We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Hostel with worse service”

The Station Backpacker
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Station Backpacker
Reviewed 12 April 2013

the place is reminiscent of a crappy frat house with terrible cleanliness. the room we were put in was completely unclean with dirt all over the floors and other people's things spread all over the floor. Without exaggeration it was hard to see the floor. not to mention the fact that some of the rooms do not have locks and the main building is always unlocked. the use of drugs is rampant and in the open. this being said the owner is a racist and turns people away solely based on nationality, having refused people because they were from New Zealand. He also kicks people out just for not doing the dishes while keeping people who blatantly are doing illegal drugs in plain view. the owner can help you find work and if he does says that if you leave the hostel that you then lose your job. this is a lie. the only redeeming feature is that there are cats at the hostel. all in all the place is unclean and feels un-wholesome and unsafe.

Room Tip: just don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank margoth195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed here for around 4 months when I was only originally booked in for a weekend. I had so much fun during those days I decided to settle there and have a great time working hard and partying hard. Met some of the greatest people ever and still keep in close contact with the majority of them still now. The owner, Adam, is amazing fun, easy to get on with and just all round a top guy. Looking forward to coming back there in the near future to catch up. Would highly recommend this place to anyone that is willing to work and have a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lia88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
653 reviews
6.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.6 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Raymar Motor Inn
Raymar Motor Inn
#31 of 32 in Blenheim
45 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Backpacker

Address: 1A Dillons Point Road | Islington, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range: £9 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi Backpackers, come and stay at The Station Backpacker in Blenheim. We help you to find a job and give advise on activities in the region. Great budget accommodation in the heart of Blenheim. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Station Backpacker Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing