of our rooms. It will be wonderful when the bathroom is complete , however due to high summer demand it does slow down. We are experiencing some very hot weather here and the air conditioning is a must. We look forward to seeing you back here next time you visit the Marlborough area.
KInd Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this just as a stopover. After a long drive from Greymouth, we got a very friendly reception greeting then headed to the bar for a quick drink. Bar staff were lovely, helpful re dinner menu and genuinely made you feel at home. Dinner was superb, mussels, lamb, chicken all beautifully cooked and presented. House red was reasonably priced and very good. Room was spacious and comfortable. We could see the hotel had been refurbished well, the only criticism is bath needs regrouping as there were signs of mould. Small point but I wouldn't have that in my bathroom at home. Otherwise this would have been a 5. Recommend, yes.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank stevesmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor. Was great to read that you found the Chateau Marlborough met your expectations with friendly and welcoming staff and our accommodation facilities. Quench Restaurant comments were wonderful and have passed this onto the team. We are in the process of upgrading our bathrooms in our Classic suites and appreciate your comments re this, however mould should not be present and I have addressed this. In general the bathrooms are dated but are kept to a very good standard. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

After viewing a number of hotels online, I finally decided to book the Chateau Marlborough for 2 nights. My husband and I were on holiday from Australia and after a long day of driving, we arrived and checked in (we weren't taken to our room and had to carry our own bags upstairs as there is no lift) but..... Once we got to the room I was pleasantly surprised. It was very spacious and we had a lovely view over the pool. Not only did we have a king size bed, we had a couch, arm chair, desk and kitchenette with everything we needed. The room was very cosy and I immediately felt at home and relaxed. We were given free wifi in the room as well, which was a bonus, as well as free car parking. The hotel is located right near the main shopping district and a easy walk to everything. I would highly recommend this place if staying in Blenheim.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Melvum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you very much for placing your feedback on trip advisor. So pleased to read that the accommodation and facilities met your expectations. Was sorry to read your weren't offered help with your bags, our staff are required to do this , however on this occasion this didn't happen. I have addressed this. Unfortunately we were without our lift for a couple of days due to a part not being available immediately. I do apologise for this. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back here when you next visit Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

After a very long series of flights from NYC, I landed in Blenheim and crashed at Chateau Marlborough. Here are my thoughts:
- The restaurant downstairs does excellent coffee (well, it's NZ, so you'd expect that) and really good food.
- The room was functional and well designed. I was there in June and it was a bit chilly so getting the heat to work was somewhat tricky. It seemed a bit drafty.
- The bed was fine. Kind of a standard bed that reminds of ones I'd find in France or England.
- Great location downtown and an easy walk to the stores and restaurants.
- Staff was super friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback after your stay at the Chateau Marlborough Hotel. Yes June can be very chilly in Marlborough but also very pretty. Great you found the staff friendly and the coffee good. We look forward to seeing you back at the Chateau on your next visit to Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We used Chateau Marlborough as the base to explore local area, which is famous for its wine. We booked a standard double room with no unrealistic expectation, just praying that it would be clean and tidy. At the time of our check-in, the front desk staff informed us that the room was renovated however the bathroom has not. To compensate for the inconvenience, we were given two breakfast vouchers to use at the hotel restaurant. I have stayed at plenty of hotels where renovation was half baked but have never been compensated for it until Chateau Marlborough. I think it was a very sweet and thoughtful gesture from the hotel and it was certainly greatly appreciated by us.
The room was on the first floor with window facing the pool area and the restaurant. I don’t quite remember whether it was a queen or king bed, but I remember there was also a full size single bed in the room (not one of those roll out beds), so it was ideal to accommodate up to 3 people comfortably. Even though the bathroom didn’t quite match the plush theme in the rest of the room, since I was fully informed by the receptionist up front and compensated for, I was fine with it. Just for the record, the bathroom was very clean, tidy, and functional. Just look dated that's all.
Due to the window facing to the pool area and the restaurant, it got quite noisy during the night (closing the window didn’t manage to block any noise). That said, once the restaurant closed and crowd was gone, it was very quiet.
The restaurant served continental breakfast with a very limited selection. We opted for cooked breakfast from the kitchen and it did not disappoint. The restaurant itself was elegant and the staff friendly and professional.
This is a hotel that I would definitely consider when revisiting Marlborough next time.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask the hotel to assign a room away from the main street and the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolyAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and Quench restaurant met your expecations. Thank you for your comment re the voucher for breakfast , we are in the process of the upgrade and we acknowledge the bathrooms that arent yet refurbished and offer this to guests that stay in these suites. Great you enjoyed the surprise. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Marlborough.
KInd Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#15 of 32 in Blenheim
211 reviews
17.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £96 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town center. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing