We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really nice place in a great location.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in January and were pleasantly surprised. We had a room very close to reception and we had our doubts about the noise but it was super quiet. The pool is awesome. Very clean and well appointed. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities and location met your expectations. It is great to have a property at this level in the heart of Blenheim. I do hope you can visit again.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    218
    94
    18
    12
See reviews for
59
361
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

There is something about the Chateau Marlborough that makes you think the operator understands people's wishes for a hotel. There are few, if any of the hotel stereotypes here. Although clearly quite modern, the architecture insure and out makes this place feel special. There are detail touches that confirm the thought that has gone into the design.

It was so good we returned on our way back to North a Island and, each stay, our room proved an interesting space, with seating area separate from a dining area and patio doors to the outside/balcony.

The location is close yo the centre of Blenheim and also handy for the vineyards.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Savik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It was lovely to read your feedback on your recent stay here at the Chateau Marlborough. We certainly try to make all guests experience here a special one, the Chateau is quite a unique hotel both in design and the experience we offer. I will be sure to pass your comments onto our team here. If you are lucky enough to visit again we would love to have you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Staff excellent even remember your name on return and why you were staying….. room large excellent, very comfortable and everywhere is clean clean……..I would highly recommend this place to any traveller…...

Room Tip: Great rooms ask for a rom with separate lounge area..same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us. Our Staff work hard to provide excellent customer service and I will be sure to pass this onto the team. Our suites are very spacious which adds to the comfort of the Hotel facilities. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our room was very spacious and everything inside was new-looking, clean and in good condition. The bed was comfortable and the decanter of port was a nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The only small niggles were the soap not being replenished every day, and it would have been good to have more than one towel each in the room, but those are small pet-peeves of mine not major issues. I'm sure they would have provided more if I'd phoned front desk to ask. It was nice to have a heated towel rail.

We would definitely stay again and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. The beds are one of our greatest assets and we get a lot of good comments on them. It always makes a stay better if you sleep well. I appreciate your comments re housekeeping and have passed this onto the housekeeping team to ensure this doesn't occur again. Great you found the standard of cleaning ,comfort and port met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed in the penthouse suite for one night since there were four of us. We were surprised to see a stuffed kiwi on our bed that had a tag saying "Welcome to the Chateau Marlborough....when you are ready to leave please don't forget to take me with you...." so cute! It's sitting next to our TV in Hong Kong right now....good memories! I especially like the perfumed shampoo in the bathroom. It was very nice and i used it for the rest of my trip. The bed was a bit soft for me since i have back pain. We had a big private patio where we had breakfast the next morning. But it started drizzling so we moved indoors to the dining table, leaving the sliding door open and it was just as nice since we could also watch tv! Very lovely indeed to enjoy outdoors a bit and indoors also during our short stay! This place was conveniently located close to the wineries that we wanted to visit so we were quite pleased. It was the first day of Chinese New Year on Jan. 31 so we treated ourselves to stay here to celebrate!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
So pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us up in the penthouse suite . That suite really is a special treat and the kiwi is such a delight to take with you. That will constantly remind you of your enjoyable time here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Chateau should you visit the delightful Marlborough Region again.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

From the time we arrived to the time we left, the level of service provided by the friendly staff at Chateau Malborough was excellence. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The bed was great. The evening meal was very well cooked and presented. Over all, the Chateau was the best we stayed at over our 20 days in New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay with us at the Chateau Marlborough. The description of excellence is always wonderful to read. We certainly strive to achieve this . I do hope you get the opportunity to come back and stay with us again. Thank you again.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights & couldn't fault the rooms (2 singles), the food or the hotel staff. Whilst the bathrooms were not yet renovated (& we each received a $20 voucher) they weren't awful. We used the voucher for breakfast the 2nd morning & enjoyed it so much we came back for dinner. The staff are very friendly & made you feel at home, & the rooms were very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Blenheim.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn_M172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
It is fantastic to see the comment Highly Recommended featuring on Trip Advisor. So pleased you found the hotel facilities and staff met your expectations as we strive hard to do. I will pass this on to the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the lovely Marlborough Region.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Property: Chateau Marlborough
Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing