We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good motel in Blenheim”
Review of Lugano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
324 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good motel in Blenheim”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Convenient location. Small, compact room with a "kitchenette I a closet". Not much space to move around if you opened your suitcases on the floor. Facilities all modern, clean, and adequate. Parking space in front of unit. Entrance through a slider door which is not particularly convenient. Two story arrangement - we were on bottom level and had people walking around above us. No problem for us this time, but might be if you had inconsiderate guests above. Shower was handicapped equipped with no defined tub area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us we appreciate your feedback As you say it is a great location being so close to the town centre. Thanks to our team of hard working girls we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the units. We have recently doubled glazed all our Studio units and replaced the Queen beds with King beds. Hopefully we will see you again if you return to Blenheim. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    57
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
124
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Every year we stay at Lugano in a studio and every year we are delighted with the motel room and the management and relief manager - very friendly and welcoming and 'on the ball'


Motel is clean and rooms gets service daily.

Please note that in the studio there are no cooking hobs just a microwave. However if you are staying a couple of days it is fine as there is a fish and chip shop 3 blocks away [called "The Codfathers" - walking distance] and a Countdown supermarket two blocks away and restaurants about 10 mins away in the town centre.

Therefore the location is perfect - overlooking beautiful Seymour Square.

This is our motel of choice.

Thanks Lugano - we love staying with you and providing top class motel accommodation. See you again in March 2015.

Julie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us we really appreciate you taking the time to do one. As you say the location is great being so close to the town centre, restaurants, supermarkets etc. Having the beautiful Seymour Gardens across the road is an added bonus. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I stayed recently at the 'Lugano' in Blenheim and couldn't be more pleased. The room was well appointed and spacious with the help given with respect to recommended eateries and wine tours right on the mark. The location allowed us to walk to the Cornerstone pub for good beer and grub and also we were right alongside Seymour Square and a short walk from Pollard Park all well worth the visit. The manager recommended Bubbly Grape wine tours and was spot on we couldn't have asked for a better run tour - Many thanks Kerry. If we ever come this way again we will certainly stay at the Lugano motor Lodge

Room Tip: They all look as good as ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coyote88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are pleased you found everything to your liking.
As you say the location is great being so close to the restaurants and parks. Kerry is a great person to do the wine tour with and we will certainly pass on your comments to her. Hopefully we will see you back in Blenheim sometime. We really appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed there recently for 3 nights with my wife and two kids. The room was clean, well equiped and the beds were really comfortable. Whatever we needed was there for us. We had access to wifi which was very handy and kept the kids happy. Location was close to the town centre & shops, including a good supermarket. Will stay there whenever we visit Blenheim in the future- no questions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to do a review. We are please the unit was to your liking and had everything you needed to make your stay comfortable. as you say the location is great being so close to the supermarket and town centre. We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We received a really friendly and helpful welcome and our studio was very nicely furnished and equipped.

There was a good sitting area inside - none outside - and there is a lovely park opposite with plenty of history attached.

We enjoyed nice hot showers and could open windows at each end of our room to get a through draft. The wifi was free and worked very well.

As far as Blenheim is concerned, the centre - which is a short walk away- was disappointing but the surrounding areas with their vineyards etc are very attractive and the Lugano Lodge is highly recommended for a stay in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. As you say the park across the road is lovely. I just love watching the fountain change colour at night. It is a great location being so close to the town centre, cafe's and restaurants. We are pleased your unit was to your liking. Hopefully we will see you back this way sometime in the future. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Excellent facilities well decorated and fitted out. Really spacious, sorry we were not staying longer. We were coming to the end of a 2 week tour around South Island prior to visiting family in Kaitaia.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for doing a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate your comments. We are pleased you found everything to your liking. We hope you had a wonderful time with your family in Kaitaia. Hopefully we will see you back in Blenheim sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband & I recently stayed 2 nights at the Lugano Motor Lodge and were very pleased with our accommodation. The room was spacious and had a functional kitchenette area. We were centrally located and nothing could beat our wonderful hostess Jenny. Thank you so much for a lovely stay at your wonderful lodge. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your say with us, we really appreciate it. We are pleased you found everything to your liking. As you say it is a great location being so centrally located. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. Kind regards Jenny & Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Motor Lodge

Property: Lugano Motor Lodge
Address: 91 High Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugano Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well priced luxury accommodation in Central Blenheim, overlooking the lovely Seymour Gardens. The Lugano Motor Lodge is just a 2 minute walk to Blenheim's cafes, shops, restaurants and conference centre. Unlimited Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Hotel Blenheim
Lugano Motor Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing