We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“quirky, friendly and perfectly situated hidden...”
other traveller has booked this property
A summer afternoon by 'The Shack'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A summer afternoon by 'The Shack'
A welcoming and cosy 'tiny house'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
A summer afternoon by 'The Shack'
A welcoming and cosy 'tiny house'.
Finally, the ceiling (T&G Panelling) is painted!
Fine dining?
Looking from the rear
Looking through the (opening) roof windows.
Comfort is fine wine and a good magazine.
The view from the sleeping platform.
Starting on the decoration.
Relaxing in the garden
Sunset on 'The Shack'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Blenheim, Marlborough Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sonia U
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Host, Great Idea and Very Cute”
Reviewed 11 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The shabby shack is in a great central spot - only 5-8 minutes walk from Blenheim CBD.
Has everything you need for a short stay in a great spot in the back garden.
A great idea with lots of though put into it.
We found the mattress very uncomfortable with roll together a problem for us, so one of us had to make do on the sofa downstairs which was disappointing. I would recommend a replacement mattress for the bed.
When we asked to leave early because of this, Peter was very accommodating about this.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D
1 review
“quirky, friendly and perfectly situated hidden gem.”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in August 2016

The owners really went the extra mile to help us enjoy our stay. You have to get the afternoon tea. It was incredible! literally took a whole cake (not a cupcake), home with me as we couldn't eat all the glorious treats.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kategrant...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully unique experience”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Peter and Heather have worked hard on the Shabby Shack. Built from scratch, on site from reclaimed materials it is completely 'off-grid'.
Charming, whimsical, magical are all words I would use to describe it. We were welcomed with sunshine and silence. Blenheim isn't the biggest place but in the middle of the night, with the open-roof of the Shack (it opens so you can see the stars!) we didn't hear a thing. Bliss.
For a totally different 'small-space' experience, I would heartily recommend this.
Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelSMa...
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A truly unique experience”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed with Heather and Peter in Abby's Shabby Shack for 3 nights and had an amazing time.

The shack is incredible, designed and made out of recycled materials. It is cosy but with all the space really well used and sleeping in the roof with the windows opening fully out is something that we will never forget. It really is a place that we would recommend to all our family and friends.

Heather and Peter are also wonderful hosts. They made us feel fully at home, allowing us to take fruit from the trees in the garden but also sharing a bottle of wine with us in the private garden. If we are visiting Blenheim again, there is only one place that we will be staying!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing