We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottage, lovely hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My family and I stayed in the Woolshed Cottage, one of five cottages on the St Leonards grounds. The cottage was very nicely done out - they refer to it on the website as being a 'character' 2-bed cottage, and it really is. The cottage itself is built from wood, with lovely old windows (bought from a school that was being demolished apparently) and very good-quality furnishings. The beds were comfortable, as were the sofas, and the cottage was well-supplied with all the crockery, cutlery and glassware we needed (again, good quality). The only slight problem we had was with the shower - there was plenty of hot water, but ever so often the shower head seemed to get ideas of its own and try to leap off the fitting. Not a big deal, however!

For breakfast, we were provided with cereals, bread, butter and jam, ground coffee and some lovely fresh eggs from the hens they keep. Daphne also had a number of recommendations for dinner and actually sorted out our booking for us, which was a big help (we went to Marlborough Vintners which was excellent).

The property has a shared swimming pool, a boules pitch (is that the right word?!), a paddock with some very friendly sheep and hens, and a lemon orchard with deer, which were beautiful to look at. The property is set back from the road, making it a quiet and peaceful place to be, surrounded by rows of grapes and with beautiful views up to the hills and mountains in the background - just the sort of place you want to be when you're in wine country. Paul had recommendations for wineries that we might like to visit - we followed his suggestions and had a great morning and lunch out (we particularly liked Bladen vineyard - small but perfectly formed!). It's a drive or a taxi ride (or a bike ride) to get to any restaurants or into town, but the beautiful setting is more than worth it.

Daphne and Paul were extremely helpful and pleasant hosts and really went the extra mile, when Paul tracked us down to one of the vineyards he had recommended to bring us the hat my brother had left under his bed after we checked out!

Sadly we only had time for one night here, but I would certainly stay again if I returned to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here for one night last week and were delighted with it. We were in the Stables which had everything we needed plus more. It was in a wonderful location with doors opening straight onto a private lawn overlooking the vineyard. Well equiped cottage with very comfortable bed and sofa. We arrived early in the morning and although our room was not ready, the owners were very welcoming and happy to let us borrow bikes (lots of bikes, all with helmets, all in good condition) to cycle to Cloudy Bay Winery (an easy 25 minute cycle).
The other rooms looked lovely too and we thought St Leonards offered excellent value in a convenient yet quiet location

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in the Old Dairy and really enjoyed our time there. We arrived early at midday because Daphne, the owner, had kindly sorted out a wine tour for us. There was no problem leaving our bags in the room whilst we rushed off to do the wine tour. We returned to the cottages later in the afternoon and spent some time wandering around the beautiful garden - roses, tennis courts, lemon trees, sheep, chickens. It was a sunny day and very relaxing to lie on the lawn and swim in the solar heated swimming pool.

The Old Dairy was really cozy and nicely decorated. The bed was amazingly comfy and we both slept very well. We ate our breakfast (kitchen stocked with fresh farm eggs, bread, milk, homemade jam and marmalade, fresh juice, and fruit) outside on the patio the next morning. Also, you get a fantastic view of the stars from this property - it is a bit out of town so there is not much light nearby. We walked into town for an evening meal (took about 45 mins) but you could get a taxi or drive - would only take 5-10 mins.

I wanted to cry when we had to leave the next day because I really wanted to stay there longer. Daphne recommended a great walk for us to do on our way out of town which gave a brilliant view of the surrounding area. We really want to come back to Blenheim and would definitely book St Leonards Cottages again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pucyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Old Dairy and felt right at home, courtesy of our wonderful hosts, Daphne and Paul. The location is peaceful and quiet in the middle of Blenheim's wine country and perfect for nearby wine tastings. The Old Dairy is a cozy little cottage with a great little kitchen stocked with fresh farm eggs, bread, milk, homemade jam and marmalade, fresh juice, and fruit. We sat outside enjoying the sun on the adjacent patio and Paul helped get the barbeque going for our dinner. Thanks again Daphne and Paul!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our 3-night stay in Anna's Cottage (with the possible exception of the bathroom not able to be accessed directly from the bedroom). Both the inside and outside environments were so welcoming and comfortable. The lovely owners Daph and Paul were always helpful but never intrusive. We particularly liked the location amid the vineyards while only a few minutes from the city centre. Probably not enough for kids to find to do if staying during the day in the cottages; however, as a place for some serious R&R - resting and reading - the sunny verandah and cosy lounge room are just lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The St Leonards website creates a lovely image of these cottages but the reality is even more lovely. The cottages are set right in the heart of the vineyards so you couldn't hope for a better location to explore the wineries from. We were very thankful that we chose this location over somewhere in the heart of Blenheim town, which is only a short drive / taxi journey away (with incidentally the friendliest taxi driver I've ever met in my life).
Paul and Daphne are wonderful hosts and were always more than happy to help us with anything we needed. I particularly liked Paul's understated humour.
Sitting outside each morning having breakfast (including the freshly laid eggs) overlooking the vineyards and mountain backdrop was a lovely start to the day. We stayed in the Shearers Quarters and it was more than big enough for the two of us and could happily have accommodated a third adult.
A real bonus for us was the complimentary bikes. They were very good quality and there was a selection to choose from of varying sizes to suit all. We had not noticed on the website that there were bikes available so had researched bike hire and were expecting to pay around $120 a day for the pair of us so being able to borrow two of their bikes was a distinct bonus.
If / when we come back to this area we would undoubtedly choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed in The Woolshed. It was spacious and lovely. It was fun to see the sheep, deer, hens and rooster on the property. The sunsets were amazing. Daphne and Paul were wonderful hosts. They shared the history of the property and even some fun tips on hens. We even got to see two baby chicks that were born that morning. The eggs were amazingly fresh. The homemade jam was a lovely additional surprise. Lastly, the location is perfect. Right in the heart of the vineyards.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbfechner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
3.8 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
2.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
655 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
211 reviews
17.9 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Leonards Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Leonards Vineyard Cottages

Address: 18 St Leonards Road | Rd1, Blenheim 7271, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £84 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Leonards Vineyard Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ST LEONARD’S VINEYARD COTTAGES is set on 4.5 acres, with five self-contained boutique cottages positioned around the semi-rural property. The original farm homestead (circa 1856) is home to your hosts - Marcus and Michele - and is an excellent example of early NZ colonial architecture. The house is situated in the hub of this private setting with century-old walnut, gum and elm trees. The charming cottages are themed around the old farm buildings, offering their own unique view of mountains, vines or gardens, and are privately located around the property. They are all fully self-contained and self-catering. Make the most of your idyllic surroundings by exploring the grounds with its picturesque gardens and majestic trees. Near the lemon grove you will find sheep and chickens (all prepared to become your new best friend for a handful of food) plus a couple of very shy deer. Pool, Petanque, lawn tennis and Bicycles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Leonards Vineyard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Leonards Vineyard Hotel
St Leonards Vineyard Blenheim
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing