We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Lugano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lugano Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had to make an impromptu stay in Blenheim and contacted Lugano Motor Lodge to see if there were any vacancies.We were given a one bedroom executive room straight away which was lovely, clean and warm. There is a laundry room in the complex which was very helpful also! I would definitely recommend Lugano Motor Lodge to anyone staying in Blenheim and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your doing a review of your stay with us. It is great to hear you were comfortable and the room was to your liking. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our units and will pass your comments onto our team. Hopefully we will see you back again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    57
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
124
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at this motel only for one night arriving late and leaving early! We called the manager the day before to say we'd be arriving late as we had an evening ferry crossing. She thanked us for letting her know of our late arrival and told us which room we'd be in, telling us the room would be unlocked but she'd turn the heater on for us. Everything was perfect for our arrival.

The room has everything you require - modern with plenty of space and spotlessly clean, a lovely bed, a small table & chairs, large wardrobe with plenty of space to put suitcases etc. It also had a nice large bathroom that was well set-up. We've stayed in plenty of motels in Blenheim and this was definitely one of the best. The location is very convenient and it's quiet - well it was in Room No. 4 which is where we stayed.

I wasn't there for long enough to try the internet service so can't comment on that but I hope they have a good system as that's something that's important for most people these days!

In our rush of checking out in the morning, I inadvertently left a pair of earrings on the bedside table. The next day we received a call from the motel telling us we'd left earrings. They kindly put them in a post bag and they have just arrived at my home. I would have been devastated to lose these earrings so I really appreciate the motel contacting us and posting the earrings back. They've definitely earned our loyalty now! Give Lugano a try next time you're looking for a Blenheim motel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 which was quiet and tucked away - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate the feed back and are pleased to hear everything was to your satisfaction. It was a pleasure to be able to return your earrings to you as I know I would have been upset to have lost them. It is our policy to try to contact our guests as soon as possible if we find anything has been left in the room. We hope you will be back to stay with us again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We recently stayed at Lugano Motor Lodge. It was clean, well presented. The grounds were well maintained. The one thing we didn't like was the traffic noise even through they had double glazed windows. The clock in the park which was across the road was a pain as it kept on chiming however it did stop at 10 pm until 7am. Price wise value for money. Yes we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us, we really appreciate your comments. We are glad you found your room and bed comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were tired & unsure of where we wanted to stay. The manager was friendly, welcoming & dealt with our indecisiveness really well. She only had 1 room left - a one bedroom exec suite. It was quiet, clean, tidy and had a comfortable bed and pillows. That along with the great service makes this place worth a stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMarg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad you found the motel to your liking. Because we live here we hardly notice the clock now but I guess it could be a bit annoying. At least as you say it does stop at night time and it is lovely having the beautiful gardens across the road. Thank you again we hope you will be back to stay with us again sometime. kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This motel would have to be the best in Blenheim. just around the corner from the CBD and still nice and quiet. The rooms are large, it is very clean and has everything you would want in a motel. Will definitely not stay anywhere else when I'm in Blenheim! Only one little gripe, expensive and unreliable WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments of your stay with us. We are pleased you were comfortable and will pass your comments on to our team of girls. We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us and look forward to seeing you again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weipa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at Lugano for one week during my trip to New Zealand. Could not get over how friendly and helpful Jenny and Murray were during my stay. Will definitely come back and stay again. The rooms were lovely and clean, very comfortable stay and so handy to town and all the amazing things Blenheim has to offer. I recommend a stay at Lugano to anyone, the sensational service, lovely location and outstanding accommodation is a winning combo!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us. It is good to hear your stay with us was so enjoyable and everything to your satisfaction. As you say it is a great location being so close to the centre of town. We really appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. Hopefully we will see you back in Blenheim again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at this motel for one night after flying into Blenheim. We had an early morning flight and were due to be picked up from the Motel at 10am for a wine tour. As previously arranged, the owners were more than happy for us to leave our rental car and bags at the motel for the day. When we checked in, in the morning, they were more than happy for us to put our bags in the room as the room had been unoccupied the night before. The next morning, were were allowed to leave our car there while we wandered into town for breakfast. We were two couples with a shared unit. It had two seperate bedrooms, with a tv in each as well as one in the lounge. The lounge, kitchen and bathrooms were spacious too. They provided us with ample tea, coffee (plunger coffee too) etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaaren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us. We are glad everything was to your satisfaction. We have a great location being so close to the centre of town. We really appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. Hopefully we will see you back with us again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
350 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Motor Lodge

Property: Lugano Motor Lodge
Address: 91 High Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugano Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well priced luxury accommodation in Central Blenheim, overlooking the lovely Seymour Gardens. The Lugano Motor Lodge is just a 2 minute walk to Blenheim's cafes, shops, restaurants and conference centre. Unlimited Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Hotel Blenheim
Lugano Motor Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing