We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epicentre of Marlboroughs wine region.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintners Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vintners Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Epicentre of Marlboroughs wine region.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We selected Vintners retreat as our base to explore the Marlborough region and shared a 2 bedroom “manor “villa with our friends for 5 nights. The location is very central for wine tasting as the majority of the Wairau Valley wineries that are the core of Marlborough’s wine production region are within a few minutes’ drive or cycle. Blenheim was about 10-15 minutes drive, Picton and Havelock about 30 minutes away.
The 2 storey manor (units 9 & 10) is well located within the small estate, overlooking a vineyard and set back from the main road. It includes a single lock up garage, although we found it easier to park outside as did most other guests. The unit was well appointed with living, dining, kitchen, laundry, powder room, second bathroom and external patio at ground level, a small external terrace, 2 bedrooms and a shared bathroom upstairs.
The kitchen was fitted out with all the necessities for cooking in, which we did for breakfast every morning and a BBQ one evening, however this area has a multitude of good restaurants at the local wineries and in Blenheim, so cooking was not on our agenda.
We combined wine tasting with boat tours of the Sounds and found Vintners retreat to be ideally located and perfectly suited to our needs. As with most people we met during our New Zealand holiday, Martin and Shulah were very warm and friendly hosts.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank leatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    69
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
90
90
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed four nights. There are about a dozen villas in a compound on Raparua Rd where a lot of the Marlborough wineries are situated. We had a 2 bdrm, 2 bthrm villa. It was very good and suited what we needed, which was a comfortable base from which to explore. The villa was well furnished and appointed. There is a bbq and fully equipped kitchen which meant it was easy to eat in. There are supermarkets within a 10 minute drive. Everything is new/modern, so it lacks character. We also looked onto the other villas a bit more than we'd have liked. We made great use of the tennis court and the pool. The resident manager was helpful and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blah1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

Vintner’s Retreat is a colony of villas and is a comfortable place to relax and enjoy the wine region. We had a nice 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom villa - was well furnished and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and they provide a good breakfast fare that one can cook/ have in the villa itself.
The colony itself is a little plain in appearance but the location amidst lovely gardens and overlooking the mountains behind definitely made it worthwhile. We enjoyed our 2 nights there and have lovely memories of the innumerable bottles of wine consumed!!!

Options for a cooked breakfast can be provided 'coz everyone on a holiday may not be keen on making their own!

Martin is pleasantly helpful. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrrypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We loved this place so much we ended up extending our stay by one day. We were upgraded to villa 6 which was a two bed room, two bathroom and secure garage villa. Large living area, dining room and fully functional kitchen with dish washer, oven, cook top, microwave and large fridge. Also has clothes washer and dryer.
We stayed late August, towards the end of winter. Being "winter", we only saw one other visitor staying in the retreat the same time as us. Notable restaurants in the area were closed for the season, unfortunate, as we had heard of them and wished to try them.
We had a day trip to Picton and the Queen Charlotte Sound and did a bush walk, and on another day we went to Nelson.
Closest major town is Blenheim (pronouced Blenhim), about 10 minutes drive. There were various restaurants and coffee shops in Blenheim. Various wineries also did lunch, our favourite was Wairau River winery, just 5 minutes walk down the road from Vinters.
We will mark it to visit again in March (early Autumn) to avoid crowds but the everything open and the vines with greenery on them.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Well appointed, as new and clean large 1 bedroom lodge. Cheese platter on arrival with bottle of wine waiting in the room was a great touch. Good restaurant with quality food and service. Breakfast basket delivered to the room daily was full of wonderful treats. Beautiful romantic place to stay. Great time of year to travel to Marlborough, hardly saw another person and were lucky to have Cloudy Bay Winery all to our selves.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leoben, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

We only had a single night stay there passing through and really enjoyed the size of the villa. Very spacious kitchen-dining-living room, heated to nice cosy temperatures. 3 bedrooms, 1 en suite, 1 with separate bathroom with nice spa bath tub.

All villas are separate with a nice big terrace with your own BBQ (must be nice in summers). Views from the terrace are nice directly adjoining to the vineyards.

Only small downside was the internet speed which was truly poor, but since access was provide free of cost, not much need to argue.

All in all a good experience, would return

  • Liked — Cosiness
  • Disliked — internet speed
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stoffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

Vintner’s Retreat is not to be confused with the Marlborough Vintner’s Hotel, also on Rapaura Road. The two hotels are not connected. The Retreat is a colony of villas, a little bland in appearance, standing in well-tended gardens overlooking the same mountain profile that features on the label of Cloudy Bay wines. In the grounds are a good-sized, a chilly pool and a tennis court.

The villas are six years old and are all privately owned - by Americans and New Zealanders - are are rented out for the majority of the year. There is a management company that runs the place like a hotel and standards of housekeeping are high.

Our home for four nights was Villa 5, on the front row. This offered a huge living space with a fully-equipped kitchen - that is to say, you could roast a leg of lamb with all the trimmings if you wanted to. There was a sitting area, a large flatscreen TV with 100 channels, a dining area and sliding glass doors that led out on to the patio where there was a barbeque. Also on the ground floor was a separate lavatory, shower room and an integral garage with laundry facilities. Upstairs there were two double bedrooms and a bathroom with tub and walk-in shower. There was also an upstairs terrace. The decorative order was first rate throughout. It made an extremely comfy and relaxing space.

We had very few criticisms - internet was slow for NZ$20 a day; bathrobes would have been nice - but for NZ$370 per night we thought it excellent value. We cooked dinners for three nights - as a couple of foodies we did think the range of foods at the local supermarkets was disappointing. There were no local food shops of any quality either. Local wineries often have their own restaurants - we sampled Hans Herzog and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
7.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
4.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
5.7 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Retreat

Property: Vintners Retreat
Address: 55 Rapaura Road | RD3, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vintners Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and spacious accommodation at affordable rates, Vintners Retreat offers 14 European-styled, two and three bedroom self-contained villas nestled in the heart of Marlborough, New Zealand’s wine capital. Private and exclusive, Vintners Retreat offers it all to the discerning traveller. And mere minutes away are some of New Zealand's best wineries and fabulous restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Vintners Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Retreat Hotel
Vintners Retreat Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing