We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back!”
Review of Hans Herzog Estate

Hans Herzog Estate
Ranked #14 of 116 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$114
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hans Herzog Estate is one of New Zealand’s most treasured, truly artisan wineries. Settled in 1994 in the heart of Marlborough within the most beautiful gardens Herzog’s offers casual luxury and indulgence for food and wine lovers. Unfettered by commercial considerations, the Herzog’s have adopted an experimentalist stance, cultivating an eclectic array of grape varieties all of them highly acclaimed wines rich in varietal character showing off the covetous terroir. The Estate’s iconic Gourmet Restaurant, casual Bistro, stylish Cellar Door and lovely Vineyard Cottage oozes European elegance and together with vivacious Therese’s and her team warm hospitality it really is a must visit destination!
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So good we went back!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were in the Marlborough for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. We were recommended to Hans Herzog for a more 'special' meal. Prior to dinner, we joined their 30 minute tasting session ($15 pp, refundable on wine purchase). We were shown the passion and pride that Hans and his team have in making their wines.
The highlight for me was the meal. Great friendly service, yet unobtrusive. Their gardens are beautifully kept and sitting in the garden on the fine spring evenings watching the sunset was very atmospheric (and if it gets nippy, you're welcome to move indoors, or they also have blankets).
All food was delicious and it was one of the best pastas I've had for a while. It was so good, I requested to return on the following evening!
On returning, we experienced a very similar dining experience (excellent service and great food). However, I was slightly disappointed with the pasta this time as it was not identical to the one we had on the first night (We ordered an entree serving the first night and a main the second, which may explain the difference).
A highly recommended dining experience in Renwick!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    108
    69
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Zealand was wonderful, but not a gourmet paradise, except”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Herzog's restaurant was possibly the best meal we had in New Zealand, it is not undiscovered, as the dining area was full on a week night, the food was delicious, attractively presented by an attentive staff, the whole evening was remarkable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaseycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Reasonable but not special”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had dinner recently at Hans Herzog. It's a nice place, characterful but slightly bizarre. Difficult to describe really, the service was polite, almost over-polite and the restaurant had an air of self importance.

It was quiet, somewhat akin to eating in a library, and the background music seemed a little out of kilter with the surroundings. I chose the TBone steak - an on reflection I wish I had chosen the fish. The meat, ordered rare, was somewhat blue and pretty cold. If we had had our waiter close-by within a few minutes of our food turning up (they seem disappear out back) I would have sent it back for another minute or two on the grill.

Perhaps the above seems a bit harsh but it is top end pricing and frankly the supper did not live up to the bill. The menu is limited, the wine list somewhat daunting for amateur quaffers and to cap it all I had to seek out our waiter from the interior in order to ask for the bill. He was perfectly pleasant and we had no complaints there but it seemed there was no real direction.

Sorry if I'm against the grain of many of the excellent reviews but it was as I found it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious - worth a special visit”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

After a disappointing meal in Blenheim, we had low expectations when we arrived at Hans Herzog Estate but wow were we surprised! The setting is gorgeous, we arrived just before dusk and were offered a pre-dinner drink in the beautiful gardens which we really enjoyed. The roses are divine and watching the sun go down over the vineyard was amazing.

We took the 'trust the chef' option, which (for a Sydneysider) seemed to be a steal at $45 (or $49? cant remember) for three courses. My friend had a nut allergy and the staff were careful and attentive to ensure the food was nut free and offered an alternative dessert to the (nutty) one that was in the fixed menu.

We had a house smoked salmon to start with avocado mousse and wasabi mayonnaise and delicately pickled radish to start, followed by perfectly cooked venison on a bread dumpling which soaked up the gorgeous meat juices and I finished with an espresso pannacotta with hazelnut terrine. It was a flawless meal, all cooked to perfection, the Herzog wines went well with the food and the service was great. Excellent coffee.

I was particularly impressed that although we were the last people there for almost 45 minutes, the staff didn't rush us at all and we felt welcome to stay. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gastranimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I have now been to Herzog four times now, twice the restaurant and twice the bistro, and have never once been disappointed. Food is fantastic, the wine excellent, the people and place amazing. Will gladly return at any opportunity.

Helpful?
Thank dbg1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hans Herzog Estate also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Hans Herzog Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing