We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accomodation combined with excellent helpful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

One night turned into two and could have easily turned into three had we not already made previous arrangments. The Old Dairy felt like our own little home away from home, and we loved the idea of self catered brakfast so we could eat when and what we wanted. The fresh eggs and home made preserves are a special added touch! The owners/host are so welcoming and helpful, and so relaxed and down to earth. It's also in the perfect location for exploring the wineries.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohso_happy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed in the Stables cottage which was unsurprisingly a converted stable block. Very comfortable and next to a small lemon orchard filled when we were there with sheep and rather cute lambs. Despite there being a few properties in the grounds the cottage was completely private. Inside had everything we needed - bathroom had a shower only (no bath).

Great location for wandering around the wineries. We borrowed some foc bicycles from the delightful Paul and Daphne and cycled to Allan Scott's for a very good lunch. Then crossed the road to try out the famous Cloudy Bay winery which was every bit as good as it's reputation (amazing how friendly everyone was there - in England, a firm with as famous a name as Cloudy Bay would be adding all kinds of pretentious rubbish to a visit, not charging you a chance to try 6 great wines for £2.50....). It work out at about a 4 mile circuit on the bikes with only one road with anything like serious traffic on it. Blenheim while small has some good restaurants (we ate at Raupo and Rocco's which were both good).

In short, a much superior experience to a hotel and perfect for wine-lovers.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick&Dara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Owners are fantastic, place is gorgeous, room was clean, cozy and cute. We stayed in the Old Dairy and loved it! It is a place we would love to come back to and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the area. Thanks for having us!!!

Room Tip: It is slightly out of town, however if you have a car it was perfect and very serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in the small cottage for one night. They were welcoming and unobtrusive - which is important when you're staying so close to someone's house.

The cottage was beautifully decorated and very comfortable for two people for one night. The included breakfast of eggs, bread and jam was delicious and wonderfully presented.

It was a last minute booking so unfortunately the hosts didn't have time to 'pre-warm' the cottage on such a cold night. We also found the water pressure in the shower dropped in and out a bit.

Overall it was a pleasant stay and terrific value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed in the smallest cottage (the Dairy?) for one night of our honeymoon. It was very close to the main house and driveway, which seemed to be helpful in the winter - less distance to walk in the cold! It may have been too small us if we had stayed for several nights, but we only stayed for one and we loved it.

The owners were helpful and quite funny. They helped us find a pizza place for dinner and then when it turned out to be closed that night they were almost more disappointed than we were. I would love to go back again someday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We visited Marlborough during the winter off-season and stayed at the St Leonards Vineyard Cottages in the Old Dairy room. We loved the quirky location in the midst of vineyards (with sheep grazing among the vines). Paul and Daphne were ideal hosts: inobtrusive, but friendly and helpful. Our cozy room was perfect for a single night's stay, although the lack of space for luggage might have been problematic for a longer visit. Still, we were perfectly comfortable in the room, and we loved the homemade jelly and marmalade provided for breakfast, along with amazing silky free-range chicken eggs, fresh OJ, and coffee.

Because it was winter, we were unable to avail ourselves of many of the amenities available to summer visitors, but I can imagine how pleasant it would be to lounge beside the swimming pool after a day of wine tasting. But even on a chilly July night, we appreciated the warm hospitality and cozy lodgings we received at St Leonards.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundogg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We enjoyed our peaceful stay. Birds and golden sunlight streamed in the windows of the Woolshed each morning!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinkystinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
3.8 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
2.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
678 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.5 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#19 of 32 in Blenheim
217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Leonards Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Leonards Vineyard Cottages

Address: 18 St Leonards Road | Rd1, Blenheim 7271, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £85 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Leonards Vineyard Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ST LEONARD’S VINEYARD COTTAGES is set on 4.5 acres, with five self-contained boutique cottages positioned around the semi-rural property. The original farm homestead (circa 1856) is home to your hosts - Marcus and Michele - and is an excellent example of early NZ colonial architecture. The house is situated in the hub of this private setting with century-old walnut, gum and elm trees. The charming cottages are themed around the old farm buildings, offering their own unique view of mountains, vines or gardens, and are privately located around the property. They are all fully self-contained and self-catering. Make the most of your idyllic surroundings by exploring the grounds with its picturesque gardens and majestic trees. Near the lemon grove you will find sheep and chickens (all prepared to become your new best friend for a handful of food) plus a couple of very shy deer. Pool, Petanque, lawn tennis and Bicycles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Leonards Vineyard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Leonards Vineyard Hotel
St Leonards Vineyard Blenheim
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing