We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous wine estate B & B”
Review of Blue Ridge Estate

Blue Ridge Estate
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Ridge Estate
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Our room looked out upon a pretty garden of all sorts of flowing plants and, beyond them, rows and rows of vines. It fit my mental image of a wine estate perfectly. Leslie was a wonderful hostess with many helpful suggestions for wineries and meals.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2011

Brain and Lesley could not do have been kinder and more welcoming. Brian with all his tips of what to do within the surrounding area and day trips. Lesley with the wonderful breakfast , such attention to detail within our room and such a kind person above and beyond the call of duty.
Our room was fabulous, very picturesque and very peaceful and calming surroundings. We were very close to Blenheim so heading for food in the evening was very easy. Brian even took us in one evening and the pub dropped us back so we didn't even need the car. We had a wonderful day visiting the vineyards by bike (Brain kindly helped us arrange this and I would highly recommend this method of visiting the vineyards).

All in all we felt quite sad leaving but were so thankful of such a memorable stay. We would happily recommend staying there and we hope to head back one day.

A special mention to Bell and Meg who we were tempted to take with us but alas they admitted at the last minute they wanted to stay with Brain and Lesley :-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We have stayed at Blue Ridge at least 5 separate times. We keep returning because it is a blissful place. Brian and Leslie grow beautiful grapes, their guest rooms are among the vines. The B and B is located among theNZ great vineyards and very near Marlborough's best restaurants. The breakfasts are brilliant, all homegrown foods deliciously prepared. The rooms are beautiful, and Brian knows everything about NZ travel as he was a travel executive before he became a wine grower.
We have travelled extensively in NZ and return each year and we think this is the best B and B in NZ!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank eldichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts Brian and Lesley put themselves out for us and made us feel very welcome. They made great suggestions of where to visit and places to eat and we enjoyed our conversations with them. The room we were in was absolutely fine. I liked he fact there was no TV. Breakfast was also good. The wineries for visiting are all close by. We would definitely come back here. I hope the ducks return! We did have wireless internet which worked very well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Property is nice but the rooms were not well equiped. Average value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 15 day trip around the South Island New Zealand. We stayed at the Blue Ridge Estates for 1 night on our trip. Overall, this was an excellent stay. We very much enjoyed meeting Brian and Lesley who were warm, inviting, and helpful with recommendations for dinner and winery tours. They have a lovely, cozy home on a vineyard. The room was comfortable and decent size with a great ensuite bathroom. The back patio and vineyard were a perfect setting to relax and have a glass of wine. We stayed at 9 B&Bs in NZ on our whirlwind tour, and this was one of our favorites. The breakfast was delicious! The only drawbacks I can see in comparing this with other properties was their lack of internet access and the fact there were no TVs in the rooms (though this could be considered a bonus!). This was one of the lower cost places we stayed, and definitely the best value for the trip- highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Luv2RunMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

If you are considering visiting the Wine Trail in Marlborough this accommodation is perfect. Excellent location for visiting lots of wineries and the towns of Picton and Blenheim. Wonderful peaceful vineyard, extremely private. Great facilities large bedroom and ensuite bathroom beautifully decorated with private patio area for relaxing. Brian and Lesley were wonderful hosts, gave us lots of tips and information about the area, booked us places to visit and eventold us the best way to travel along the Queen Charlotte Drive to get the best views. Wonderful cooked breakfast every morning and lots of personnel touches.
Brian and Lesley were fabulous company, we arrived as strangers and left as friends.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank blackhorse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
4.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
2.3 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
2.5 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ridge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ridge Estate

Address: 50 O'Dwyers Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range: £92 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ridge Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Estate Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing