We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel so much we were compelled to write a review. From the moment we arrived the friendly staff made us feel very welcome. It's only a block from the town centre so we were able to leave our car and walk in for a look around. The suite was very spacious, modern and stylish and equipped with all the comforts and appliances. The part we stayed in looks to be brand new so the bathroom and fittings were perfect. The bed was so comfortable my only complaint is it would not fit in my suitcase to take it home! We ate at the hotel's resturant "Quench" . The staff here again were superb and the atmosphere warm and friendly. We both ate the beef fillet mignon, which was cooked to perfection. We asked if our desert could be brought up to our room afterwards, as we wished to retire and let dinner settle a little and this was of course not a problem. The next morning we used the fitness centre and were pleased to find a commercial grade treadmill, a cross trainer and exercycle, as well as a full range of free weights. This hotel lived up to it's five star reputation and was good value for money. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Chateau Marlborough. It was great to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the hotels accommodation and facilities met your expectations . I will be sure to pass onto the team your comments. We do hope to see you on your next visit to Blenheim.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband surprised me by booking a grande studio suite for the last night of our trip. We had stayed in motels the rest of the way so this was a very welcome touch of luxury. The room (#19) was a delight, with an enormous super king bed with a soft toy kiwi waiting for us to take home. I had an excellent sleep as did my husband. The bathroom was generous and the shower was excellent. I enjoyed the French Connection toiletries and the towels were large and soft. The room had good noise insulation and was equipped with a heat pump for cooling or heating as needed. The one thing I would change would be adding some sheer curtains. The room we had was on the ground floor and the motel opposite could see straight in, as could passing pedestrians or motorists. Not a major, we closed the curtains when needing to change, but it might be a nice thing to add. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie_L_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Wonderful to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Grande Suites are pure luxury they always impress our guests that choose this accommodation option. I note your comment re sheer curtains. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Blenheim.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel had a wow factor from the start. Check in was very efficient, and we were given Suite 22, which was enormous with a separate kitchenette, lounge, bedroom, bathroom with a spa bath and separate shower. Free and fast WiFi, and a free kiwi sitting on the bed!
Dinner was very good, but slow service despite only two tables being occupied. Breakfast was also good, but service again slow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Suite 22 is an amazing suite with so much luxury and space. It was disappointing to read that the service was slow, I see you stayed in November and we have been working to improve this with further staff training. We look forward to seeing you back at the Chateau if you visit the region again.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were very happy with this hotel!

Pros: great location, very friendly staff, nice accommodations, bike rentals onsite, pillow menu (select the pillow type you want), nice cosy breakfast and dinner area.

Cons: ran out of feather pillows, some bathrooms not yet renovated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us at the Chateau Marlborough. All the points mentioned are what we strive to achieve so I will be sure to pass this onto our team. If you are in Blenheim again we would love to have you stay , and again experience what the Hotel has to offer.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I wish we had found this place years ago. My trips to Blenheim have often resulted in mediocrity at best - so much so that I then drive over to Nelson in order to get a good hotel. Room quality is top notch as are the staff. Well placed so that you are a 5 minute walk into the town centre and surrounded by the top wineries. Breakfast was excellent with great service. An added extra was free wifi - rare in NZ. The building is modern and well finished, there is a quality feel throughout. We arrived on Boxing Day and expected to experience slow service etc due to the time of year - but we were met with excellent and attentive service from the off. Well done to Chateau Marlborough !

Stayed: December 2013
Thank SteveW1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Chateau Marlborough. Your comments have been passed onto the team. We pride ourselves on our service and facilities , it is always great to have this recognised by our guests . We look forward to welcoming you back here next time you are in Blenheim.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Clean, modern, nice and bright rooms. Ours overlooked the swimming pool and bar - very nice!The receptionist gave a discount voucher for the resturant to apologise that the bathroom hadn't yet been renovated (I wasn't expecting it!). Air conditioning a lifesaver with the humidity at this time of year. Ample parking, and very handy to walk into town and have a couple of drinks or do a spot of shopping.

Good gym facilities for one or two people (a cross trainer, a stationary bike, a treadmill and a weight bench with some free weights, so not big but good quality equipment).

The highlight of our evening restaurant meal was the seafood chowder, with a nice local Riesling, but there really weren't any redeeming features in the fish dish (overcooked fish, gluggy risotto and they served the veges instead of the salad we'd both asked for, but the waitress did kindly bring us a side salad each very promptly when we commented which was good). To be fair, we were so full we couldn't try the desserts and the chef did have a dessert special for the night,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiBek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Chateau Marlborough. Was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found the accommodation and facilities met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you back at the Chateau if you visit the Marlborough region again.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We arrived without a reservation and were able to negotiate a competitive rate directly with the front desk. This was our first stay so we don't know how this property presented before the remodel but it was quite nice for our purposes. There is a separate kitchen (complete with 2 burner cooktop, fridge, sink and plenty of dishes and utensils), bath (only problem with the shower was the poor glass design that failed to keep the water from the shower IN the tub, necessitating the use of all towels to sop up the flood on the floor - so much for their ecological pledge) and nice king- sized bed and sitting area. We loved the free wifi and not having to keep asking for a new login code.

The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk to eating places and the cinema downtown. It was also well-situated for our self-guided winery tour, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

We did not eat on the property so this review does not take into account (for better or worse) the restaurant onsite.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 - along a central entry corridor, so we did experience some noise from the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for placing feedback on your recent stay with us. The suite you stayed in has recently been upgraded so pleased you enjoyed. The super king beds are very popular with our guests along with the complimentary wi fi. A wine tour is a must whilst visiting our region was wonderful to read you enjoyed this. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again if you visit Marlborough.
Thank you again and Merry Xmas
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
17.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £99 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town center. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing