We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, roomy, high quality in a fantastic location”
Review of Vintners Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintners Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“comfortable, roomy, high quality in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My sister, dad and I stayed for two nights in the Stables at Vintners Retreat in mid July. My sister and I had stayed for two nights in August 2010 and knew how good this accommodation was and four years later we were certainly not disappointed.
The villas are roomy, comfortable and in a great location. There is plenty of room on the site with each duplex of units separated from the others by lawns and gardens so you do not feel at all crowded. The two bedroom unit has a great kitchen, laundry and two bathrooms as well as a comfy loungeroom and a great patio area outdoors.... which would be fantastic in summer! the views of mountains and vineyards is relaxing and interesting, even in mid winter. The heating works well and there is even a small garage for your car if you choose to use it.
The staff are helpful and on call and the location right in the middle of top Marlborough wineries is perfect!
Although this was the most expensive accommodation of our one week roadtrip around the north of the south island, it was worth it and we would definitely return again... perhaps for four nights next time.

Room Tip: any villa is fine, just depends how much room you want. For 3-4 people the stables is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vintners, Manager at Vintners Retreat, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Hi Golerjoe

Thanks for taking the time to review Vintners Retreat on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it certainly is nice to get out of the town centre for a change, and enjoy the peace of the vineyards!

Kind regards

Shulah George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    70
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
93
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Situated in a central location for Marlborough Region Wineries. The Villas are modern, clean, well appointed,& tastefully decorated. There are numerous good quality restaurants close by. Would not hesitate recommending this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjjswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our group stayed in a 3 bedroom villa which had wonderful views of the vineyards and Wairau valley as a backdrop. The villa was well appointed and the bedrooms were beautiful and spacious. It was the perfect setting for a family gathering. We especially enjoyed the patio area and being able to walk to a number of cellar doors and restaurants from the accommodation. I would definitely recommend Vintners Retreat for a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: The three bedroom lodges situated at the back of the property are fantastic for families or multiple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmjSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were traveling around NZ and wanted to spend a few days in one of their many wine regions and were not disappointed. Blenheim is about 40 minutes drive from the Picton Ferry and really lovely. The Vintners retreat are lovely appointed condos with all the comforts of home and some thoughtful touches (like fresh flowers, high end toiletries, fresh milk and great coffee!) Internet was the only bit of disappointment, but there was little need for it.

The location is perfect. There are many wineries with free tastings within 5 to 10kms. We were able to rent bikes from Vintners and did our tastings via bikes and picked up our selected wines the next day. If you do rent the bikes I would recommend an afternoon ride as most of the vineyards cellar doors don't open until after 10am.

Thanks to Sue for her welcome and ideas throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Vintners Retreat is an excellent place to stay. Definitely upmarket and the appointments and facilities reflect this. Quality of kitchen facilities is top rate, excellent BBQ, very comfortable rooms and bathroom facilities are excellent. Layout of the Stables units is very good for two people or couples.
Only beef was speed and connectivity for internet, but hardly a big deal for a short stay.

Room Tip: Get in early, especially during busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our recent stay at Vintners Retreat was a real treat, right in the heart of the Marlborough Wine region was perfect. The villa was self contained was beautiful and had all the facilities we needed for our family stay. Swimming pool and trampoline on site and a BBQ for cooking.
The welcome and reception facilities was a lovely addition to a perfect place to stay and enjoy the local wines cellar doors. They we about to purchase their own tandem bikes to use to get about the cellar doors on 2 wheels safely.. Perfect stay .Thanks you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We meet our UK son here and his partner for some valuable time together. It was perfect. Beautiful surroundings, comfortable apartment and the most heavenly beds. This would be great for a family event and allow everyone there own space.

Room Tip: A room where you can walk out onto the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donanddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
7.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
5.7 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#11 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Retreat

Property: Vintners Retreat
Address: 55 Rapaura Road | RD3, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vintners Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and spacious accommodation at affordable rates, Vintners Retreat offers 14 European-styled, two and three bedroom self-contained villas nestled in the heart of Marlborough, New Zealand’s wine capital. Private and exclusive, Vintners Retreat offers it all to the discerning traveller. And mere minutes away are some of New Zealand's best wineries and fabulous restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vintners Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Retreat Hotel
Vintners Retreat Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing