We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherylea Motel(Blenheim)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
214
32
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
32
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh eggsshearers quartersfree range eggsmarmaladedairy cottagelemon orchardpot belly stovethe main housefriendly sheepfarm staybreakfast suppliesfruit treesfarm animalsself contained cottagebreakfast providedprivate cottagenew zealand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at St.Leonard’s near the beginning of March. We stayed in the Old Dairy which is connected to the main house by way of a car port. The property is spread over a few acres and includes some small fields for sheep, lemon trees, deer, chickens, etc. There is a also a small pool and the property is surrounded by Vineyards (Wither Hills Winery owns the vineyards). The Old Dairy is a very cute (yes, it is small) building with a genuine country charm to it. A small kitchen is provided which includes everything you need to make the supplied breakfast. Each day fresh eggs (so fresh one still had a feather attached!) are brought to the cottage to supplement the existing breakfast supplies. The cottages may not have every modern convenience (although they do get wifi) but they are a wonderful place to call home while visiting the wineries in the Marlborough region. It’s very easy to hit 3 or 4 very close by wineries in a day (we liked Isabel and, Wither Hills). Throughout our entire time at St. Leonard’s our hosts Paul and Daphne were delightful and very helpful with suggestions of which wineries to visit.
Overall I’d definitely recommend St. Leonard's as a place to stay in wine county, particularly given what great value for money it is. I’d also recommend Hans Herzog Bistro (I haven’t dined at the much more expensive restaurant) as a place to eat nearby - a beautiful setting and great food paired with excellent wine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

After walking the Queen Charlotte Track it was a treat to spend 2 nights in the 'Woolshed'. Accomodation included breakfast items with eggs from hens on-site and fresh ground coffee, internet, laundry (with assistance to wash the dirty shoes generated on the walk). Daphne was able to provide us very helpful advice on the local area including various wineries and a great suggestion to go to 'Rock Ferry' for lunch. Paul was very helpful with providing us bicycles to tour the wineries (included in the accomodation price). We had a party of 5 staying and found our 'cottage' spacious, very well set up, expertly decorated (along the 'woolshed' theme) and very good value for money with all the inclusions that were provided. I would highly recommend this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed in the Stables for two nights, it's overpriced. Watch out for the brickwork around the wood stove, you could get seriously hurt if you trip over it in the night. I found it a little run down, needs a good cleaning. No heat. Very comfortable bed and excellent linens. Nice small pool. Free laundry and shared outdoor cloths line. Nice property. I wouldn't stay in Blenheim again, there's nothing too do.

Room Tip: The stables in shaded and cool. It also backs onto the animal area.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPF04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Radmall, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to The Stables and note your comments for future improvements.
We must have omitted pointing out the feature brickwork around the stove on arrival and for this, we apologise.
There is efficient heating available via the heat pump located above the door and we are glad to assist any guest who needs help to use it.
Within the welcome folder, there is a list of activities, museums, art galleries etc available in and around Blenheim, in addition to visiting our world class wineries and restaurants.
Fortunately, other guests have found plenty to do in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed 2 nights, one night in The Diary and the other night in The Shearers cottage. Both excellent facilities and located in beautiful grounds. Owners very helpful. You don't have to pay extra to use the washing machine, Internet or swimming pool.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This lovely former ranch is a must when visiting Marlborough wine country.
Sitting amongst vineyards it is run by the enthusiastic and extremely helpful english couple Daphne and Paul.
We stayed at the "Stables", and although the cottages are self- catering Daphne filled our fridge with eggs from her hen, cheese, milk, toast, etc.for breakfast.
Right in front of our cottage were sheep and deer- rural paradise.
Unfortunatelly we only could stay for one night, but it´s even worth a week.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews