We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place in a Beautiful Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vintners Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintners Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place in a Beautiful Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I've come to Blenheim afew times over the past decade and always stayed here, and I will continue to every time I visit. This is one of the few places to stay in the area that is actually out in the vineyards - most hotels, despite their names are just motels in downtown Blenheim with a view of a wall. Vintners is actually surrounded on almost all sides by vines, and something like half of their units face directly North onto vines and the mountains beyond, which makes for agreat view when you wake up in th morning or in the evenings when you go out onto your patio, fire up the BBQ, and crack a bottle of wine. There are a number of wineries with walking distance, including Nautulus, and Wairu River, so you can really pick your own adventure and don't have to hire a tour company when you stay there. Vintners is furnish townhouses/apartments, which means that they are duplexes that are mostly two bedrroms, although I'm told they have a couple of three bedrooms. Units all have full kitchens, dinnign table and living room/TV as well as two bedrooms with minimum queen size beds. They all have nice patios with outdoor furniture and BBQ, so if you're staying for a while you can cook for yourself or go to any one of the many wineries in the area that serve lunch and dinner. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, and all units were clean and well-maintained. I iheard a reference to a complete refurbishment a year or two ago, somebody is taking care of the place. All in all a great place to stay for a while and explore the Marlborough area - I've done the Queen Charlotte Track from here, and I've also just sat around and done nothing when I've been here. Either way, I've always had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 451MSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    70
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
93
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Wonderful position amongst all the vines and best wineries.
If you are looking for accommodation for a group or family this is the place to stay!
It has everything you would need - including washing machine and dryer!!

Room Tip: Room 10. At the end of a block, received all day sun, opening onto the Vines.....views of the hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanguedocDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here with my bridesmaids the night before my wedding and it was absolutely perfect. We got 2 2 bedroom units so we all had a bedroom and bathroom. The rooms are spacious and clean. It was really a home way from home but much nicer! Everything neded was there and more- even a barbq. Lovely villas. We totally enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delphi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights here and could only get a 2 bedroomed villa even though there was only 2 of us which meant we probably didn't feel we got the best value for money but it was our choice. As we were in Villa 1, the nearest to the main road, we were glad as we could choose to sleep in the bedroom away from the road noise. the villa is wonderfully well equipped and even has a garage! The main bathroom is fantastic - huge with a separate tub and walk in shower. You could easily stay here for a week very comfortably. There is a large gas BBQ on the patio and whilst the only view is that of another villa it's quite a nice space. The swimming pool is really nice - not many loungers but there were only 4 of us chilling out there when we were there so not an issue.

The furnishings are a little bland as other reviewers have said and the external finishing of the villas are very drab for some reason. The hosts are very helpful and arranged bike hire for us which were dropped off at the villa and collected. The wineries are very close so it's a perfect base to see some of them - we managed to cycle around 8 in a day plus a brewery!Just be aware when booking that you check whether you have a 'vineyard view' - I was sure I had booked one but was told when we got there that I hadn't and would have paid more had I done so. It may be an error on the booking agent's site.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoneyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Spent 2 nights at Vintners Retreat and it exceeded our expectations. The villas are large, comfortable and spotlessly clean, we felt as though we were the first people to stay in them. The bedrooms were dark, quite and luxuriously comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep to recover from the wonderful wineries nearby. The kitchen was better equipped than my kitchen at home more than enough space, seating and bathrooms for two couples.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This is a fantastic place to distress in the middle of travels. Large open and spacious villa in the middle of Marlborough vineyards with envy comfort! Flat screen satellite tv, huge bathrooms, nice patio, morning paper, free wifi, private laundry facilities. What more could you want! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Great little units adjacent to the vines. Well manicured lawns and gardens and very comfortable inside and out. We made use of the tennis courts and it was a great place to base a couple of days of wine tasting. - Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room adjacent o the vines for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff-The_Ausmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
7.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.7 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#11 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Retreat

Property: Vintners Retreat
Address: 55 Rapaura Road | RD3, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vintners Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and spacious accommodation at affordable rates, Vintners Retreat offers 14 European-styled, two and three bedroom self-contained villas nestled in the heart of Marlborough, New Zealand’s wine capital. Private and exclusive, Vintners Retreat offers it all to the discerning traveller. And mere minutes away are some of New Zealand's best wineries and fabulous restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vintners Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Retreat Hotel
Vintners Retreat Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing