We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tresco Blenheim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tresco Blenheim
Ranked #13 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Very pretty place only 10-15mins walk from the town centre. We stayed in the separate cottage which was clean and well appointed. Price was excellent especially compared to the rest of the B&B accommodation we researched in Blenheim.

The host was in the process of upgrading the cottage further as it had just been built. Nice and quiet with off street parking, comfortable beds and good hot shower.

The host Ian was really friendly and helpful, going out of his way to help make our weekend there smooth. It was clear he really takes pride in his accommodation and guests.

We were here for a wedding (5->7 April) but would be happy to use this as a base for exploring the whole region.

Room Tip: The garden cabin is a great way to go B&B without being on top of other guests. Check whether yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    27
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
52
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The place is a little bit outside the centre of Blenheim, but in a nice setting. There is a road next to the cabin we stayed in but no worries - there was no disturbance through the night.The host Ian was very welcoming. In my view a B&B should include the breakfast in the rate but it seems standard these days that breakfast is charged at an additional rate. The rate I think is a little on the high side, however the accommodation facilities was clean and okay. I think there is a great potential to create a really nice garden setting and it was obvious that the host is working towards this goal. What would add value is a better reception for TV and further channels. All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Book the cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed in the separate "cottage." Was great value for money - brand new cottage (still a Work in progress) however had everything we needed - ensuite etc. I think you would fail to find anywhere to this standard for this price. Would definitely recommend. Host was very friendly and helpful also.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forevakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Being from across the Whangamoas in Nelson, it is with a heavy heart that I can totally recommend a stay at Tresco B&B.

Our room was clean and tidy, with a spacious en suite and was really a great choice for us, staying in Belnheim for a wedding.

Ian is an attentive and congenial host, and even dropped us off at the winery where the wedding was held! Breakfast was the usual B&B continental affair, but elevated above the norm by the addition of homemade bread and homegrown fruit preserves.

Staying just one night, my wife and I wished we had booked another, just to continue enjoying the peace and tranquility. Cheers Ian!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Ian was extremely helpful with recommendations for the area and making calls on our behalf for reservations. Breakfast in NZ B&Bs tends to be continental and we had delicious fruit grown on his own trees, cereals, yogurt, and toast. For us personally, we prefer B&Bs that have separate spaces from owner's living spaces; you walk through his living room to get to the rooms. The house was really cute but the inside needs a little TLC and freshening. Our room was basic and clearn and bathroom was modern and nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maexpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
311 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Couldn't find any place to stay at Blenheim because of the new year holidays. Managed to get a room for 2 nights at Tresco at last. Their featured room with ensuited bathroom was rented out so we have to stay in the Garden room with private bathroom outside our bedroom. Not very convenient than having an ensuited bathroom but at least we have somewhere to stay. It was a good experience to stay here than at usual hotel or B&B. It is more like a home stay experience as we meet & chat with Ian and his families a lot. They are so friendly, helpful and gave us a very warm stay after terrible drive & weather.

The room & bathroom have no lock and it is quite unusual for city people like us but you do feel safe. Ian's homemade bread are good.

Walking distance to town centre for restaurants and supermarket. Excellent free wifi is a plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at Tresco B&B on Boxing Day. Our intention in going to Blenheim was to tour the wineries and experience the Marlborough Wine Region. We were planning to book a tour when we got there and emailed Ian to get some recommendations. After making a few calls ourselves we were finding that most of the wineries and wine tour companies were actually closed for Boxing Day. However, after speaking with Ian, he was able to get us booked with Marlborough Wine Tours for a half day tour, which we were very appreciative of!

We stayed in the luxury King Room with tiled ensuite. While a little dated from the pictures it suited our needs for the night we stayed. Note there was not a lock on the door to our room, which made us a little apprehensive since other guests were also staying in the house. We had a continental breakfast in the morning and Ian made homemade bread. Ian and Wendy were very nice and eager to chat with us about our travels through New Zealand and life in general.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blenheim Palms Motel
Blenheim Palms Motel
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tresco Blenheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresco Blenheim

Property: Tresco Blenheim
Address: 32 Eltham Road, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tresco Blenheim 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tresco Blenheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresco Blenheim Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing