We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely comfort in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely comfort in the country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed one night in the Old Dairy and really enjoyed our stay amidst the lovely country surroundings and vineyards. The cottage is very sweet and thoughtfully furnished and equipped. It is compact (per the description on the website), but absolutely more than big enough for two adults to comfortably spend a few days at least; we won''t hesitate to stay there again. Daphne and Paul were very welcoming and the breakfast provisions very good (we enjoyed breakfast in the lovely surroundings of the garden and possibly the best eggs I've ever tasted!). It was lovely to stay outside of the (relative) bustle of Blenheim and the cottage offered great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie1232003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
162
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I absolutely adored St Leonard's. Daphne and Paul are lovely people and have built a wonderful getaway for their guests. We had originally booked the Stables but Daphne kindly upgraded us to Anna's Cottage which was very homely and warm, with a great view of the vineyards. The animals they have in their orchid add to the atmosphere of the stay. We were able to walk around and feed the sheep and deer - even got to see some of the new lambs :) The fresh farm eggs for morning breakfasts were the best, when we went through them all the hosts kindly provided us with more. On our second night we decided it would be great to light up the pot belly stove. Paul was great and provided us with a kit for putting together a flame and some good advice about looking after it. The Cottages are located just outside of town, only a few minutes drive away. Was a great spot to stay when doing the winery tour. Would highly recommend St Leonard's to others and we'll definitely be back someday :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Daphne and Paul are very nice people, and have created a very nice spot among the vineyards of Marlborough west of Blenheim. We were there during some torrential winter rains, and Paul and Daphne watched out for us and made sure we were okay. The location is also ideal, right in the middle of many of the wineries you might like to visit. It may be a liittle too much to bike from place to place as they are not that close, but it certainly is an easy and safe drive. We stayed at first in the Stables, which indeed were charming, and then switched to Anna's Cottage as the weather got worse, at Daphne and Paul's suggestion. The Stables is likely ideal for either a couple or a family with a small child, as there is a fenced area with a lemon grove, deer, and sheep nearby. Anna's Cottage is more spacious and warmer in cold weather.

Room Tip: I suggest Anna's Cottage if it's in the middle of winter, otherwise I think I would take The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

During our campervan tour on NZ we decided to spend a couple of days at St Leonards. Our cottage "The Old Dairy" was just perfect for us. Cosy, well equipped and incredibly well priced, this was the perfect location from which we could enjoy the area. Daphne and Paul were fantastic welcoming hosts and made us feel at home. The eggs they provided for our breakfast were exceptional!!

Room Tip: The Old Dairy was perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a gem. Well priced accomodation. Reception from the owners could not have been warmer. If you stay , you have to try their Free range eggs from the farm. Never had such a large and tasty egg in my life. Will go back without a doubt. My only comment to the owners would be a couple of slippers on hand to warm the feet from the beautiful stone floor in the kitchen area. Or maybe i need to toughen up ! Not a complaint, just a suggestion.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent 2 nights in The Old Diary which is the smallest cottage on site but still plenty big enough for 2 people. We loved every minute of it! Daphne and Paul are very welcoming and recommended wineries to visit and kitted us up with bikes to explore them on. A very fun day despite the frosty start! The fresh eggs and homemade preserves were a great start to the day. We would definitely recommend to all of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
965 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,290 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

St Leonards is beauliful rustic accomadation nestled amongst the vines, close to lots of other vineyards in the area. We stayed in the old woolshed which was lovely, clean, cosy and warm with big bedrooms, beds perfect for a good nights sleep.
The living area is large and the kitchen has all you need if staying in. We cooked a BBQ on the verandah and watched the sun go down across the hills and vines with a glass of local wine in our hands, what a way to finish the day.
Fresh farm eggs, bread butter and homemade jam are supplied for breakfast. The staff are also very friendly and helpful and the grounds are full of deer sheep and hens fenced off amonst lemon tree with the biggest lemons I have ever seen.
I wish we had stayed longer but will return.
St Leonards and the Woolshed is a gem in beautiful Blenheim and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
3.8 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
2.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Leonards Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Leonards Vineyard Cottages

Property: St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Address: 18 St Leonards Road | RD1, Blenheim 7271, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#7 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St Leonards Vineyard Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your St Leonards Vineyard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Leonards Vineyard Hotel
St Leonards Vineyard Blenheim
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing