We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Marlborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked a one bed suite for 4 nights. This was our best accommodation for 3 weeks of holidays. Loads of room with washing machine dryer, dishwasher. The bed was excellent and plenty of room in the lounge room. Also it had a safe which we have found to be very rare in NZ. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The gym was small but adequate for a workout. Would only ever stay here if we go back to Blenheim.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissie-based
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place such lovely feedback on your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments from guests .We strive hard to achieve this and on this occasion the staff and facilities did just that. The One Bedroom Grande Apartments are truly a luxury experience for guests . I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Chateau Marlborough on your next visit to the Marlborough Region.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    210
    91
    17
    12
See reviews for
58
353
39
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

What a poor hotel! We were led to believe this is 5 star, but we have stayed in better 3 star hotels. The bathroom in or room was shocking. Avocado green sink and the shower was clad in the same colour plastic with a ooden ceiling, metal shower tray and old shower curtain. I don't think the bathrooms have been improved since early 80s. We are travelling through New Zealand and Australia and this is by far the worse of our 'luxury' hotels.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank felicity1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for placing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading our classic suite bathrooms and we have reflected this in our rates offered to guests that choose to stay in this room type . There is a selection of other room types that have upgraded luxury bathrooms. We are working hard to complete the bathroom upgrade.
KInd Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and booked a king studio room. It was better than expected. Location was awesome. Walked into town for dinner both nights and supermarket just around the corner. Internet speed was fantastic which is important for us.

Would stay again and the gift of the small kiwi was a real bonus.

The room was large, bathroom was great, heated towel rail was a nice touch.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass this onto our team. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit the Marlborough Region.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night and can highly recommend same. We dined with family at the restaurant.. The food and friendliness of the staff were superb. We will stay again. Can highly recommend this modern venue for its location also.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EH1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your time here and everything met your expectations. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments onto the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Blenheim
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel during our visit to the Marlborough region in March 2014. The hotel facilities are very nice and of good quality. The staff attention was good. The double room was very comfortable and spacious, with nice view to the swimming pool area but at the same time with privacy. It was cool and partially rainy outside so we didn't use the pool facilities but they looked fine.

Room Tip: Double rooms with pool view are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Chateau Marlborough Hotel. While it was unfortunate that you were unable to enjoy the swimming pool during your stay due to the cooler time of the year. I am pleased that you enjoyed your suite along with the facilities offered at the hotel, and that our staff were able to show you our great "kiwi" hospitality . Lynley McKinnon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived late afternoon - an unexpected stay due to checking out of somewhere else (not in Blenheim) where we had been booked for an extra night but couldn't stand the thought! So, we just pitched up here - liked the look of the place and asked if they had a room. Yes, they had and the welcome we received was so warm it made us forget about that other place!

Ate in the restaurant so have no idea what Blenheim itself has to offer, but this hotel was great, the restaurant was likewise, and we'd recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the Chateau Marlborough and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your dining experience at our restaurant "Quench". I will pass on your kind words to the staff who strive to always exceed guests expectations. The warm welcome and great service by staff is a key element in any hotel operation and we certainly appreciate the time taken to place a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Marlborough. Lynley McKinnon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our stay in this hotel was very enjoyable. The facilities and rooms were great and very comfortable. The gym in the hotel was also awesome, whilst small, it is very well equipped. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful. The only slight issue pertained to the restaurant. Unfortunately we found our dinner of lamb to be overdone and the accompanying salad all sorts of confused. The breakfasts however were lovely, despite a chai latte coming out as a regular latte, though this was very quickly swapped for the chai ordered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 71Dannielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the fitness centre during your visit. I have passed your comments regarding the lamb dish to our chef. I hope you enjoyed your time in Marlborough and thank you again for choosing to stay at The Chateau Marlborough Hotel. Lynley McKinnon General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#19 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Property: Chateau Marlborough
Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing