We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite what we expected but very very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Villa
Ranked #18 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected but very very good.”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We booked into Bec Lodge as our Christmas present to ourselves. It was fairly expensive but sounded like just our kind of place. We both expected something like an English country manor house. Very grand.
We were picked up at the airport by a driver from Marlborough tours, not the hotel itself. I knew we were out with Marlborough tours the next day and thought perhaps they were actually the same Company with different trading names. Not so. They were just doing Dave & Sarah (the owners of Bec lodge) a favour. We were informed that they would not be there to meet us on our arrival, or to prepare the degustacion dinner the following night, but that Dave would be there to cook our breakfast the next day. I was a little disappointed until I found out that the reason was that Sarah was currently in labour. My disappointment was replaced by amazement that Dave thought he would get in to make breakfast the following day. No chance!!
We arrived at the lodge and it wasn't the grand manor house we expected and I was a little hesitant. However the welcome was warm and the accommodations certainly did not disappoint in any way. Our room was very comfortable and clean and had the tea coffee making facilities and bathroom sundries you would expect. Next to our room was a small office with a fridge. The fridge was stocked with soft drinks and fruit - all complimentary.
Our room was the Chagall suite (I asked for this room). I did get the chance to check out the mountain view room and wish in hindsight that we had gone for that. It was bigger and had a walk in robe.
There was another couple staying who proved to be very entertaining dinner companions. Dinner was prepared by a relief chef and friend of Dave and Sarah. It was wonderful. I felt a little guilty at one point before dinner when she was serving us wine and had to clarify if it was "help yourself". She assured me that she was there to serve us, we were on holiday.
Dave and Sarah had a baby boy during our evening meal!!!
My husband and I both needed to work while we were there and needed the internet. There is WiFi in the lodge and it was fine for what we needed to do. My husband needed a landline and Dave was more than happy for him to use the number for the lodge (incoming of course)
As promised Dave was there the following morning to prepare breakfast. He told us he had got home from the hospital around 12.30 the previous night. Noone could believe he was there to cook for us. Clearly he is truly committed to the venture.
Overall the stay was fatanstic. Nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel so welcome and "at home"
Our only complaint - we couldn't stay longer!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomcduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
61
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My husband and I have taken far too long to write this review and I can only apolgise to the lovely Dave and Sarah! We spent a few nights here back in July when Dave and Sarah first took over the place and we have to say it was the highlight of our trip. The lodge is just beautiful - the views, the rooms, the welcolming/homely atmosphere was just everything we could have wished for. If you are a foodie then this is the place for you. Absolutely devine. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. We were staying here as a treat as part of our honeymoon and we loved every single second of it!

Best of luck Dave & Sarah - you absolutely deserve it. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyandluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Marlborough is the best known wine region of New Zealand, with mostly beautiful weather and serious, imaginative wine makers. Lodging and fine dining have yet to catch up to the special Sauvingnon Blanc and Pinot Noir that has put this area on the world map. The central town of Blenheim is trapped in its modest, agricultural past, while the entrepreneurial wine pioneers have sparked creative new places to stay and eat out among the miles of vineyards. BEC Lodge is the best of all, run superbly by David and Sarah -- two seasoned hospitality pros who also happen to be gifted chefs. They are on the cutting edge of lifting Marlborough to the destination resort appeal of a Napa or Sonoma or Burgundy. It will take awhile -- after all, the first wine was produced here less than 30 years ago -- but they will be counted as a force that lifted the valley. BEC is modern, roomy, well appointed, and full of endless views from giant glass windows overlooking the vineyards below. The large imaginative breakfasts are part of your package, and will fortify you well for a day of tasting. We also signed up for their degustation dinner, an elegant multi-course dinner that is paired with some of Malborough's best wine. A lovely introduction to the area. David and Sarah have mastered the fine art of being there when you need them, and letting you alone when you find yourself diving into the pool, soaking in the jacuzzi, drying out in the steamroom, or reading in their spacious living room. In fact, they live nearby, off-sight, but are immediately available by cell phone if you need them for anything. We enjoyed our organized wine tour with Aussie, but you can figure it out with a wine tour map and the advice of locals. The best food is at local wineries. The best part is returning to BEC Lodge, a beautiful home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hummingbird92662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I stayed at Bec with my husband on our honeymoon and we didn't want to leave! Dave and Sarah were beyond lovely and recently took over management in June. They are gourmet chefs and our dinners with them were among the best (if not the best) meals we had during our vacation. I highly recommend the degustation dinner if you can splurge a bit because the food will melt in your mouth and the wine is local and superb. We loved our dinner so much that we cancelled dinner reservations on our second night so we could eat their cuisine again! The breakfasts were equally tasty!! The house is LOVELY and the pool/jacuzzi overlook vineyards for as far as you can see!! What a gem!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Bec Luxury Lodge was so amazing for us. We had a fantastic meal around beautful surroundings. Dave and Sarah Anderson are fantastic hosts. My guests at my birthday party are still raving about the food and the lodge. This would have to be the number one place in Marlborough to relax and enjoy Marlborough cuisine and wine. A+++++++++++++

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I spent a few nights at this beautiful accommodation.My very well equipped room with complimentary mini bar had the most wonderful views of vineyards surrounded by mountains in the distance. Dave & Sarah are the perfect hosts. Both being chefs the breakfast offered by Sarah was healthy with creative choices. Dave's selection for the optional dinners were of fresh N.Z. produce & beautifully prepared & served. Accompanied with a glass of a great Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc. I spent one day on a gourmet food & wine tour with Sue of Marlborough Tours. This was a great day out with a variety of wineries,a hydroponic strawberry farm & a gorgoeus chocolatier.The day I was leaving Sarah organised a wonderful massage for me before the long drive to Queenstown. Bec's is really well located in a quiet area just outside Blenheim.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Because a friend or ours bought a bottle of Kiwi Blue water from Countdown, and swiped his One card He won an all expenses paid weekend at the Bec Spa resort. He then gifted this to us (amazing FRIEND!!!) and we then were flown from Auckland to Blenheim to start the most amazing 2 days of absolute indulgence by Leon, the owner of the BEC SPA RESORT. Because his wife was overseas and we were unable to be catered for the meals as per package Leon went out of his way to compensate by selecting the most upmarket resturants, sent us on a wine tour with De Vine Tours with a Tour guide who was out of this world, if we may say so also, and hiring a Massuer, a beautiful local Japanese lady, who gave both of us a delux massage.
What was so neat about Leon, was that, on our arrival he asked what our favourite drink was, and was prepared to go down the road to source our request, to make our stay even better. He also allowed us to stay on past the time we were to leave, so that we had somewhere to rest and swim at until our plane left in the afternoon. All this added to an absolutely devine weekend away.
The accomodation it a very upmarket B&B. The other clientelle at the time were a couple from England, and a single young man from USA, and if was lovely to share around the breakfast table with them each morning, and I must say Leon once again, excelled at the level of personal style breakfast he provided for us all. Jus a last note, for art lovers world wide, you are in for an absolute treat for the many varied pieces throughout the complex. There is a change of management coming over the next while, but we were told that the couple taking over are well experienced in the business as well....All the best for the future Leon. Well done
Kay and Allan Parker (Auckland)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allankayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
9.0 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
2.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#3 of 43 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.8 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#11 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Villa

Property: Mountain View Villa
Address: 81 Cob Cottage Road | Riverlands Rd 4, Blenheim 7274, New Zealand (Formerly BEC Luxury Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hillside in Marlborough wine country, the Mountain View Villa combines luxury accommodation and amenities with the natural beauty of New Zealand. Relax in one of our spacious rooms with beautiful en-suite bathrooms, or take advantage of our splendid facilities. The Villa features a swimming pool, steam room and outdoor spa, as well as offering luxurious massage treatments on site. Surrounded by vineyards, the property is the prefect location to experience Marlborough's world famous wine country. Whether it's outdoor adventure, local culture or relaxing in style, Mountain View Villa is situated perfectly to suit your desires. The property is also available for small groups, celebrations and events, as well as exclusive use. Please contact us for further details about our special rates for larger bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bec Hotel Blenheim
Bec Spa Blenheim
Mountain View Villa Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing