We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”
Review of Lugano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was simply the best place we stayed in though out our trip through the South Island. Very friendly and helpful. The unit was very pleasing to the eye and well appointed. The owners obviously take pride in their accommodating visitors to the area

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. We do take pride in our motels and are continuing to make improvements where we can to make our guests stay more comfortable. It is great to hear you were pleased with your unit. We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Lugano Motor Lodge is an easy walk to downtown and the river.
The room was nicely appointed, with a nice sitting area and a very comfortable bed.
Our room was a studio on the bottom floor.
The staff helped us several times with our questions, and making arrangements.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigredjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you for your review. As you say we have a great location being so close to the town center and if you feel like a nice walk the river is very close and with it's paved areas and seating it is a great place for a stroll or a brisk walk. Having the lovely Seymour Gardens across the road is an added bonus. We are glad you found your room and bed comfortable. We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us and hope the rest of your holiday has been great. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in December, and we were made to feel very welcome by the owners. They could not have been more helpful. We booked a one bed exec room, which was well worth the money. The on site laundry was handy and they even offered the use of a free set of golf clubs to my husband to allow him to go and play a round at the local club.

Within easy walking distance of all amenities in the town centre, and plenty of places to eat and drink.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SaffronHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for doing a review of your stay for us. As you say the location is great being so close to the town centre and not to far to the golf courses and the wineries. We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at Lugano for just one night as I had a function just around the corner at the Convention Centre (very central location). The accommodation was comfortable, clean etc but what was outstanding was the hospitality from Jenny and Murray. Funny story...on arrival at reception I bent over to pick up my keys that I dropped...and my suit trousers split (a serious split). Being a flying visit I had no spares and attending a very public function in just one hours time I was in a spot of bother. No prob's....Murray leant me some shorts to wear while he raced away with my trousers to the home of one of their cleaners who is also a good sower....saving the day!! Great kiwi hospitality...thanks guys.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg21hammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us and for your kind comments it is very much appreciated. As you say the location is great being so close to the Convention Centre and the centre of town. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We highly recommend staying at Lugano Motor Lodge. Jenny and Murray are wonderful hosts - very friendly and helpful. We were welcomed with gorgeous mini Christmas cakes and delicious cherries delivered to our room!! Our unit was spotless. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. Super comfy beds!! A bonus having 3 TV's in our 2 bedroom unit!! So close to town, literally 2 min walk to main shops and restaurants. Lovely park across the road. Had 2 other units booked with other family members staying and their thoughts are the same as ours - fantastic place to stay!! Thank you very much for helping making our stay in Blenheim such a pleasure. We will definitely be back and will spread the word about your wonderful hospitality.

From the moment we arrived and

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 194Lisa1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you so much for the great review of your stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay and found your rooms to be comfortable and to your satisfaction. As you say it is a fantastic location being so handy to all the restaurants and cafe's and being across the road to the beautiful Seymour Gardens is an added bonus. We hope to see you back to stay with us again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome and ideas on where to eat, what to see etc. Nice park across the road.
Enjoyed the compact kitchen facilities, easy to cook and serve up a meal. Two televisions to watch, (one in bedroom) although we were too tired to use them!
Recommend anyone who wants a reasonably priced spacious unit with cooking facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us it is very much appreciated. We are pleased you found the unit spacious and the kitchen to your satisfaction. It is certainly a bonus for us to have the lovely Seymour Gardens situated across the road from us. It is quite beautiful in the evenings with the fountain lit up with it's changing colours. We hope you will be back to stay with us again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great place to stay. Very clean and tidy. Well located a short walk to the central shops. Friendly service. Lovely park across the road. Only negative is the amount of traffic noise and noisy Saturday night revellers. I would recommend to others and stay there again myself next time I am in Blenhiem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlunHassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for doing a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our units and will pass your comments on to our team of girls. We are in the process of double glazing and hope to soon take out the blinds and put in drapes which we are sure will cut down on any noise from the Saturday night revelers. Thankfully it doesn't happen every week. We hope we will see you back to stay with us sometime in the future. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
645 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Motor Lodge

Address: 91 High Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#3 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: £73 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugano Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well priced luxury accommodation in Central Blenheim, overlooking the lovely Seymour Gardens. The Lugano Motor Lodge is just a 2 minute walk to Blenheim's cafes, shops, restaurants and conference centre. Unlimited Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Lugano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Hotel Blenheim
Lugano Motor Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing