We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Lugano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lugano Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Lugano and yet again it was outstanding. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was excellent, clean and had everything needed for a relaxing stay. One of my definite favourite motels in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for your great review. It is good to know we are continuing to meet the high standards expected by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Lugano has all the attributes of a well-set up Kiwi motel. Good quality furnishings, good beds and fittings.
Right on the edge of the CBD, so easy to walk everywhere, and a stroll to a wide choice of eateries in the evening. However, for those planning to cook in the unit, the Lugano was a disaster.
We thought we had done our research well. Yes, the one-bedroom Executive units have a kitchenette according to several web sites. This amounts to a cupboard and a bench 700mm long in a dark corner. The bench has to take the 2 element hotplate usually stored in a cupboard, and/or the electric frypan. A microwave is at eye level for those 1830mm tall, but there are no microwave dishes beyond one glass bowl and splatter lid. One has to crawl on the floor to get perishables into the under-bench fridge.
Why are these units called "executive"? Presumably because they have a spa bath to differentiate them from others. If you're elderly and need good reading lights, there is one at the kitchen table - otherwise the lighting is dismal for reading.
Also, if you're deaf and want to watch TV or DVDs forget the Lugano. It seems that along with some other motels, they've bought monkey-proof remote controllers so that the sub-title options are locked. This avoids guests mucking up the settings and requiring an expensive service call out. Sounds like discrimination against the deaf to me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us, we do appreciate it. We are glad you were happy with the cleanliness of the units and the location. As you said they are very close to a lot of Blenheim amenities. We are sorry the kitchen was to small for your needs. Our family rooms have full cooking facilities but our other units have limited cooking facilities. There are four lamps in the unit as well as the ceiling lights but we would have been happy to provide you with more lamps if we had known there was a problem with the lighting. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a typical New Zealand motel with two storeys of rooms around an ample parking lot. It is an easy walk to the center of Blenheim. The rooms have the facilities that one expects in New Zealand including a kitchen area with stove top, fridge, microwave and water heater accompanied by all necessary kitchen utensils, thus allowing a degree of self catering if needed. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the bathrooms well appointed. Wifi is free. In the summer the rooms can get a little warm because of the large patio doors but this was no problem. The hostess, I think the owner, was charming and very hospitable. She gave us information on the local area. Since there was a festival in Blenheim while we were there, some restaurants were fully booked and she insisted on making reservations for us. Her recommendations were first rate. Next door is the upscale Chateau Marlborough hotel. Its restaurant, Quench, falls into the pricy but worth it category with good food and excellent service in cool contemporary surroundings. We also ate at Accent Restaurant on Scott Street which serves locally sourced seafood and meats. The restaurant looks just like a shop from outside but inside the food is excellent and there is a good range of local Marlborough wines. Another good choice courtesy of the Lugano Motor Lodge. Service, which I think was from the owner, was friendly and efficient. In all, both the restaurants we tried in Blenheim did not disappoint and the Lugano Motor Lodge, with its great hosts, well deserves its high rating on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCarolinaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to do one for us. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay in Blenheim. Marlborough has many great restaurants and wineries and we love it when our guests get to experience some of these while staying with us. Once again thank you for the great review of your stay with us. KInd regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My family has just returned from a 2 night stop-over in Blenheim. Murray and Jenny make you feel at home from the second you arrive. Their attention to detail is second to none. The Motor Lodge is modern, clean with everything supplied that you could imagine. Every bedroom and lounge have their own TV's. There are heaters in every room (except the toilet) and all the staff are friendly. We will definitely be staying again. Their knowledge of the local area is fantastic with recommendations for walks, vineyard tastings and restaurants being given. Central city location also means no car is necessary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishM362636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to do a review. As you say it's great being able to walk into town and for those wanting to venture a little further we have the Taylor River close by with it's paved walkways and seating for those who want to sit for awhile. We hope you'll be back to stay with us again sometime. Thank you again Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Jenny & Murray are wonderful hosts, friendly, helpful and most accommodating.
Location, central to and within easy walking distance, 5 mins, of all towns amenities
including, supermarket, cafes, restaurants and retail. Motel easy to find on the main road opposite attractive Seymour Square park. With units being set back from the road, they are very quiet. We have stayed here several times, in an upstairs Executive Studio and on this occasion, 4 nights, Unit 1, ground floor, 1 bedroom Executive unit with comfortable stylish lounge, 2 x 2 seater couch, heat pump, kitchen well equipped with utensils, microwave & electric frypan. Nice bathroom, good lighting, nice hairdryer, our unit had shower over spa bath. Units very clean, bed comfortable with good quality linen and towels.

Room Tip: Spa units lovely but if mobility is a problem, choose unit with separate shower. Unit 1 downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us. As you say the location is great being close to the cafe's, shops, supermarket etc. Having Seymour Square opposite gives our guests a great outlook. We appreciate your great feedback and will pass your comments on to our team. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Having booked our rooms a year in advance of our stay in Blenheim we had several phone calls with Jenny leading up to it. She was always extra friendly, professional and willing to assist in any way possible. Upon arrival she was exactly the same. All of our group were very happy with their rooms and the service. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are glad you all had a great time and look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Jenny & Murray are fantastic hosts. We arrived earlier than we expected to be meet with a welcome smile and a friendly chat. We were able to get ot our room early which was hugely appreciated. Our room was exactly what we were after. It was lovely and clean and tidy. Our hosts were really helpful when we were looking for somewhere to eat and a wine vineyard tour. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Jenny & Murray and highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Blenheim.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
368 reviews
0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
655 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#22 of 32 in Blenheim
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Motor Lodge

Address: 91 High Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £74 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugano Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well priced luxury accommodation in Central Blenheim, overlooking the lovely Seymour Gardens. The Lugano Motor Lodge is just a 2 minute walk to Blenheim's cafes, shops, restaurants and conference centre. Unlimited Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Lugano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Hotel Blenheim
Lugano Motor Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing