We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque location, caring hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I absolutely adored St Leonard's. Daphne and Paul are lovely people and have built a wonderful getaway for their guests. We had originally booked the Stables but Daphne kindly upgraded us to Anna's Cottage which was very homely and warm, with a great view of the vineyards. The animals they have in their orchid add to the atmosphere of the stay. We were able to walk around and feed the sheep and deer - even got to see some of the new lambs :) The fresh farm eggs for morning breakfasts were the best, when we went through them all the hosts kindly provided us with more. On our second night we decided it would be great to light up the pot belly stove. Paul was great and provided us with a kit for putting together a flame and some good advice about looking after it. The Cottages are located just outside of town, only a few minutes drive away. Was a great spot to stay when doing the winery tour. Would highly recommend St Leonard's to others and we'll definitely be back someday :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Daphne and Paul are very nice people, and have created a very nice spot among the vineyards of Marlborough west of Blenheim. We were there during some torrential winter rains, and Paul and Daphne watched out for us and made sure we were okay. The location is also ideal, right in the middle of many of the wineries you might like to visit. It may be a liittle too much to bike from place to place as they are not that close, but it certainly is an easy and safe drive. We stayed at first in the Stables, which indeed were charming, and then switched to Anna's Cottage as the weather got worse, at Daphne and Paul's suggestion. The Stables is likely ideal for either a couple or a family with a small child, as there is a fenced area with a lemon grove, deer, and sheep nearby. Anna's Cottage is more spacious and warmer in cold weather.

Room Tip: I suggest Anna's Cottage if it's in the middle of winter, otherwise I think I would take The...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

During our campervan tour on NZ we decided to spend a couple of days at St Leonards. Our cottage "The Old Dairy" was just perfect for us. Cosy, well equipped and incredibly well priced, this was the perfect location from which we could enjoy the area. Daphne and Paul were fantastic welcoming hosts and made us feel at home. The eggs they provided for our breakfast were exceptional!!

Room Tip: The Old Dairy was perfect for a couple
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a gem. Well priced accomodation. Reception from the owners could not have been warmer. If you stay , you have to try their Free range eggs from the farm. Never had such a large and tasty egg in my life. Will go back without a doubt. My only comment to the owners would be a couple of slippers on hand to warm the feet from the beautiful stone floor in the kitchen area. Or maybe i need to toughen up ! Not a complaint, just a suggestion.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent 2 nights in The Old Diary which is the smallest cottage on site but still plenty big enough for 2 people. We loved every minute of it! Daphne and Paul are very welcoming and recommended wineries to visit and kitted us up with bikes to explore them on. A very fun day despite the frosty start! The fresh eggs and homemade preserves were a great start to the day. We would definitely recommend to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

St Leonards is beauliful rustic accomadation nestled amongst the vines, close to lots of other vineyards in the area. We stayed in the old woolshed which was lovely, clean, cosy and warm with big bedrooms, beds perfect for a good nights sleep.
The living area is large and the kitchen has all you need if staying in. We cooked a BBQ on the verandah and watched the sun go down across the hills and vines with a glass of local wine in our hands, what a way to finish the day.
Fresh farm eggs, bread butter and homemade jam are supplied for breakfast. The staff are also very friendly and helpful and the grounds are full of deer sheep and hens fenced off amonst lemon tree with the biggest lemons I have ever seen.
I wish we had stayed longer but will return.
St Leonards and the Woolshed is a gem in beautiful Blenheim and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This place is so great, just a home away from home. So cosy, the service is so great, really friendly people.

We had a fire there, and did a winery tour. It really was so special, probably one of our favourite places in NZ. The cottage has a real country feel, and you are even brought freshly laid eggs and homemade jams. Best I have ever tasted. We then got a tour round their farm and played with some of the animals there.

Only real negatives is there is no actual heating - we only had the fireplace and we had issues with the tv but all in all a real little gem in paradise. You MUST try this one!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annakmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Radmall, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you very much for all your positive comments, it is always a pleasure to have such appreciative guests. We only wish that we had explained the heating system more fully when you arrived. That was obviously an oversight.
There is a high capacity heat pump above the entrance door, as well as the fireplace. The heat pump provides heat very quickly and is sufficient to warm the whole cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
3.8 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
2.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
635 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
2.2 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
466 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#17 of 32 in Blenheim
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Leonards Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Leonards Vineyard Cottages

Address: 18 St Leonards Road | RD1, Blenheim 7271, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#7 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £79 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Leonards Vineyard Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ST LEONARD’S VINEYARD COTTAGES is set on 4.5 acres, with five self-contained boutique cottages positioned around the semi-rural property. The original farm homestead (circa 1856) is home to your hosts - Marcus and Michele - and is an excellent example of early NZ colonial architecture. The house is situated in the hub of this private setting with century-old walnut, gum and elm trees. The charming cottages are themed around the old farm buildings, offering their own unique view of mountains, vines or gardens, and are privately located around the property. They are all fully self-contained and self-catering. Make the most of your idyllic surroundings by exploring the grounds with its picturesque gardens and majestic trees. Near the lemon grove you will find sheep and chickens (all prepared to become your new best friend for a handful of food) plus a couple of very shy deer. Pool, Petanque, lawn tennis and Bicycles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your St Leonards Vineyard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Leonards Vineyard Hotel
St Leonards Vineyard Blenheim
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing