We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Blue Ridge Estate

Blue Ridge Estate
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Ridge Estate
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Reviewed 4 March 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 15 day trip around the South Island New Zealand. We stayed at the Blue Ridge Estates for 1 night on our trip. Overall, this was an excellent stay. We very much enjoyed meeting Brian and Lesley who were warm, inviting, and helpful with recommendations for dinner and winery tours. They have a lovely, cozy home on a vineyard. The room was comfortable and decent size with a great ensuite bathroom. The back patio and vineyard were a perfect setting to relax and have a glass of wine. We stayed at 9 B&Bs in NZ on our whirlwind tour, and this was one of our favorites. The breakfast was delicious! The only drawbacks I can see in comparing this with other properties was their lack of internet access and the fact there were no TVs in the rooms (though this could be considered a bonus!). This was one of the lower cost places we stayed, and definitely the best value for the trip- highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Luv2RunMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Blue Ridge Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2008

If you are considering visiting the Wine Trail in Marlborough this accommodation is perfect. Excellent location for visiting lots of wineries and the towns of Picton and Blenheim. Wonderful peaceful vineyard, extremely private. Great facilities large bedroom and ensuite bathroom beautifully decorated with private patio area for relaxing. Brian and Lesley were wonderful hosts, gave us lots of tips and information about the area, booked us places to visit and eventold us the best way to travel along the Queen Charlotte Drive to get the best views. Wonderful cooked breakfast every morning and lots of personnel touches.
Brian and Lesley were fabulous company, we arrived as strangers and left as friends.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank blackhorse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Brian and Lesley Avery give you a welcome second to none when you arrive at their beautifully appointed b/b. The house has won the Master Builders' House of the Year Award. The rooms are modern, very clean and well furnished. Lesley is a mine of information and could not be more helpful. Brian can answer all the questions you care to ask about growing vines. He is full of fascintaing stories about his change in life style. Brian even took the trouble to drive us to the local gourmet eating place...Hertzog which does an outstandingly good five course tasting menu and superb wines to match. This too a recommendation from Lesley. Before dinner Lesley directed us to one of the stunning local beaches for one of our best swims in the whole of New Zealand. The difference somebody once said between staying in a hotel and a b/b is that when you leave a b/b you give the people a big hug and kisses...how true. We were so pleased on this second visit that we decided to stay outside of Blenheim in this blissful spot with views across the vineyard to the distant hills with only the sound of the birds

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AUSTIN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Ridge Estate at the end of December 2007, in the Blue Room. Unfortunately we were only able to stay for one night, but really wished we could have stayed longer.

Our hosts, Brian and Lesley, were very welcoming, and Brian was very helpful with tips on places to visit. He also helped arrange delivery and collection of two bikes which we rented to tour the area.

Our room was lovely - comfy bed, lovely bathroom (the outside wall of the shower was made of glass blocks which was really nice), and all very clean. The bedroom had doors opening onto its own terrace and had great views over the garden to the vineyard... heaven!

Breakfast was great, with local seasonal fruit, yoghurts, and lovely cooked food.

The location was great for us - very quiet and in the middle of vineyards. We rented a couple of bikes and managed to visit about 12 wineries in one afternoon... hic! The closest wineries are Hunters, Drylands, and Saint Clair, which are all easy to cycle to - especially as it's very flat. The others are a bit further away, so you need to be reasonably fit if you want to walk or cycle there.

I would highly recommend this place - lovely, comfortable and peaceful, with great hosts.

Thanks Brian and Lesley!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2007

Blue Ridge Estate provided a wonderful stay during our honeymoon to New Zealand.

Blue Ridge Estate is located in the middle of Blenheim, and the property is located on a vineyard that grow grapes for local wineries (St Clair). The Blue room has a sliding glass door that opens onto the back of the vineyar and provides a wonderful view of the surrounding mountains. The accomodations were a fantastic bargain for the breakfasts and hospitality of the hosts. Brian and Lesley were fantastic hosts that provided a comfortable stay and great breakfasts. We also enjoyed the opportunity to spend time with Brian and Lesley who were a wealth of information about Blenheim and New Zealand in general. Brian was extremely enthusiatic about the are and his vineyard, and he was helpful in creating a wine tour itenerary for myself and my wife. They provided a welcoming atmosphere, opened their doors and wine bottles to us, and helped give us one fantastic honeymoon. I would recommend Blue Ridge Estate to anyone.

Stayed: March 2006
3  Thank Devildawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2005

We stayed here for one night in December 2005. Brian and Lesley Avery, the owners, were very welcoming and helpful. The rate was very reasonable and the setting in a vineyard was beautiful. We highly recommend it.

4  Thank rdk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
4.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
2.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
636 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
163 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ridge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ridge Estate

Address: 50 O'Dwyers Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range: £95 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ridge Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Estate Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing